We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #280 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good price and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the hotel and I have enjoyed every visit and will be staying again. The hotel has good rates and the location is great if you are interested in being within walking distance of the East and West Village, Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy and the LES. If you are interested in being close to tourist sites mid or uptown, plan on taking a bus, cab or subway. The rooms are small but comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. the hotel building is very interesting with exposed brick and wooden beams.
The rooms that front the street ARE noisy. Whether it be street noise, bar music or drunks screaming, the windows do not do a good job of sound proofing. Make sure to ask for a room on the back side and away from the bar on the ground floor. Make sure you follow up with the request, because we did ask to be away from the bar but were put 2 floors above and it was still loud.
Give it a try, it is a great bargain and a great location.

Room Tip: Request room on back side and away from the bar on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    474
    210
    78
    117
See reviews for
316
256
68
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I booked this hotel as a part of a month long trip with two friends from Italy and I was nervous because it was their first time in the States. Knowing New York I sort of expected to have to put them up in a hole because they had a small budget and really wanted to be in Manhattan. Sohotel was super helpful over the phone when I asked to change the dates of my reservation and then when we arrived they had upgraded our room just because they could! The photos of the hotel are accurate--it's not shabby at all, the rooms were totally clean and impressively nice for the price. The discounts at the Randolph and Grotta Azzura were nice. There's so much in the area to do/eat/see and there are several subway lines close by that will take you up/downtown and in to Brooklyn no problem. It's rare to have an experience this flawless while traveling so thanks for making it a really great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zkmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Booked this hotel in Dec 27-29th for a quick get away from Boston. We are a couple who travel to NYC about 4 times a year the last 6-7 years and have stayed in variety of hotels picking them particularly for price balanced with location. The jaunts to NYC via bus means we try and pick hotels midtown all the way to Wall Street area and try to research best price to make the most of our usual 2-3 day stay.

This hotel served its purpose - clean, easy to get to even by cab from midtown and back without breaking the bank. Lots of little interesting restaurants around the area.

Hotel room is small as expected in most NYC hotels and don't be shocked this is smaller than usual more so if you are carrying a 2 regular sized luggage. Bed was good, clean and support was great. We asked for second set of blankets cause we could not get the room warm enough. Staff very helpful. The two restaurants/bar/coffee shop right on premise was a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the back away from the street if you want quiet in NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

this hotel is really nice and modern, comfortable and clean. Was not brilliant value for money considering the room size was small but had all the mod cons you could need. However, its location was in a busy area of Soho, New York and didnt feel particularly safe. Was close to the New Museum though which is a must see!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed small, not ideal for three people sharing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fullerface4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

First of all I have not experienced this incredible noise. This hotel is located in a city with millions of people and whose windows are not super soundproof ... apart from that:
I had a nice room on the reception level (first) it was very large, with two double beds and one single. the room was well-kept and very clean. the bathroom old but clean. the only real drawback I found at night: i slept in a fridge.....! There was only one small radiator. the second night, after having pointed out, the hotel gave me an electric heater that has fully resolved the situation. In front of the room there are the vending machines and ice machine ... were a bit 'noisy. There is free wifi in the rooms, in the lobby and in the restaurant (which is not directly part of the hotel) on the ground floor. They also provide free tea and coffee in the lounge. coffee is really bad.
Overall I would say that the hotel is nice they are also carrying out various refurbishment. As others have said at the ground floor there is a restaurant that is not anything special but it is certainly convenient and also serves Sunday brunch.
The location, in contrast to what has been said by others, I think it's very appropriate. one block is the line J, and is close to many restaurants some of them are also not 4 tourist.
The staff is the normal.
I would recommend it and would definately go back but there is a but:
After 4 nights, the last day I woke up with a fever and my return flight was at 7pm. their late checkout is at 12. So I asked the room until 4pm. the ask me ( and obtain.. i had fever) more than $ 50 for 4 additional hours! and the hotel was NOT full. I found this a really bad conduct. (the receptionist asked for confirmation to the manager)
That’s all

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marco.to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed at the Sohotel last night. This was a present to celebrate my sons 15th birthday, a night in NYC. He was allowed to bring a friend and we booked a Regency Plus room that fit my husband and myself, my son and his friend. Two double beds and a twin. The room was gorgeous! Exposed brick on wall that a new flatscreen TV hung on. Very comfortable mattresses! Gleaming wood floors and a nice marble tiled bathroom. This hotel is so beautiful and nicely decorated with flair! It was $98.10 for the night. For 4 people in NYC this is a bargain. We parked overnight around the block. Have the hotel stamp your ticket and its 32/night instead of 42. We walked to the subway, 1 block away and caught the train to Times Square. There are TONS of restaurants around the hotel...Had lunch at Mulberry Street Bar (GO! great pizza!)...Watched the Patriots lose to the Ravens at Gatsbys...Breakfast at the Landmark Diner...Broadway and yummy shops (Lucky Brand, Bloomingdales, REI, Dean and Deluca) are only a short walk from the hotel on Broadway. Zak at the front desk was extremely helpful to us and gave us directions to anywhere we wanted to go. We will most definitely be staying here again. Other people have written that the street noise is loud...That is true. It did wake me up a few times but I was able to go right back to sleep. Its NYC not a Bed and Breakfast in Vermont. Its the city that never sleeps! If you think it will be an issue for you, just request a room in the back of the hotel and not on the street. LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#350 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#371 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing