We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Chic”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #287 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Nutley, New Jersey
1 review
“Very Chic”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I just stayed last night at the Sohotel for a girls night in the city for a friend's birthday. The location was perfect, we were in walking distance from the spa, restaurants, and bar we went to. The staff was extremely friendly. We were always greeted when we walked in, helped with luggage, and given directions. The hotel was very chic, we loved the zebra couch and all the fun chairs in the hallways. The room was tight but perfect for the night. My only suggestion is to have another mirror in the room, three girls getting ready in front of one mirror in the bathroom was hectic! Overall we had a great stay, loved the room and location. We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

Our neighborhood is fantastic and it continues to get better as great small businesses are opening up every day. We're glad you got to experience this.

We hope you will come back and visit us soon and we'll do our best to make the additions you mentioned.

Warm Regards,
The Sohotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    487
    213
    80
    119
See reviews for
323
261
69
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I'm a business man with very little time for nonsense. I find that most hotels overcharge for limited space with an overwhelmed staff whom are often far from courteous. I'm happy to say that my stay at sohotel wasn't hindered by anything of this nature. My room was clean and provided adequate space for a travel weary man just looking for 40 winks and several smiles :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad we could provide you with a first class stay.

We promise to keep the smiles coming and we hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,
Sohotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed in the family room that sleeps five, nice size room. The hotel and room were very clean. The beds and pillows extremely comfortable, wanted to take mattress and pillows home. The bathroom was a good size. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a very charming hotel, loved the brick walls and unique deco. It is not a fancy hotel but perfect if you plan to spend your time touring the city. We did just that and had very comfortable rest for the night.

Room Tip: Family room that sleeps five is a nice size room. Seems size is based on occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We take pride in our efforts to provide the cleanest of accommodations for all our guests and are glad our efforts paid off. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Sohotel was an impressive stay. The boutique finishes really set it apart from the generic hotel chains. The exposed brick, industrial feel and funky Victorian/zebra print furniture in the lobby added to the fun whimsy.
Our reservation was changed last minute from a booking.com reservation made a month prior--and we were offered a room with two queens and a double instead (there were three of us travelling as a couple and a friend). This was actually a better deal as we were able to heap all our luggage on to the extra bed. It is New York after all, and hotel room space is at a premium!
There are no phones, bar fridges or coffee makers in the room--but, coffee and tea are available in the morning downstairs in the lobby.
The showers were hot and the Bigelow peppermint & lavender products were the type that you'd want to lavish guests to your own home with.
The location is ideal--from LaGuardia airport the black cab service was $45 with tax/tip included.The subway lines are easily accessible. The airport cab service (not yellow cab though) can be arranged through the reception.
The staff were extremely helpful--printing off google maps for a restaurant I had inquired about and offering routes down to the ferry docks. They also offered us 10% discount coupons for the nearby Blue Grotto.
Being on the edge of Chinatown and Little Italy made for enjoyable morning strolls--though NY is quite sleepy--most shops don't open until 10 or 11am. Be sure to go for a reflexology treatment on Mott street at any one of the many storefronts offering it. $20 for 20 minutes is pure euphoria.
If you are a sensitive sleeper there is morning traffic to contend with and in-room radiators (Sohotel is in a heritage building). Bring ear plugs!
We were quite happy to have the Sohotel to return to at our day's end. And, the bellhops have great uniforms--purple checked shirts and purple Converse!

Room Tip: The rooms with three beds surprisingly give you more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtorti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad that you found our decor playful and our bellhop uniforms funky. Our goal is to make everyone feel at home when staying with us and I am glad that you appreciated our efforts.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,
The Sohotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Pleasant, attractive rooms, and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly (there's also great coffee free in the morning) and the location is perfect - close to the subways, Chinatown, Little Italy, the New Museum, and a nice walk to the East Village. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us and Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you noticed, our neighborhood has been going through some fantastic changes full of amazing culture and food & beverage options. I am glad that you were able to experience our community and we all hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,
The Sohotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed in SoHotel back in July of 2009 even though the date application will only let me go back to December of 2012. I believe I paid on average about $125-$135 a night but I could be slightly mistaken. The perks of this hotel- It is located convienently in Lower Manhattan near some classical immigrant neighborhoods and also near the trendy SoHo section of Manhattan, it has a good staff, hardwood floors, well made beds, it is relatively affordable, and it has brick work if people care for that. The not-so-good part it has no parking, it has no elevator, and the rooms are pretty small (probably around 250 SF for a 1 bedroom). It is well kept and thereby well worth it and definitely worth visiting again if going alone or with a loved one and seeing Manhattan.

Room Tip: Book a minimum of 2-4 weeks in advance on whatever sites you can get a discount on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly staff, great decor and clean but tiny room. You will hear street noise all night, but that didn't bother us. Close to great shopping in Soho and the New Museum. We will stay again. Best deals are in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Public Relations Manager at Sohotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am happy that our staff was able to leave you with a friendly and lasting memory of us. We promise to keep up the good work!

I also wanted to inform you that we are currently undergoing work to change all the room windows at Sohotel in order to make our rooms as sound proof as possible from NYC's vibrant and exciting streets.

We hope you will come back to see these changes soon!

Warm Regards,
The Sohotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
942 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#193 of 467 in New York City
385 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#206 of 467 in New York City
577 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#355 of 467 in New York City
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing