We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - small rooms, no lifts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne
Level Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - small rooms, no lifts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Located in soho this hotel has tiny rooms. Bed was very comfortable and sheets crisp. Bathroom was clean and neat and towels were good but shower was painful as the water converged onto a small point and the temperature was almost uncontrollable . Super hot or freezing. Lobby was helpful and they had free tea and coffee. No lifts which was a shock but plenty of bell hops.

Taxis have no idea where this hotel is and Broome Street is one way which can cause great pain. Make sure to tell them the number is 341 and that it is at the start of Broome Street so they need to enter from the start or you will keep looping back. Or just get out and walk back.

China town is very close and also lots of Italian.

Try not to get a room on the street… It is very noisy

Room Tip: Stay away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    469
    208
    78
    117
See reviews for
312
254
66
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is more in Chinatown than SoHo. The rooms are big (huge by NYC standards) and clean. But: (a) there's no elevator. If you carry heavy luggage - think again. (b) I had a room on Bowery St. it was noisy with traffic all night. Windows provided no isolation. I could barely sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I stood for one night in a two double room and as soon as I arrived the staff were excellent and from the doorman to the desk workers. They helped me get to my room and never disrupted me . The only thing is that the room doesn't have a fridge but thats not a big deal. The flat screen TV and the brick wall in our room was awesome. Pillows were super soft and its right in between Chinatown and little italy so I ate everything!. They have a radio with a dock station , free coffee and tea, free cable and the bathroom is spacious , clean and beautiful. Would stay again once the price lowers again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here because our normal hotel in Jersey City was booked due to the Super Bowl. The hotel location is close to little Italy and Chinatown so it's convenient, but the noise from outside can be a problem. This isn't the fault of the hotel but it is loud at times.

The room was narrow with 3 beds and there is no refrigerator. This was a big drawback to our stay since we always keep refreshments in the room. The service was great and the staff were very attentive.

There is parking around the corner in a garage, but it had to pay a little extra to park because they said it was full. I believe it since the Chinese Lunar New Year was also going on.

I'd stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I loved my stay at the SoHotel! Our room was NYC-small, but the space was maximized, the room was comfortable, and the decor was very trendy and cute. I also appreciated that all of the soaps and lotions in the room were high-quality -- it made the place feel a little more luxurious.

The hotel was close to the subway and made getting around NYC very easy. Overall, I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We found it! Thanks to other travelers on Tripadvisor, we finally found the hotel we were looking for for an inexpensive stay in the heart of NYC. Walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy, Soho and Lower East Side, the hotel is in a great location. It is very clean, safe, with a very nice staff. If you do not mind a very small room (Hardly big enough to sit in front of your laptop), this is really the place to stay. The room was cute, brick wall, dark furniture, and the bed was very comfortable. We had no problem with noise and there is free wifi. Our shower was small, but our friends stayed in another room with a large shower. There are a few cute bars and restaurants and even an excellent bakery close by. I highly recommend it and we will definitely be back to this hotel next time we stay in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and we stayed for 10nights (4 last time). The hotel has been renovated since our last visit 3 years ago & it's even better. It's not 5 star, rather a more boutique 3 star hotel (not motel). The rooms are small but we survived 10 nights with no problems. Room 419 was our room & it was quiet with a brand new bathroom. Very clean & comfy beds. Why stay here you ask, it's all about location. Your proximity to the best restaurants, bars, & shops as well as 3 different subway lines & easy to get to brooklyn. This is where you want to stay, not Times Square if you want to be close to everything I mentioned. Travel to all the sights during the day. Completely safe to walk on your own too, hubby had some tv time while I shopped. Places we recommend to eat clues by are: la esquina (book), tacombi, Balthazar, Peking duck house, delicatessen, plan b, dean & delucca (on the go)...loads of bars too & hidden night clubs. Head to broadway for shops & surrounding streets. Kate Spade & Anthropoligie are my favourites. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0ve2travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing