We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time stay, loved it again”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Welland, ON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“2nd time stay, loved it again”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was my 2nd time staying at this hotel, for the rest of my family, it was their first. I was very happy the first time and was hoping for another great experience. I was not disappointed ;)

I did a lot of research before this particular trip and being that we were travelling on the Canadian March Break, everything was expensive. Sohotel however, had very reasonable rates compared to the rest I looked and since I had already stayed here before, it was an easy choice to come back to.

No, the rooms aren't big (NOTHING in NYC is big in terms of size, except maybe the buildings themselves), but our family of 4 stayed in the family room with the 3 beds and it was perfect for us. We weren't there to do cartwheels in the room nor did we spend much time in the room, but the time spent was nice and comfortable. The staff all around are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. An elevator would be nice BUT the staff make the best of it by making sure to have a door man and bell man ready at all times to help with luggage and other things. Parking on site would be nice too but at least the parking was close enough that it wasn't inconvenient. The price to park however isn't so much fun but this isn't the hotel's issue. It cost us 40 plus to park per day which I find outrageous but I guess it's about on par with everything else in NYC, nothing is "cheap".

I had forgotten a toothbrush, front desk provided one. The room above us was making a huge racket the first night and at 2:30 AM I finally had to go and say something. The staff took care of it which I was thankful for. You're going to hear street noise, it's NYC...sirens and horns are normal here, but it was nothing that kept us awake. Beds were comfy, lots of pillows provided, room cleaned and stocked daily and wifi worked well everywhere.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again sometime. The location is great (Canal Street and China Town are right around the corner) and subway stops just a block away.

Also, if you're looking for a great place to eat and appreciate Italian food, try Lasso. We stumbled upon it our first night and out of 4 nights in NYC, we ate there 3 times. The food and service there were fantastic too.

Thanks Sohotel for another great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niagaramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    478
    211
    78
    119
See reviews for
318
257
69
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

this little boutique hotel is really nice however the rooms are TINY but this is i guess all you need in the big city. the rooms are really expensive but if you go through hostelworld or hostels or hostelbookers i think you find cheaper rooms. the wifi is REALLY good and the location is pretty good too :) the service was great and the best were SO SO comfy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Director of Sales at Sohotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your honest review of our property. We are glad that you found our hotel to be really nice and that you chose us as your hotel in NYC. Please keep in mind for the next time you are in NYC that we have other various room types that offer more spacious accommodations that may suit your needs better. As well, Booking directly via our website will always result in the cheapest price on the web guaranteed.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Sohotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My One day stay.

-PROS: The interiors are simply gorgeous. I love exposed brick wall rooms. The Bed was super comfy. CONS: NO Breakfast is served.The rooms are EXTREMELY Small. I mean very little space to move about, which would freak out a claustrophobic. I rate $87 dollars for the night I stayed there. $103.48 all together. It is not worth staying here for no more than $90 a night. The rooms are way too small.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyn718817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Director of Sales at Sohotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our property.

We are glad that you were pleased with our hotel interiors and that you enjoyed our extremely comfortable bedding! We are continuing to upgrade our product and glad you benefited from our efforts.

Please keep in mind for the next time you are in NYC that we have other various room types that offer more spacious accommodations that may suit your needs better. As the oldest operating hotel in the in NYC we pride ourselves in being able to offer an extremely competitive rate with respect to our competition.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A lovely BoHo hotel in an excellent location. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the bell boy was really helpful explaining how to get to various places. Very, very clean and surprisingly quiet but I think that depends on where your room is within the hotel. A fantastic Italian restaurant on the same street called Piacere. Excellent food and a variety of speciality wines. Not to be missed for the warmth and ambiance alone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sohotel, Director of Sales at Sohotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.W e pride ourselves on offering the cleanest accommodations possible and are glad that our efforts reached your stay. Our neighborhood is absolutely wonderful- our bell staff knows this and its our pleasure to guide you through this sometimes confusing city!

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip!

Sohotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I recently stayed in the Sohotel with my Fiance for Valentine's Day weekend, and we had a tremendous experience. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, even pointing us to a few great bars - and incredible Italian food - right down the street. The hotel was clean, quiet, and a truly great New York experience. I would go back in a heartbeat, and plan on staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spend 2 nights in this hotel. Second day when we returned to the hotel around 4 pm the room had not been cleaned. When I peer into the hall I see a cleaning lady. I asked if I could make the room. When they finish cleaning I approached the door to give them a tip.

I was unaware that they pick up the trash at the entrance with wet towels. I slip and hurt my left foot. I quickly put ice. When I went to report the incident to the employee Jak told me he would notify a Manager.

The next day, still in pain came back to report the incident and no manager spoke to me to make sure I was okay.

I wrote a letter to management and nothing.

If you get to stay in this hotel be careful no to slip by the negligence of the staff. No one cares especially management.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500CathiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The location of this hotel is great and the staff seemed very friends. However, when I checked in, I did not receive a map and the room was SO noisy. It sounded like the people in the rooms next door and on the street were in my room. I bought ear plugs but it made little difference. I feel they need to get double pane glass. I personally wouldn't stay here again based on the noise factor alone.
My only other complaint is that the duvet did not have a cover. In my opinion, a sheet does not provide enough hygienic cover for me not to come in contact with something that hundreds of people before me have used.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#354 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#371 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing