We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for NYC”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #227 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel (we were there approximately 1 1/2 years ago). We stayed in one of the 2 queen bed rooms but this time we faced onto Bowery instead of Broome. This room was a little smaller than the one we had last time - preferred the previous room. However, we had another great stay. There was just one issue - there were some renovations going on throughout the hotel. The workmen started very early a couple of mornings: one morning at around 7am they started with their equipment and the next morning they started walking around (very loudly) above at around 6am. I think that's a little early when there are hotel guests staying below, however, it wasn't a huge deal because I'm an early riser. If it had been a big problem, I would have said something at the front desk. They are very accommodating and would have most likely done something about the noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We checked in on Sat May 31, 2014 around 4pm. A few hours later one of us noticed a place seal by the NYPD on the room door beside us. It indicated the room was sealed off because someone had died there. A bit disconcerning for us. When we approached the front desk they danced around safety concerns and were caught in a few lies. When we asked to speak to the Manager we were told he was Jewish and didn't work on Saturdays. Then told "well maybe he will come in tomorrow". Then told they "we are going to call him at home". We asked for a full refund for the two nights but were only given one night - at this point it was 7pm and we had only been there for 3 hours. We asked for the Manager to call us tomorrow and still have not heard from him. Awful customer service and dampened the start to a Bachelorette weekend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank TTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very shady hotel with terrible customer service..,, the room adjacent to our was sealed off by the NY police as a crime scene - siting there had been a death in the room and on going investigation! When we approach staff with the concern, we were dismissed and lied to about the situation. The story seemed shady and there was definitely an unpleasant feeling in the hotel. Upon closer inspection we realized our from room door did not properly lock and could be easily opened from the outside. Stay away from the hotel....there are many other great and safer hotels in the city!
Needless to say we checked out immediately!

This hotel resembles a Hostel, very small room...bare basic amenities and no elevators!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alessandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Sohotel is a basic hotel (think nice hostel, without shared bathrooms) in a great location. It's a little bit old, but with a cool eclectic style which matches perfectly with its location in soho. The price is great for the location if you get it on sale. I wouldn't be happy to pay any more than $180/night for this place because as I mentioned, it's quite basic.
The rooms are very small, so opening a suitcase has to be done on the bed. The rooms do have free wifi however, so that was a big plus compared to larger chain hotels which tend to charge for this.
Be aware, there are no lifts....so if you're coming and going you will potentially have to walk up 4 or so flights of stairs each time (not a biggie unless you're lazy, injured or a bit older). I would recommend this hotel for young (or young at heart) travellers only.
I didn't have much interaction with the staff, but what interaction I did have was good.
As I mentioned, the location is the best bit. One block and you're amongst nice bars and cafes of soho, a block in the other direction you're in Chinatown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilkbottleLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Tiny thin room with two single beds head to head. Probably the weirdest room layout I've ever stayed in! Location was great and room was cheap, so can't complain too much. Would be great for a couple who had fallen out and were on a tight budget!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has average accommodatiojn but is situated in the trendy Soho area of Manhattan. there are some fantastic cafes and restaurants in this area and you can walk to just about anything from this central point

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are best for reduced noise from the road. you will find there is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had a nice view of the street and the bed was comfortable and the TV had ALOT of channels! The bathroom was small and you couldn't move in the shower without hitting a wall. The room was really stuffy and the windows don't block out the traffic but the fan works beautifully! We had a nice stay here!! I would recommend it! Just don't expect too much room.. Anywhere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clairealicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#215 of 471 in New York City
409 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#157 of 471 in New York City
975 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#253 of 471 in New York City
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#22 of 471 in New York City
783 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#246 of 471 in New York City
609 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#373 of 471 in New York City
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing