We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Stay Away!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #282 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware! Stay Away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2005

There's nothing good in this hotel. Dirty, painting falling down the wall and extremely noisy. For sure the smallest room and bath i've ever encountered in the world. At 6 am you won't be able to sleep anymore: hotel staff start to work and as the door don't close properly the noise become terrible. I've stayed in December and the heater warmed too much and there's no temperature control. Result: i were obligate to sleep with open window!!!!????!!!!! For the same price you'll find many better options.

Helpful?
3 Thank hlevenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    469
    209
    78
    117
See reviews for
312
255
66
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sohotel from April 29-May 1st, 2005. I was nervous because of all of the negative reviews I was reading. My main concern was safety in the neighborhood/hotel. The rooms seemed safe to me, as they had a strong bolt in addition to the handle lock. When we checked in we were allowed to see the room before paying. We had room 309 and it was more than adequate for a cheap place to stay in NYC. It was clean, the bathroom was much better than I expected and we even had maid service. There are towels provided, but I suggest you bring an extra pillow. We only had one to share the entire weekend and requests for an extra pillow fell on deaf ears. If you don't sweat the small things like that, you will definitely be satisfied with this hotel. (We had hot water and the t.v. picked up many channels, although not cable). We also had a nice view over the Bowery intersection. Vending machines are also in the downstairs hallway. We came down to see a show at the Bowery Ballroom and this hotel is one block away if you are interested in that venue. I would stay again, seeing as the price was so good! (Just a note: there is a $10 deposit for the room key which you get back at the end of your stay and the room taxes are about $15/night). If you call the hotel directly you may get a better nightly rate (ours was $89/night, compared to $99/night online). Hope this review helps!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2005

i was with a tour group going through the east coast of the US, and our stay in the sohotel (14/4 - 17/4) was somewhat interesting.

half of the time there was no hot water, "renovation" was being done on the building, even though it didnt change during our stay, they had signs up notifying that water would be out between specific times. if you want to walk anywhere its a long walk to any of the major attractions, like the ferry to the statue of libertey, times square and the empire state building. and even though it is a couple of minutes walk from the subway, it can be confusing for a tourist to take the subway, our tour group got lost several times. i came back one night to find my luggage all messed up, as though it had been searched through.

with that said, the rooms were clean enough, and the beds were comfortable, the tv needed tuning, but it worked. the staff did not TRY to make our stay comfortable, however they did meet any of what they thought were REASONABLE requests that we had

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2005

If you know what’s good for you, you won't stay at the Sohotel. Let me just mention a few thing... There were spiders on the toilet paper, no cable in the room, lets just say a closet was bigger than our room, and very early in the morning the fire alarm went off for no reason at all. And then when we asked them to turn it off they said that they couldn't so the fire alarm light was flashing all morning, try sleeping through that. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that for the most part it was clean. So if you're looking for a cheap room with a crazy adventure then you might like the Sohotel. I on the other hand will never go back.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2005

The only thing I really ask for in a hotel is for it be clean, the bed be comfortable and to have a hot shower in the morning. Well this didn't happen at the Sohotel. We stayed 2 nights and the first morning we had a trickle of warm water in our shower and only warm after 15 minutes of running the water and then the next morning no hot water whatsoever, not even a trickle. We had friends staying at the same hotel and the same morning we had no hot water, there toilet wouldn't flush although they did have the trickle of hot water. When we were standing in the lobby to leave we heard the front desk tell someone they had 5 toilets backed up that morning.
The beds were clean and comfortable and the rooms adequate but the water was a big problem and that had never been mentioned in any of your reviews.
We will never stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2005

My husband and I stayed here March 19th for one night. The location was great -- close to Soho, Chinatown and Little Italy. The room was clean and the price was great. However, the water went out sometime in the early morning and many people in the hotel didn't have showers or toilets that worked. Everyone was understandably irate, but the management's only response was "Sorry, someone is coming out to work on fixing it. Come back and stay with us again." Needless to say, I will not be staying with them again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#349 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#368 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 341 Broome St, New York City, NY 10013-4236
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sohotel in New York has a great location and great prices. Located in the center of downtown our hotel is comfortable, clean, and charming. We offer a great way to visit NYC and our commitment to customer satisfaction is our #1 goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel New York City
Sohotel Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing