We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #111 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and well located”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I travelled with three other women and we stayed in a one bedroom suite for 8 nights. The room was clean, spacious (for NYC) and comfortable – in fact the beds and pillows were some of the best I have ever slept in. The suite consisted of a kitchen, bedroom with two queens beds, a walk in robe, a bathroom and a lounge area with a desk and a sofa bed. The view from our suite on the 33rd floor was fantastic. I imagine that the higher floors are also quieter, as the street noise is more subdued up there. The hotel is exceptionally well located with easy access to subways and buses and a comfortable walk to empire state and Macy’s. The area also offers a range of interesting deli’s and restaurants and we always felt safe walking around the area even late at night. The staff were polite and efficient and offered a range of concierge services, although we didn’t use these, as we had done most of our booking prior to leaving home. One of our party used the gym daily and she was quite happy with the range of equipment etc. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineCoastDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear SunshineCoastDreamer,

Thank you for choosing us for your girls’ trip! Our views of the Chrysler Building and East River are some of the best the city has to offer, and I’m very pleased you were able to experience them! Did you check out our six-choice pillow menu? Please do on your next stay. Lots of comfy options. You won’t be sorry!

Be well,
Alex Spektor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,852
    1,517
    303
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,893
1,320
174
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

what a wonderderful time we had at your hotel the room was large and beaitful. the staff was helpful and friendly. it has a very home like feeling.the cupcakes were awesome what a great welcome. the view was the best we have ever had in ny. thank you for makeing our trip great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mberman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear mberman03,

Thank you for posting! We’re very happy to hear that your stay was a comfortable one. Glad you enjoyed the cupcakes, too! We hope to be your home away from home on your next trip to New York City.

Be well,
Alex Spektor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed at the Affinia Dumont for 10 nights and have no complaints! When we arrived on the Wednesday night after a long flight from Australia, the hotel was overbooked but within a second they had assured us that they had made alternative, suitable arrangements - which they had. the helpful and friendly staff member informed us that they had booked us in the Affinia Shelbourne (which was only a few blocks away) - they would pay for the nights accomodation, provide us with taxi fare and breakfast in the morning. We felt that their compensation was more than adequate. We moved back to the Afinnia Dumont the next night and had a wonderful 10 night stay. The rooms were clean, bright and big and the view (we were on the 35th floor) was fantastic and a real treat! We had easy access to everywhere. We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kepekead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear kepekead,

Thank you for your review, and for being so understanding regarding the first night of your stay. Our team will always work their hardest to ensure your experience with us exceeds your expectations. Come back and see us next time you’re on our side of the globe!

Be well,
Alex Spektor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We arrived in NY after an absolutely disastrous journey at the hands of Delta airways. We were meant to arrive at the Affinia Dumont on the Thursday evening but the inefficiency of Delta meant that we only arrived on Saturday afternoon. Our luggage was also left in Miami so by the time we arrived in NY our 3 night stay had been reduced to 1 - might I add it was our honeymoon! Needless to say we were both quite upset when we eventually arrived but lovely Iris at reception made it all so so much better! She was immensely welcoming and gave us a stunning room on the 19th floor. She also gave us excellent advice on how best to see the city in the 24 hours we had available! When we got back to our hotel that evening there was a beautiful bunch of flowers, some wine and some tasty cupcakes which all went a long long way in perking us up and boosting our spirits. When we left for the airport the following day the doorman (didn't get his name unfortunately) was also so lovely and friendly. Huge bed, soft pillows - lovely stay! The hotel was also in an excellent location with the Empire State building just down the road. Thank you! My one and only gripe would be the lack of free wireless which would have proved particularly handy in tracking down lost luggage!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear gillanders,

Even though you had such a rough ride getting to us, I’m thrilled you made it! We know not every trip can be flawless, but our team takes pride is going above and beyond to ensure that once you’re here, you’re as comfy as possible. I’m pleased to hear we did just that. Come back soon!

Be well,
Alex Spektor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We had a great time in NY. All the better for knowing we had a good hotel to return to each night.
Rooms well laid out but looking a little tired.
Bed was super comfortable.
(This made our trip rather expensive as my wife then brought a new bed for us when we got back home !)

TVs in our room were poor and AC units were noisy - despite the best efforts of the maintenance guy - who arrived very quickly and tried really hard.

The one thing that would be nice would be free WiFi throughout - I think that's pretty standard for a hotel at this level nowadays.
But we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly use Affinia hotels again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicks951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Nicks951,

Thanks for your review! Our comfy beds are just one of the many things we’re proud to offer our guests. Know that your feedback regarding the TVs is well-received; we’re actually in the process of updating the televisions and more throughout the summer. We hope you’ll come back soon!

Be well,
Alex Spektor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeForest, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I traveled to NYC with my sister and my mother for my mother's 70th birthday. Although we all traveled from other areas (Wisconsin, D.C. and Florida), my mother was born and raised in Brooklyn so it was a special trip for her. I contacted David, the Concierge, prior to our arrival to arrange for some champagne and a birthday treat. While I wasn't able to pull it off, David and Trang Phan really came through for us. Immediately following our check-in, Ms. Phan arrived at our room with Champagne and cupcakes for my mother's birthday. She was so thrilled. David was so helpful in providing guidance on how to get around the city in the quickest, most efficient way. Not only that, but he has a unique ability to make you feel like a long, lost friend. Honestly, we could not have asked for more in service. While everything else was wonderful (location, room condition, size of room, etc.), we were so impressed with the service. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisconsin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear Wisconsin92,

Happy belated to your mother, and thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a wonderful occasion. David, Trang and the rest of the team couldn’t be happier that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be well,
Alex Spektor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Conversion
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We came to NYC with a 5-year old and a 10-year old kid. The Affinia Dumont had everything we were expecting (save maybe for a pool ... but this is NY), from perfect location (Midtown, close to many cool restaurants and Subway stations) to large and very convenient rooms. Last but not least, the personnel, starting with Candice and Donald, made our stay particularly agreeable. Really a good value for money !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLA-DAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Dear OLA-DAC,

Thank you for your review! Candace and Donald are both very happy to hear such kind words. Come back and see us soon. We’d love to have the whole family!

Be well,
Alex Spektor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4,790 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 467 in New York City
231 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing