We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get this deal while you can!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #97 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Get this deal while you can!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I can't be the only one that has trouble finding an affordable hotel in Manhattan. Problem solved--stay at the Affinia Dumont for under $200 per night (not including taxes, etc.) and receive toiletries by Philosophy, comfortable beds with fashionable linens, a large desk and comfortable office chair on wheels, a great shower, fully stocked mini-bar, AND, wait for it.....a fully functioning kitchen! Even at higher rates, this hotel would be well worth it.
The staff is well-trained, attentive and responsive. Given the size of the place, I think that they could use more staff on-hand. But they do amazingly well with who's there.
Finally, the location is near perfect. Park Ave and 34th is around the corner from one of the older and more exclusive 'residential' neighborhoods in the city. I prefer the 'quiet' (relatively speaking) of this part of town. It's near great shopping (Macy's, et al), the Empire State Bldg., great restaurants, and it takes no time at all via subway, cab or bus to get wherever you want to go.
No way they can make money at these rates, get this deal while you can.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi in the lobby, available in the rooms for a fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agouradeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,831
    1,501
    299
    112
    48
See reviews for
1,871
1,308
173
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Hotel was easy to find, and in a good location - easy walk to midtown & main shopping strips, rooms were a bit dark, could do with some 'refreshing'.

Will look elsewhere when we go again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Affinia Dumont, and held a private suprise party in one of the banquet rooms there. The service was amazing, particularly the help I got from Paul Yorio and Christa Vagnozzi. Christa was in charge of planning the party, food, alcohol, timing, etc., she was so helpful in making sure we had everythign we needed and made the extra effort to make sure the suprise went off without a hitch. Paul went above and beyond and took care of some things I could not as I was leading the guest of honor to the suprise. The stay was also excellent, the rooms are clean, perfect size, and have spectacular river and city views. Call Christa for a party, or stay there!

Room Tip: East River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buslebombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We visited for our third annual Girls' Weekend and while we were generally pleased, we noticed that things had gone down a bit since our last visit. Desk staff were not quite as nice, rooms were not as spiffy, toiletries not as nice. Hotel policies had changed concerning floor placement, number of guests, and booking agencies. I guess everyone wants to squeeze a few more dollars out of everybody. Not a way to cultivate return guests, however. Only one constant: Fabulous, friendly service by Juber!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of Chrysler Bldg, which they are now charging for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROSE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We arrived late and were greeted by a very friendly, professional guy on reception. He apologised that he couldn't give me the room I'd requested on a higher floor but said they could move us the following day to a better room. We were a bit skeptical (because we're like that) but left the suitcases packed and tidy anyway the following day. We returned to find the move had all been managed seamlessly and - wow- were we pleased with the result! The new room was bigger, had a nicer kitchen and - best of all - smack bang in the centre of the floor-to-ceiling picture window was a view of the Chrysler building, with its famous roof all lit up! The king size bed was really, really, REALLY comfy. The room cleaning worked like a dream and they got into our rhythm of going out about noon (so they never bothered coming round before that) and the room was always spotless when we came back. We always had enough towels (they were proper bath sheets too) and they replenished the coffee for the coffee maker every day. On the second to last day we had a really helpful conversation with the Concierge and he sorted out the transport for us so we didn't have to leave ridiculously early for the airport (or too late for my partner who frets). The location of the hotel is perfect - near 5th and the subway and very close to a really well stocked deli that is open late. The ONLY downside is that the hotel doesn't have a bar and the restaurant is next door, which means we never bothered to try the breakfast. The menu looked pretty limited too, for NYC. Would definitely absolutely stay here again, depending on price and would opt for the kitchen too because it was really handy.

Room Tip: Our higher floor room had a great view. The kitchen was handy and well equipped too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margypargy24A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for four nights in January. Location is great, not far from many of the places we wanted to see. We had a suite with a small kitchen. The room was of a decent size and very comfortable. The rate was very reasonable for a nice NY hotel room. We enjoyed our stay so much that we already booked a stay for March. The staff was very helpful in getting us the best rate for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgull18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at the hotel. As mentioned many times the hotel is ideally situated for the major attractions and very near the subway which we used almost daily to access other areas of Manhattan.
The service from staff was always exemplary and the bell boys frequently asked us if we wanted taxis hailing which was a great help.
The room was clean and we used the kitchen facilities every day. The bed is massive and the view from the 23rd floor was excellent.

Room Tip: North facing gets the best city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing