We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, nice rooms, great prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #108 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grosse Pointe Far
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Large, nice rooms, great prices”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Since I first discovered the Affinia Dumont, through a lucky web search, it's the only place I stay when I visit NYC. It's well situated just north of Grand Central, accessable to great restaurants, shopping, museums and the trains, but best of all, most of the rooms (as far as I know) have kitchenettes with full refridgerators and stoves. And just next door to the hotel is a small market, where you can pick up soda, milk, cereal, frozen pizza, wine - whatever. The point is that if you're going for a long weekend, it can be a nice option to just have cereal in your room for breakfast or some other quick meal, rather than turn every meal into a Manhattan dining event, complete with all the dilemmas, choices and expense involved in eating out for every little meal.
I've stayed in their rooms with a King sized bed, couch that opens to a bed and kitchen with three (adult) girlfriends for a long weekend and we felt we had plenty of room in the space provided and all agreed that the Hotel was truly a great find in Manhattan.
The bathrooms are modern and nicely appointed with fluffy towels and Aveda products.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,844
    1,516
    303
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,888
1,318
174
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The hotel suprised us. We visited NY for a sporting event, when we arrived we were sent to a hotel with very small rooms. The next day, a room opened up at the Affinia Dumont and we moved there. The staff is first rate, very helpful, the manager excellent. They took time to find the best room option for us and we stayed in a beautiful suite. Very large, comfortable, and modern. They could upgrade the bathroom and kitchen but overall a very high level. The gym was very adequate and overall the hotel is a great option for a family or a group. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BosteroBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear BosteroBarcelona,

Thank you for a nice review! I am glad to hear that you found the suites in our hotel to be very spacious and you experienced our great service. This is certainly music to my ears. Essentially this is what our team is focusing on providing.

Centrally convenient location, oversized suites with full kitchens, inspiring views and authentic service! This is what Affinia Dumont is famous for!

I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Best,

Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Affinia Dumont for 4 nights over the Labor day weekend. From check in to check out, we had a wonderful experience.

We booked a junior suite. I had requested a higher floor with a view. I was skeptical when I booked the room, but I can say it was as advertised. Our room was very spacious and the view from the 21st floor was awesome.
Our room was always clean and everything replaced everyday.

The service is top notch. The staff is very warm and friendly.
The concierge, David, was very accomodating and knowledgeable. Juber, the bellman, made us feel like family, despite the fact that he is a Yankees fan. He's a great guy and made the experience all the more fun. This is top quality staff all around.

This is a great place to stay in a great part of the city. I wasn't too familiar with Murray Hill, but it has quickly become our favorite section of NYC. Some great restaurants, bars, and shopping close by.

I would and will personally recommend the Affinia Dumont to friends and family. We will certainly stay there on our next trip.

Room Tip: Request high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Affinia Dumont. We had a 1 bedroom suite that was very large for our family of 4. Bed was very comfortable. Had a kitchen if you needed it. It is a good place for families given the size of the rooms.

Fitness center was fine for working out.

The restaurant next door, The Barking Dog, is also a real nice spot to grab a drink. The bartender was very nice. A few colorful locals kept it fun as well.

I would definately stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for 3 days over the Labor day long weekend at this hotel.

It is great location with just a couple of blocks from subway and very good delis (Murray Hill deli) and breakfast place (Guy and Gallagher)

Pros:

1) Excellent quiet location and close to subway
2) Comfortable beds

Cons:

1) Checkin is 3:00 pm and our room was not ready until 4:00 pm - had to wait
2) Hot water was turned down over the long weekend and lukewarm water in the shower - was back hot on tuesday after the long weekend was over
3) No room cleaning if you accidentally missed the window by putting the do not disturb tag
4) No soap in the bathroom first day - had to call and ask
5) Had to request for coffee packets replenishment multiple times
6) Room keys kept getting disabled every day - was told this was due to keeping with the cellphone in the pocket - so had to make multiple trips up and down

Wish the service was a little friendlier to customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear Sam.K,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am glad you've enjoyed our location and bedding, however it looks like we were not able to deliver the level of service that we are known for and I sincerely apologize for that.
We did have a very brief interruption in the hot water supply due to an emergency and that has been resolved since (not a typical problem for our hotel).
As for the other issues listed, I have addressed them with our management team to find a correction as I too find it to be unacceptable for our standards.

I think you for staying with us and hope you will give us a chance to show you what our hotel can offer, I promise will make it up to you!

Sincerely,

Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

stayed on 27th floor amazing views, great room, clean comfortable beds
overall great hotel. Thanks to the staff and Alex.
there was note on table when we arrived to our room notifying us of construction noise during the day, nice to be informed of whats going on in hotel. concierge very helpful with info regarding booking broadway shows. Cimena cafe down road very pleasant would definitely recommend this hotel. Large spacious room with 2 double beds, kitchenette and clean bathroom, what more could you want.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Finding reasonably priced Labor Day weekend accommodation in NYC is always a challenge. For our family of four, the Affinia Dumont was great choice! Our comfortable one bedroom suite was the same price as a small room in other, similar standard hotels, and the service was warm and friendly. A solid four star hotel all around. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The -03 line has the biggest rooms. High floors have nice city views, and the loud A/C blocks out an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozmum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Ozmum2011,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review of your family’s recent stay over Labor Day weekend. I’m glad to see that your group of four enjoyed a comfortable stay, that you had plenty of room in your one-bedroom suite, and that you encountered warm and friendly service from our staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Affinia Dumont during your next visit to NYC.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
4,749 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#68 of 468 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#77 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#48 of 468 in New York City
197 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing