We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affinia Dumont gets top marks again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #97 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Affinia Dumont gets top marks again”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This was my third stay at this hotel and I have no doubt I will be returning again. This visit there were 5 of us, all female ranging in age from 23 - 80 and we had a ball.

The Staff are very helpful, rooms are lovely with comfy beds and choice of pillows. We had a one bedrommed apartment on the 36th floor with seperate bedroom with 2 double beds and a double pull out in the living room. The kitchen was great and had everything we needed [except for a kettle but we boiled the water for our tea in the microwave, about 3 minutes a cup]. Bathroom is a good size and had hairdryer and plenty of clean towels.

Being Midtown it is within easy reach of Empire State Building [3 blocks] Macy's [4 blocks] and the subway,[1 block]

We had breakfast every day at Murray Hill Diner, leaving the hotel turn left then left again at the supermarket, walk to end of block and diner on opposite corner. Good choice of food and very friendly, helpful staff.

If you need any shopping, go to Duane Read across the road, cheaper than the deli on the corner. Dunkin' Donuts next door but one for early morning coffee and croissants to take back to your room.

We also walked to Central Station and Times Square from this hotel, a nice steady walk even for the 80 year old.

If you stay at this hotel then you won't regret it in my opinion.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a higher room, well worth it for the view of the Chrysler Building and the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmirnoffRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear SmirnoffRed,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Affinia Dumont! I’m so happy to see that you chose to stay at our hotel for a third time and that our friendly staff, large guestrooms (big enough for your party of 5 ladies), and our central location did not disappoint.

The Affinia Dumont Team is so thankful to have guests like you, who we always look forward to welcoming back year after year. We’re happy to be your home away from home in New York City and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,830
    1,503
    300
    112
    49
See reviews for
1,872
1,309
173
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last summer with my wife and children, and it was a no brainer to go back again last week. The hotel is perfecting placed mid town and close to subway as well as Macy's, the Empire State and United Nations all within short walk. The Murray Hill diner is nice and close for breakfast and there is a Deli on corner of street as well. Hotel has great kitchen area with large fridge freezer, sink, hob, coffee machine and Microwave all handy for making tea and warming up take out food. Saved fortune on drinks by keeping our own selection in the fridge, although hotel also provides if you get to room late and have no time to shop. The TVs had been upgraded to large HD screens and the selection of channels were great. Room rate was very favourable and for two or small family, this place is hard to match. Free WiFi in the lobby. The people in the hotel could not do enough for us, booking resturants and large taxis to take us to ferry terminal. They had bikes to use as well to make most of weekend road closures. Will definitely use again. We were lucky we left just before Sandy hit town.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASpektor, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this great review and for choosing to return to the Affinia Dumont during your most recent trip to New York City. I’m so glad to see you were just as happy with our hotel the second time around and that you definitely plan to visit us again. We are proud to have loyal guests like you and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in NYC soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Spektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec (CANADA)
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Wow, did we LOVE NYC!!! We stayed at the Affinia Dumont memorial weekend for 5 nights. We stayed in a one bedroom and the accomodations were very nice. My son slept on the pull out sofa which was surprisingly comfortable and he is a big kid for a ten year old (5 feet and 100 lbs). The location is great (Dunkin Donuts RIGHT next door so you can have breakfast, coffee or snacks anytime, pharmacy across the street, close to grocery stores and there were restaurants everywhere and only a 10 minute (maximum) taxi ride to Times Square.

The hotel room was very large with plenty of storage and GORGEOUS views of the river. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit NYC.

The only negative is we did find 3 cockroaches near the kitchen on separate occassions (it is NYC however and it was VERY hot that weekend...we DID not leave out any food).

Also, the food to the adjacent restaurant "Barking Dogs" was not very good at all...not even sure dog's would eat that!!!

Room Tip: We went with a one bedroom so that we could relax while my son slept since you do a lot of walking w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLO1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We love this hotel and if we end up somewhere else we always wish we were at the Affinia Dumont (better than the other Affinia's as well). It's convenient but not in a crazy area and very accessible to everywhere--Times Square, Central Park, shopping--and you can get to trendy restaurants within 15 minutes. We visit about 3-4 times a year, and have brought our dog to the hotel as well. Rooms are spacious and mini kitchens make the whole visit a lot more relaxing.
Do check your bill carefully. I have booked at special rates and then charged differently at check out. Once i proved my rate via my email confirmation they happily adjusted.

Room Tip: High rooms if possible for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDDEBEACHLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed at the Dumont for five nights recently for the second time in two years (lucky us), and so glad we did. There are so many fine positive points to comment on, where do i start. Firstly and foremost the staff are second to none. Friendly, wow they treat you like family, and I don't believe it's put on. Nothing is ever too much to ask for and they really do seem to pride themselves in what they do.
The rooms are just great. We were fortunate enough to get a high floor room with magnificent panoramic views of that amazing metropolis below and into the heart of the skyscrapers. The rooms are quite spacious and having a kitchenette was just wonderful and more than handy for bringing snacks home. The beds were great and a lounge room that closes off from the bedroom was a bonus. Just downstairs you have the Murray Hill market for all those supplies or snacks you may require. Very handy and very reasonably priced.
The Dumont's location is sensational, just a couple of blocks from the Empire State and a couple more blocks up and you're at Macy's and just a short stroll from that Time Square. Plus the subway is right by in walking distance, that connects to everywhere.
A special thank you to all the wonderful staff but i must mention Donald and Juber on the front door who greet you back like old friends and give you a laugh,,, and of course to Steff at reception for being ever bubbly and friendly. But a big thank you to the wonderful Candace who is a thorough professional at her job and always make sure every little thing is 100% catered for, for us the guest.
If i was the manager i would give them all long contracts and not change a thing. It was a fantastic five days spent in New York we will all remember fondly for life.
Thanks so,so much you guy's,,, we'll be back !!

Room Tip: Request a high floor with views of the Chrysler Building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Good in all items: comfort, cleanliness, service, gentle staff, wonderful beds and pillows, practical kitchen, 1st class bathroom. In only do not give a 10 because the wifi is not free (considering the high rate of the hotel).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here with three friends on a girls trip. I had stayed here with my family two years ago and liked it so much then that I recommended it to my friends and they were not disappointed. We had no complaints at all about the hotel . Particularly liked the kitchen for early morning tea/coffee although my espresso drinking friend found the coffee supplied too weak. That would be our only quibble though and we were so happy with comfort of beds, size of rooms and location. What really makes this hotel special is its' staff.Hurricane Sandy caused the power to go down and the water to go off while we were there but the staff did everything they could to be supportive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and we were appreciative of this. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: corner suites more spacious and have terrific views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,895 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing