We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious rooms, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #111 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very spacious rooms, great staff”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The pros:
Rooms are very spacious for a Manhattan hotel. I was alone in a suite with a separate bedroom and kitchenette. Ideal for families.
Staff is lovely. Very friendly and attentive.
Location is great, for me walking distance to Grand Central Terminal was an absolute plus

The cons:
Noise. Yes, this is Manhattan, but the windows in this hotel seem to block out the noise less efficiently than in others that I have stayed in in NYC. If you are noise sensitive, ask for a room away from the street (or maybe a bit further up - I was on the 9th floor).
Internet fees. In this day and age there should be free wireless in hotels in general, but especially for the business room rate I paid internet should have been free (was >10$ per day).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear girbit,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay with us. Please be assured I have shared your feedback with our Executive team accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,852
    1,517
    303
    113
    52
See reviews for
1,893
1,320
174
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited NY for an anniversary holiday for a week and made the right choice in this hotel. Accommodated our requirements as per the booking and the view from our junior suite on the 25th floor was fabulous. The room was spotless and fully equipped for self catering. Note to UK travelling ladies - don't take your straighteners, they don't work in the US due to voltage differences!! Hair dryer provided, no nozzle on it though so beware if you're trying to straighten the curls.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Leapa,

As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont I would like to thank you for posting your review of your stay on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Location great. Concierge staff excellent. Jubar and co made us so welcome going above and beyond every day. Rooms v spacious.Could do with a little modernizing but perfectly adequate. full kitchen ++

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear David J W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Affinia Dumont. As the General Manager, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINNER, MIDDLESEX
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My family and I were staying in another hotel in Madison Ave, for a special occasion, but as we have fond memories of the Affinia Dumont, we decided to call in and have lunch at the Barking Dog restaurant and bar downstairs. Well! We couldn't have been made more welcome. I am in a wheelchair and had had some problems with it that day. Without even asking Donald the doorman got me another wheelchair belonging to the hotel for me to use until I got mine sorted out. We were then greeted like old friends by George the bar owner and Bobby one of the locals, who has great stories to tell. In fact we were given a free bottle of champagne during our lunch.
If you want to be treated like someone special, then stay at this hotel or even just visit the Barking Dog. Many thanks again to Donald and his co -worker on the door.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IR2HELPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ir2helpu,

Thank you for sharing your incredible experience at the Affinia Dumont on TripAdvisor. I can't begin to tell you how pleased I am to hear of how our staff made you feel so comfortable and welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back soon as one of our most loyal guests.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stay got off to a bad start. Despite booking and paying up front months in advance, the one bedroom suite I booked wasn't available the first night. As a result, I had a temporary room the first night and couldn't unpack and really get into things till the second day. Thanks go to Betsy on reception for staying cool even when I didn't, and for arranging for free wifi and a rebate and for my things to be moved the next day so I didn't have to stay in and move. The hotel is in a great location on 34th street and close to Empire State and Macy's. Having a kitchen was fantastic (I used fairways market on 2nd and 30th). Some have complained about the toiletries - instead of the usual little bottles, there are three fixed large bottles in the bathroom. I preferred it - it means that there is plenty of product and they smell lovely. Some reviews have complained about the noise. The rooms I had were on the 11th then the 25th floors - noise was fine on both (it's NYC for crying out loud) but they provide ear plugs in the bedside lockers which was a lovely touch if you do find it too noisy (I didn't need them and consider myself a light sleeper) The beds and pillows were fabulously comfy and the rooms clean and tidy. The hotel has a gym - which is fairly good if in need of a little decorating TLC. Overall, a great hotel that would have got 5* were it not for the room problem. Reception and concierge staff were all lovely and couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor - it's worth it to have a view of the Chrysler Building.
See more room tips
Green Features: The fixed toiletries in the bathroom mean there is less waste than with lots of tiny plastic bottles, and, as they are topped up regularly, there's plenty to go round.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Docwake,

As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that our staff, especially Betsey, was able to turn things around to ensure we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for one week with our family of 4. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms (one bedroom suite with skyline view) and the comfortable beds. We had a great view, enjoyed the little kitchen and the spacious bathroom. Everything was clean; the deli around the corner and Empire state building and Macy's on walking distance. We would stay here again of we would visit New York another time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ANeutkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear ANeutkens,

Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed our incredible Skyline Suites! As the General Manager, I am so pleased that your family was comfortable in our spacious rooms with amazing views. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for a bachelorette party for one night. This was the perfect hotel because with two adjoining rooms everyone was able to have a comfy bed to sleep in. Gerson was at the front desk and he was so friendly and helpful during the check in process. It was nice and smooth and he even gave us some great suggestions. The room itself has everything you need for a short or long stay. The beds are comfy, nice relaxing lounge area and a kitchen with all you need. This is a gem of a hotel in NYC! The wine hour was amazing. The women pouring was super friendly and kept our glasses full. The wine was also delicious! I would for sure book here again. It is pricey, but since splitting the cost that made it more affordable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessR_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear JessR,

As the General Manager of the Affinia Dumont, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a great time at our wine hour which is held daily in the lobby from 5p - 6p! We look forward to having you back as our guest in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any future assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4,789 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 467 in New York City
231 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#53 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing