We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from Woogo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woogo - Central Park
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from Woogo!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Woogo is probably the worst Apartment Rental agency ever. My friends booked an apartment with them in August 2011. I had to call twice to get a written confirmation from the agency, and when they finally decided to send it, neither the number of nights nor the way to get the keys was mentioned on it. During their stay, we were informed that Woogo had only paid 5 nights to the owner (although my friends had paid 9 nights in advance) and that they were illegal occupants. And I don't even mention the dirty bathroom, the windows that do not close, etc. A real dump! Beware of Woogo!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    92
    45
    31
    73
See reviews for
49
73
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was the second time that i've stayed at this property. For the vaule it is great. I have not ever had the problems with the staff/tenants of the building that others have had. On both ocassions my room has been upgraded at no exta cost to me and the staff have been extremely helpful. The location is great with quick access to subway, a short walk from central park and minimal walk to the museums. The only downside I have is that I don't live in NYC in these apartments!!!!! Going back in August!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Room and kitchen are serviceable, basic, nothing fancy, some very minor defects like knobs missing from drawers and tiny bathroom. A/c is fine, cannot beat the location! Nice lobby, as long as it's not filled with Gymboree kids and their nannies.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkoslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

After reading these reviews, my partner and I called Priceline, and demanded another hotel (afraid of it being illegal/in poor repair/getting locked out). Priceline told us that we should try the hotel anyways, and to call them if we had any problems. Well, maybe they just made an extra effort to make us comfortable because we called, but the hotel was an AWESOME value for the money. It was clean, the room was great (the kitchenette was actually a mini-kitchen), the location was safe, and there is free street parking. It sucks you had to pay more for the internet, and to leave your bags, but we only paid $100 for what we thought was worth at least $160/night.

Either the other people who stayed here were snobs, or they gave us amazing treatment after the call in. Either way, check this out for yourself. Great value for the money. Only two bad things happened: we found an apple seed on the floor, and the towel bar in the bathroom fell down. If you're the type of person to be bothered by these things, don't stay here. But, if you're not, we had an amazing stay!

Room Tip: If you're concerned by these reviews, call in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Although cheaper than our other hotels in NYC this place is Spartan only stay here if you really can't afford elsewhere. Room a good size but giant old TV right next to our bed almost in the bed with us and no remote! Broken lamp broken blinds needs some desperate renos and the receptionist didn't even welcome us on arrival and didn't seem to know much about anything! No hairdryer and dryers for clothes cost $10 they also charged us $5 per bag to hold onto our bags the day we checked out which is normally for free! I strongly recommend paying $50-80 more a night coz this place is a hole.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Myself, my girlfriend and five of our friends stayed here in march. you get what you pay for in life.Our apt was warm, clean and its in a great location. We stayed in a three bed apt and we had plenty of room, I agree that service was only average but who cares its NYC, all you need is a place to put your head at night. I WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deadlydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Below is a list of problems (all documented with photos!) with the Woogo apartment we rented in Chelsea in Manhattan. It shows blatant disregard of the apartment's functionality, upkeep, and even potentially, resident safety:

* The tub filled up with putrid water and did not drain after use. In addition, there appeared to be no overflow cap at the rear of the tub, instead an unfinished and unattractive and vacant hole was present.
* The towel bar in the full bath appeared to have been broken off - the cleats were present, but no bar.
* The door to the bedroom nearest the front door was held on by only one of three sets of hinges. The other two sets of hinges were hanging loose and no longer attached to the door jam.
* The toilet seat in the half bath was cracked completely through. One person in our party received a painful pinch and was actually bruised when she sat on it, because her weight caused the gap in the wood to open, which then closed on her skin when she shifted her weight!
* Exposed electrical wires were dangling beneath the cabinetry at three different locations in the kitchen where under-counter lighting should have been or perhaps was intended for future installation. In two out of three instances the wires were capped, but the third had none. I am hopeful that these were not "live" wires, but I was not about to touch them to find out!
* Instead of an overhead light in the bedroom closest to the front door, there was a hole and more exposed and capped wires where a ceiling light should have been or perhaps once was.
* The apartment had areas of significant wear and tear beyond that which would be considered acceptable for an accommodation of this price. Paint was flaking off in large areas around pull areas of closet doors. Numerous scuff marks were present in every room and the place appeared to be in great need of fresh paint.
* The closet that contained the heating/cooling machinery was in a closet in a bedroom and not only was unlocked/accessible, but had the remnants of where a latch/lock formerly had been but had fallen or been broken off.

The accommodations were so unacceptable that we had to leave after 1 night because they did not even satisfy our very basic needs (i.e., functional shower), and furthermore the entire process usurped at least 4 hours of our first morning in NYC as we negotiated with staff and looked for last-minute accommodation elsewhere. Disastrous!

Insult to injury - they still charged us the full rate for our 1 nite stay AND are adding an additional cancellation fee equivalent to a 2nd nite stay (over $1200 total!). We are in the process of refuting this but have not had any success yet!!

These guys are crooks!

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JordieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#352 of 467 in New York City
279 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#370 of 467 in New York City
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4,973 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
3,612 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woogo - Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woogo - Central Park

Property: Woogo - Central Park
Address: 240 W 73rd St, New York City, NY 10023-2700 (Formerly YourStay Central Park)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woogo - Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upper west side - one of Manhattans most desirable residential neighborhoods. This luxury building has just been totally renovated with top amenities & high standards. Walking distance from Lincoln center & central Park, this building has variety of Facilities to offer. It is home to wonderful shopping and a variety of fabulous restaurants. Within a few blocks from The Museum of Natural History, Lincoln Center, Movie theaters, Central Park and Riverside Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Woogo - Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woogo - Central Park Hotel New York City
Woogo Central Park Tempo Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing