We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, really nice house, and very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, really nice house, and very convenient”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

There were four of us. We felt so much like the girls in Sex and the City. The bed and breakfast is in a really nice location. Mid Upper East and it is about a 5 minute walk to the 96th street #6 line of the MTA. The #6 is so convenient to travel to soho, canal st. St. Marks Place (nightlife scene) and of course Time Square.
The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The design of the rooms are of Victorian Era. Very classy. It is a 2 minute walk to Central Park by the Jacqueline Kennedy's Reservoir. There are many classy, but expensive restaurants around the area. Overall a great place to stay. They make it more homey by having baked cookies in a cookie jar out in the front table for guests to take and they were really good!

I would definitely come back. However, I wish there were actually breakfast at the bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    61
    17
    19
    12
See reviews for
41
56
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kag0810
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband booked the room on the internet and we found it to be a horrible experience.
The location is great and the lobby is very nice but the room was smaller than most rooms in Paris sor London. My husband is 6 foot and his feet would dangle over the bed. The room itself was so small I am petite and could barely go between the bed and the wall to get to the bathroom. You literally had NO space - the room fit a queen bed a bedside table that had a refrigerator under it and that was it! there was no room for your luggage. The closet was bedside the bedside table and was a cut out closet- very small and fit 4 pieces to hang. It was clean but that is as far as I will go. The bathroom was similar to European bath- barely one person could fit in it.

Room Tip: Only if you are looking for a location- and you know you will only be in your room to sleep is this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin_Hankin, Manager at Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
The room is exactly as advertized, and is clearly described on our web page, with pictures included (it is the Irene Suite). The room she stayed in rents for $100 per night. That's rightm $100. For $100 per night in the Carnegie Hill district of Manhattan, you get a small room with a Queen sized bed and it is a fantastic deal- do the most cursory check of hotel rates in our area and you will agree. We have big, beautiful rooms with King Sized beds that rent for $240 per night. I find this complaint to be utterly ludicrous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This well priced a(for NYC) accommodation is in a great location near Central Park on 93rd streeet, two floors up in a beautiful brownstone. Unfortunately there were problems with the Cecilia suite. One, with no way to control the heat (we did get permission to put a blanket on the radiator), we had to open the window. For someone like me who is a light sleeper and NYC is not a good place to sleep with a window open. Two, it would be nice to have decent pillows, the pillows were all really flat. The bed was very firm, you could feel the springs and of cheap quality. The room has great potential, but could use updating.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor and ask if there are issues with the heat as in the Cecilia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runbikehike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Our family stayed in the Madeline and Fox Suites.

PROS: Spacious, roomy and comfortable. Safe, quite neighborhood. Close to the park and museums. A few blocks from restaurants, markets, subway, etc. Robin responded to all emails and questions, greeted us on arrival, and helped carry our bags. Strong WIFI signal and all premium channels. Plenty of clean towels and bedding. Affordable upper east side brownstone living experience.

CONS: We were unable to control the heat. The Fox was too hot, the Madeline cold with a very noisy radiator. Even though the bathroom fixtures are old and unique, they didn't seem to be properly cleaned or sanitized. Gunk buildup around the shower door, etc.

NEUTRAL: The website states fully renovated, but that probably happened in the 1940s. The microwave/mini fridge/coffee maker were located in closets with power strips. The decor was mis-matched. If you get takeout, make sure you get your own utensils and plates, as there weren't any in the suites.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank pjalmttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed not in the main location, but in a studio they have on the 87th st. It is an amazing bargain - for around USD 100 you get a full studio apartment with a kitchenette and even window AC in a nice safe and convenient neighborhood. Of course the apartment is pretty old - but thats NYC...

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank a z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Thank you, very nice place to stay. Close to the everything and very convenient : Russian Embassy, Central Park entrance on the 90th street , Metropolitan Museum and bus #4 takes you to the Time Square. We will be back .
Marina.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent 3 nights at the beginning of July and we had a great time. Our room had a shared bathroom and was located on the 4th floor. We have found everything nice, clean and comfortable. The location is also great, a few steps from Central Park and close to the subway. All considered (cost of the room, location, cool old building) it is a great deal, and we would surely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScienCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Upper Yorkville Suites
#42 of 75 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18 E 93rd St, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128-0634
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanently closed. Thank you for the many great years! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stay The Night Inc. Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing