We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you are looking for a modern, sterile hotel room, Stay the Night is not for you. If you are looking for genuine old world NY charm, then it's definitely for you. Amazing location on the upper east side, steps from Central Park. The property has been subdivided into a number of apartments (ours was the Madeline Suite), each retaining the furnishings and character of another time. Makes you feel as if you are living as a wealthy New Yorker in the 1930s. Comfortable, private (we didn’t see any of the other guests during our 4 day stay), with an elegance of a time gone by. Robin was an unobtrusive host, but readily available if needed. Big living/sleeping area; small area for microwave, fridge, and drip-filtered coffee; big bathroom with toilet, shower, and bath tub. Close to shops, subway (96th and Lexington), and retaurants (Sarabeth's on Madison between 93rd and 92nd was great; their Warm Raspberry Bread Pudding might sound a bit mundane, but it was the best dessert we have ever eaten).

And after all that, it's inexpensive by NY standards. Stay the Night rocks! Thoroughly recommended and definitely our first choice for next visit to New York.

Room Tip: Madeline Suite had a King size bed and an inflatable Queen (it was very easy to inflate and actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a great b&b in a lovely area of New York. Really quiet which meant no traffic or noise in a safe neighborhood but also close enough to all the action the city has to offer!
The room (Lorraine suite) we stayed in was spacious and most importantly very clean!
I would definite recommend Stay the Night to anybody who is traveling to New York and wants to find somewhere reasonable, quiet, safe and something different!
Will certainly return (hopefully soon!!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClodaghBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Fantastic place to stay, not too far from Times Square, nice quiet surroundings and a beautiful area which me and my fiancée loved to bits, I recommend this place for anyone who is looking for a great, affordable place with a brilliant owner, this is the first place I'd choose when going to New York.

Room Tip: We stayed in the very top suite, air con, coffee, ironing board, iron, double bed all included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have family on the Upper East Side of NYC - finding a place at a reasonable cost for two families is hard to find in that area. Stay the Night was convenient and reasonably priced, and roomy. Our families had the Barnes and Madeline suites on the second floor, and plenty of room, one with one of the inflatable beds in use. Lots of floor space so that the toddler that was with us could spread out and play and the adults weren't crowded out.

Close to 5th Ave and all the museums and Central Park. Madison Avenue and a variety of restaurants/bistros etc are around the corner. room has a mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, dishes, if you want to eat in.

We will keep this in mind when we go to the city again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed in the Cecilia Suite on the third floor. On a previous trip, we had stayed at a large "suite style" hotel near Times Square. Both of us preferred Stay the Night. Instead of staying at a hotel, we felt more like we were in a home. Our room was large, clean, and well appointed. Although it lacked the high style and pristine accommodations of a Time Square hotel, it was still an incredible place to stay. Located on a quiet and safe street, it is an excellent place to "get away from it all". Robin and Kevin, the caretakers, went out of their way to ensure that our stay was well above par (try getting that in a hotel for less than $400 a night!).
We also appreciated the ammenities that were made available for our use: electric kettle, full-size coffee maker, full set of dishes, utensils, corkscrews, microwave, refrigerator, television, and cleaning supplies. In addition, there was a plethora of fluffy towels.
Although the nearest place to catch the subway is at 96th and Lexington, the walk is quite pleasant. If you are traveling with children, there is an excellent neighborhood playground with sprinklers located near the entrance. There are bus stops less than a block away from the inn on 5th Avenue.
Overall, our stay was excellent. The inn itself is not perfect. the room could use a new coat of paint and the bathroom needs some minor cosmetic work; however, I would not allow those things to deter anyone from booking a reservation. It is an excellent place to stay and I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our family of five needed a place to stay that didn't cost an arm and a leg, and was legal in NYC. I'd checked out apartments first, till I discovered they are illegal to rent in NYC.

We stayed five nights in the Mackenzie Suite, on the fourth floor. The layout was almost exactly the same as friends had 30 years ago on the upper west side. A small bedroom, a living area w/fireplace, a kitchen (including dishwasher) and a bath.

Robin, the on-sight manager was most helpful - even allowed us to leave our luggage the last day after we'd checked out.

The interior is full of character, but not modern and all matching. If you like a hotel, this isn't for you. If you want to stay in a "real" NYC neighborhood, at inexpensive (for NYC) rates, stay the night.

The subway was 3 1/2 blocks away, the bus only 1 block away. The place is quiet, as is the neighborhood, and clean.

Some complaints have been made that there isn't breakfast at this B & B. Seriously folks? We picked up food at the neighborhood grocery, there was coffee and filters in the kitchen and we were fine. Cookies and microwave popcorn in the lobby if you wanted a treat.

Only negatives: three flights up after a day of sight seeing is a lot...good way to stay in shape thought. Also, the wireless signal wasn't strong away from the door - may have been because we were on the top floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pastorjoene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We needed a place near Mt Sinai and this was very close.

It felt more like staying in a friend's guest room than a hotel. The internet was fast and the wireless signal was strong, the TV was hooked up to actual Time Warner cable with premium channels and a built in channel guide and the TV was modern and good sized.

The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and the temperature was fine.

The room was a little larger than I expected.

Things looked slightly shop-worn, but not in disrepair. Like I said, it was like staying in someone's home, not a cookie cutter Fairfield Inn.

Our room had a nice balcony, a large mini-fridge (if that makes sense) and a microwave.

The shower had plenty of water pressure and hot water. No problems there. There were dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and body wash. I really prefer this set up to dealing with tiny bars of soap.

Towels were absorbent and smelled good. Not the bleach-y smell that some chains have.

Yes, there is no breakfast, but that is not kept a secret. Not sure why other reviews gripe about that.

I know all the rooms were booked that night, but we never heard a peep from anyone.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank ArgyleJoshTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#213 of 469 in New York City
795 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 79 in New York City
616 reviews
Harlem
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 79 in New York City
65 reviews
Harlem
The International Cozy Inn
The International Cozy Inn
#24 of 79 in New York City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 E 93rd St, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128-0634
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £64 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanently closed. Thank you for the many great years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay The Night Inc. Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing