We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Spent five nights at Stay the Night in the one bedroom apartment (MacKenzie Suite). There were three of us, adult couple and a 16 year old, and the apartment served us very well for our stay. It is on the 4th floor in a lovely old building. We were aware of the stairs beforehand so no issue. The apartment is well fitted out and very light and homely (although a bit tired around the edges) and like most places in NY, includes free wi-fi. Although a bit noisy at night if you open the windows (to be expected in NYC) the neighbourhood was very safe and we found the location to be very convenient...1 minute to Central Park, an easy walk to the Guggenheim and Met Museum of Art, lots of nearby restaurants and a grocery store, and a short walk to the subway. Several times we walked into the city through Central Park as an alternative to the subway / buses. I would definitely recommend Stay the Night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaynesWorld54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    61
    17
    19
    12
See reviews for
41
56
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed for one night after a business meeting and found this to be a gem! My room was large, the bathroom was also large and modern, lots of charm and located on a quiet street. Very close to museums and in a great neighborhood for local shops and a variety of restaurants. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Hhenry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you are looking for a modern, sterile hotel room, Stay the Night is not for you. If you are looking for genuine old world NY charm, then it's definitely for you. Amazing location on the upper east side, steps from Central Park. The property has been subdivided into a number of apartments (ours was the Madeline Suite), each retaining the furnishings and character of another time. Makes you feel as if you are living as a wealthy New Yorker in the 1930s. Comfortable, private (we didn’t see any of the other guests during our 4 day stay), with an elegance of a time gone by. Robin was an unobtrusive host, but readily available if needed. Big living/sleeping area; small area for microwave, fridge, and drip-filtered coffee; big bathroom with toilet, shower, and bath tub. Close to shops, subway (96th and Lexington), and retaurants (Sarabeth's on Madison between 93rd and 92nd was great; their Warm Raspberry Bread Pudding might sound a bit mundane, but it was the best dessert we have ever eaten).

And after all that, it's inexpensive by NY standards. Stay the Night rocks! Thoroughly recommended and definitely our first choice for next visit to New York.

Room Tip: Madeline Suite had a King size bed and an inflatable Queen (it was very easy to inflate and actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a great b&b in a lovely area of New York. Really quiet which meant no traffic or noise in a safe neighborhood but also close enough to all the action the city has to offer!
The room (Lorraine suite) we stayed in was spacious and most importantly very clean!
I would definite recommend Stay the Night to anybody who is traveling to New York and wants to find somewhere reasonable, quiet, safe and something different!
Will certainly return (hopefully soon!!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClodaghBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irishtown, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Fantastic place to stay, not too far from Times Square, nice quiet surroundings and a beautiful area which me and my fiancée loved to bits, I recommend this place for anyone who is looking for a great, affordable place with a brilliant owner, this is the first place I'd choose when going to New York.

Room Tip: We stayed in the very top suite, air con, coffee, ironing board, iron, double bed all included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have family on the Upper East Side of NYC - finding a place at a reasonable cost for two families is hard to find in that area. Stay the Night was convenient and reasonably priced, and roomy. Our families had the Barnes and Madeline suites on the second floor, and plenty of room, one with one of the inflatable beds in use. Lots of floor space so that the toddler that was with us could spread out and play and the adults weren't crowded out.

Close to 5th Ave and all the museums and Central Park. Madison Avenue and a variety of restaurants/bistros etc are around the corner. room has a mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, dishes, if you want to eat in.

We will keep this in mind when we go to the city again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed in the Cecilia Suite on the third floor. On a previous trip, we had stayed at a large "suite style" hotel near Times Square. Both of us preferred Stay the Night. Instead of staying at a hotel, we felt more like we were in a home. Our room was large, clean, and well appointed. Although it lacked the high style and pristine accommodations of a Time Square hotel, it was still an incredible place to stay. Located on a quiet and safe street, it is an excellent place to "get away from it all". Robin and Kevin, the caretakers, went out of their way to ensure that our stay was well above par (try getting that in a hotel for less than $400 a night!).
We also appreciated the ammenities that were made available for our use: electric kettle, full-size coffee maker, full set of dishes, utensils, corkscrews, microwave, refrigerator, television, and cleaning supplies. In addition, there was a plethora of fluffy towels.
Although the nearest place to catch the subway is at 96th and Lexington, the walk is quite pleasant. If you are traveling with children, there is an excellent neighborhood playground with sprinklers located near the entrance. There are bus stops less than a block away from the inn on 5th Avenue.
Overall, our stay was excellent. The inn itself is not perfect. the room could use a new coat of paint and the bathroom needs some minor cosmetic work; however, I would not allow those things to deter anyone from booking a reservation. It is an excellent place to stay and I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#260 of 468 in New York City
728 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#384 of 468 in New York City
697 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#174 of 468 in New York City
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#281 of 468 in New York City
820 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#72 of 468 in New York City
1,833 reviews
Upper Yorkville Suites
#41 of 77 in New York City
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18 E 93rd St, Between 5th Ave. and Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10128-0634
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanently closed. Thank you for the many great years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Stay the Night Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay The Night Inc. Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing