We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desirable members' club maybe. Good hotel, no.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soho House New York
Ranked #308 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Desirable members' club maybe. Good hotel, no.”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The Soho Group's Babington House hotel is excellent, so tried their New York outpost recently - It was a big disappointment.

The narrow reception is dark, as is the whole hotel, including the landings, corridors and the restaurant/bar. The rooftop, including the pool (one of the main reasons I went there) was closed, though this had not been flagged on the website. Staff were fine - chirpy and friendly.

The room was small and the furnishings old. The eclectic style might have worked when the hotel launched, but it is jarring and faded now. The media system was so complex it needed multiple instruction booklets, which all warned that if you have problems, call a member of staff. In the end, I had to do that – to make the TV work.

The place is also noisy – heard people clearly in the corridor and from a party in a nearby room until very late.

Although the Meatpacking location is quite cool - especially if you are a Sex in the City fan - the rooms have no view to speak of. The bar/restaurant is dark - good for night time when it buzzes with a hip media crowd. But it’s too dark and dingy during the day.

Getting into Soho House (a private members' club) is regarded as cool. It’s that exclusivity and the associated celebs that give this place its cachet (cf the reviewer excited that J-Lo stayed there).

So unless you think it’s really, really fab to stay at Soho House, then I’d try one of the much newer hotels downtown – eg. Mondrian, James, Crosby Street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jafarcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDourneau, General Manager at Soho House New York, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Dear Jafarcake,

Thank you for your comments, and we appreciate you staying with us at Soho House New York. I'm glad you enjoyed our staff, the atmosphere and crowd (during the evening), and the location.

I do appreciate your feedback on the rooms. While the size of the rooms is usually one of the highlights we hear from guests, I'm sorry this was not the case for you. All of our bedrooms are uniquely designed, of which no two are alike and we would be happy to have our staff give a quick tour of the rooms for your next time with us so you can choose one to your liking.

Additonally, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our bedrooms, alongwith the Drawing Room, Bar, and Restaurant. We started with the Roof- and unveiled a completely refurbished Roof this Spring. The Roof is always open- but it in terms of service and the pool- it is open depending on the weather.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon- and would love to have you return. Don't hesitate to contact me directly with any questions or concerns.

Best wishes,
Pierre Dourneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    43
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
22
97
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Best hôtel in ny. Not cheap but worth the spend.best roof pool and aperitivo in thé city.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorikketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Where to start? The bedroom was not a bedroom. More like a loft. The only way to enjoy NYC. The staff are friendly, the food is excellent. The room service divine. I loved the Cow Shed Spa. Great steam room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwoodhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stayed here with a girlfriend in match for a five day city break and what can I say??? We are regulars to NYC going each year, but this is the first time we stayed in the infamous soho house and will definately return later in the year. The location was fantasticpastis and the gaslight etc. Staff were friendly and accommodating to us and even kept our excess luggage when we went to Florida for a few days. Chic trendy bar, cow shed spa is a must visit.
What can I say about the room except ive never stayed in nicer! Absolutely massive! Had every amenity under the sun! Loads of products and a full stacked kit of essentials eg band aids etc which was very helpful!! J-lo stayed in our play house apparently before we arrived. This hotel is a must!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highheeledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Soho House in New York in 2007 (I proposed there). This was our first trip back.

It remains a great hotel. The best thing about it is the location - the Meatpacking District is perfect if you're looking to socialise and shop. We also loved using the pool.

The only points of caution are: (i) because its a members' bar, it gets really busy (this can be a positive as it can add to the "buzz" of the place; and, (ii) being in the centre of the Meatpacking District means that it is pretty noisy until very late (there seemed to be a never ending line of limos picking up from the Gansevoort across the way at about 2.30am).

So long as you're not looking for pure R&R, this remains an ideal hotel for having a fun stay in New York.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Despite the small place, I liked how clean this place was. Great concierge service. The bar is awesome and the staff members very professional.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronertm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Really not a high end hotel ; rooms are small and old fashionned, very poor service, desorganized. Unable to transfer a call coming from outside. Small and disapointing swiming pool... for a very high end price

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House New York

Property: Soho House New York
Address: 29 - 35 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10014
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan , Meatpacking District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho House New York 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Soho House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House New York Hotel New York City
Soho New York City
Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing