We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love this property and the people who work there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soho House New York
Ranked #325 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

i stay at the soho house regularly. the property is already first rate but continues to improve: lemons and limes in the room....a cart with a bartender in the evening where you can get a fresh drink made at your room....nightly fun and interesting events...and mostly a staff which really cares about making the experience unforgettable.

i give particular praise to the professionals at the front desk. the soho house is a club where membership is checked upon arrival. its also a boutique hotel. its also a place where meetings and events take place. in addition, members can invite guests to meet them. all of this activity converges at the front desk!

in a friendly, professional, accommodating way, the staff at the front desk are the keepers of the gate. glennon (the first rate manager) is also part of this. this is a hard job, and i am always amazed but how they keep the traffic flowing. what some other reviewers have mistakenly taken as rudeness is actually the employees at the front desk trying to insure that members and guests have a first rate visit with other members and guests.

when i arrive at the soho house, the people at the front desk are always friendly, helpful, curious about my day, and offering to help me with any needs i may have. this is all one can hope for in a club/boutique hotel. i for one always feel like im home when i get to the soho house, and this is in large part due to pia, olivia, johnny, glennon (of course), and the others who are so attentive and professional.

i continue to heartily recommend this unique wonderful property to all.

Room Tip: breakfast buffet and weekend buffet are each amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This place exceeded my expectations! The beds were clean, room spacious and friendly staff. I especially liked the dining area. Beautiful roof top pool for relaxation. I would recommend this hotel in a flash to any one looking for a relaxing getaway.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Baruchgotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights here and had high expectations...thankfully we weren't disappointed. The service was amazing and the rooms were huge! Pretty impressive when you consider the size of most other NY hotels (even the premium ones). We spent most our time sunning ourselves by the rooftop pool and even joined in with the 4th of July celebrations. Excellent fun, but the bartender was right, you can't see the flippin fireworks from there! We were warned.

The overall vibe of the place is just what you'd hope for. Unpretentious, high quality and a little bit like a home from home thank's to all the subtle efforts made to encourage you to put your feet up. It might be pricey, but in our experience it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I am a member of the Soho house group.
This is one of my favorite hotels of the bunch. I was surprised to see they had done a pretty extensive renovation on the rooms. They look VERY different, but very nice.
Excellent/beautiful roof top pool/bar/dining area.
Club level restaurant and bar has a GREAT vibe. Friendly personnel.
We had an "accident" there and management responded quickly and resolved issue.
Will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booyaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I went to New York on a 'girls trip' in September and chose Soho House as I was familiar with the franchise from living in London in the 90's and had stayed at the Chiswick residence a few years ago. I liked that we could have access to the club, which for non-models over 40, was a great guarantee to have during fashion week, when anywhere glam or cool was going to be tough to get into. The english low-key approach to style is evident throughout, in the people and place. The pool was great as the weather was warm and attracts a fun to watch, gorgeous crowd. Loved the complimentary drinks trolley at the door each day, and the margaritas were perfect to get the night started. The room was small as expected, but perfectly comfy for a city where you don't really want to be in the room. Beds nice, internet fast and free, Cow Shed products generously provided for the stay. My friend had a large room and it was amazing. Really big, suite-like, decadently decorated and amazing value for around $850 a night. Both rooms were super quiet in a really noisy neighborhood, so whatever they've done to the windows, it works. Food was really nice without being a feature of the venue. Things like cinema showings and rooftop events were excellent. Most of the staff were nice - one officious chap at the front sometimes made an unfriendly appearance, but most of the reception staff were just delightful and really helpful. No complaints about any of the bar/restaurant staff. To be honest, I think you want to feel good about yourself and how you look, because it's a good looking place and 'sceney'. I love this, a nice juxtaposition for my usual suburban life and a chance to play pretend - but If you're more comfortable wearing the first thing you find on the floor, or like to pack light for travel, it's probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essdee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The best part of Soho House is the access you get to all the private club facilities. An amazing day spa (Brad is anincredible masseur); sensational rooftop pool (not huge though) with uber cool lounge, restaurant, bar area; huge internal club room- restaurant, bar, lounge with live music etc. There is nothing better than indulging in these facilities after a day exploring Manhattan. And the food is great and incredibly well priced. The medium room is well sized with all the amenities you'd expect. The rooms are just a little on the dark side but we had great views from our room. Overall this is the perfect place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hôtel as a accompany guest for two nights in July AND everything was great from the restaurant to the front desk ... the last comments dont seem to be really fair, I had the opportunity to interact few times with the French lady and except the fact that she seems quiete busy, she was always really friendly, helpful with our request and overall very sweet ... I guess that the French style can not please everyone but let me tell you that a french touch in NY is simple great .. I do recommend this hotel for the very comfortables room , great service, great pool and great people!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,854 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#155 of 470 in New York City
2,922 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#178 of 470 in New York City
1,445 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#103 of 470 in New York City
1,041 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#134 of 470 in New York City
3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House New York

Address: 29 - 35 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10014
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan , Meatpacking District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £206 - £860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho House New York 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Soho House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House New York Hotel New York City
Soho New York City
Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing