We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and so new yoik!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soho House New York
Ranked #325 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Anyone who has seen the dreadful acting of Geri Halliwell in that 'Sex and the City' episode you would no doubt have seen Soho House New York where Ms. Halliwell tells samantha about how brilliant it is, well sad to say, that was the only thing convincing about her performance. Yes, Soho House is brilliant it is so 'New York' you wont believe, the service was impeccable and the rooms were spacious and really individual, vintage furniture rubbed shoulders with the modern. Great sound system, and an oversized bath freestanding in the middle of the room were also one of the highlights. The location is also ideal, slap bang in the middle of the meatpacking district with greenwich village in walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kingsleypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2009

From the moment we called to book the a room at the soho house it was incredible. There rate was different then a rate we saw online, and instead of arguing, they said the customer was always right and gave us the competitve rate. I was having a few girlfriends stay the night for my birthday, and I am100 % sure I chose the right place. I booked the playground and the room right below that, and both were incredibly huge! There was also such a great attention to detail within the room. From the mini bar, to DVDs, and bathroom products, to the draw filled with games...

My girlfriends and I literally walked into these rooms and squeeled. It was so fun, and very different, and when more people came up to have drinks with us, the front desk was very friendly. ( i was nervouse that since it was a private club they might be weird about it) We got a noise complaint, but the staff was very kid about it. I cant stress the staffs eagerness to please. I have stayed in a nuber of 5 star NYC hotels, and this was had a special something that will keep me coming back on future stays.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank britts1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

stayed here for my honeymoon last july (2008). The spa was fantastic and I had the best back massage I have ever had, also the cowshed products are lovely, but beware that anything you use in the room will be charged for. The attention to detail and location were both excellent and the roof-top bar was very fashionable, and had great views.
However, the concierge staff were hopeless and not particularly enthusiastic and the roof-top pool is far too small! Food was good but certainly not exceptional. Go for the trendy factor, the shopping location and the spa. Not particulaly romantic either. A 4 star.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LondonBrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Great Hotel. I've stayed there about 4 times now and will keep coming back. Stunning decor and wonderful service, this is a perfect hotel. Unfortunately as its so good sometimes it gets fully booked! Sadly this summer I couldn't get in and ended up at The Roosevelt hotel (don't stay there people, its a dive!). I will make sure I stick to the Soho House only in future!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sav21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Stayed here for 5 nights . Overall - a great place to stay.

Playhouse Room was v.good ,very spacious ,lots of nice features and furniture although starting to look a little tired .

Rooftop pool packed everyday with club members . Rooftop restaurant and bar very good with very helpful staff . Great Mojitos.

Excellent location - surrounded by bars ,restaurants and clubs . Area is busy until 4.00/5.00AM

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LC36LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

During a recent trip to New York, my boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Soho House, followed by three at the Mercer. Whilst our experience at the Mercer was nothing short of fantastic, our feelings towards the Soho House were somewhat mixed.

Beginning with the positive;

Rooms - we stayed in one of the Playhouse rooms which was beautiful and spacious. Loved the huge ornate bed, chandelier, egg shaped bath, french-style wardrobe, the selection of goodies in the living area and spacious bathroom with full size Cowshed products!

Cowshed spa - beautiful and relaxing - treatments excellent!

Location - very funky, loads going on. Great shops; Diane Von Furstenburg/Stella McCartney/La Perla. Great restaurants; Fig & Olive on West 13th Street was particularly good. Great Bars; Spice Market/Pastis/some outdoor garden one.

And the not so great;

Service - insincere and pretentious for the most part. Constant vying for tips became extremely irritating. Staff should not be allowed to stand in front of you and wait for their tip! Guests were rushed out of the breakfast area on one occasion due to a photo shoot!

Roof top pool - disappointing - not how I imagined. Small, crowed, horrible white furniture - certainly not the hip space shown on the website

On the whole, our stay at the Soho House was good, but not great. With better trained staff, this place could be so much better!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

off all the places to stay in new york the meatpackers district is the place to be. atmospheric, although rapid property development means the area is losing some of its character, packed with fab shops and restaurants and pretty cobbled streets. Of the 2 hotels in the district soho house is definetly funckier than its neighbour hotel gansevoort. The hotel decor, quality of rooms and location can not be faulted. The only disapointment was the food an evening meal in the restaurant was really poor, although they did quickly take the meal off the bill. We decided not to eat there again but the choice of restaurants in the area makes up for it. Florent, Pastis, Budakkan, Spice Market and Budda Bar are all within staggering distance off the hotel For a real sex in the city experience just around the corner magnolia bakery and carries house on Perry street are worth checkin out. There is only one problem with the hotel and thats the noise. The double glazing and the sound proofing is pants. We arrived jetlagged on a saturday and went to bed at 11pm 5 hours later we were still trying to sleep as the sound of traffic, horns and revellers invaded our room, pergatory! Noise in the hotel is not much better, doors slamming and you can here other people rattling aroung in their rooms.
The staff were not very sympathetic about the issue. Its a real shame as we spent most of our day feeling exhausted from lack of sleep. sleep in the city, no chance

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,854 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#155 of 470 in New York City
2,922 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#178 of 470 in New York City
1,445 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#103 of 470 in New York City
1,041 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#134 of 470 in New York City
3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House New York

Address: 29 - 35 Ninth Avenue, New York City, NY 10014
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan , Meatpacking District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £206 - £860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho House New York 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Soho House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House New York Hotel New York City
Soho New York City
Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing