We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My walk in closet is bigger than the room we got”
Review of SoHo Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SoHo Garden Hotel
Ranked #375 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I can not believe this hotel has 3 stars. We had the smallest and most expensive hotel we have ever had in NY. There is no place for your clothes and no room on the floor for an open suitcase. How can that be called a deluxe room? The cleaning during our stay was non-existing. Only positive thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

TriBeCa Blu is a no-fuss hotel on Canal street. So not having room service, a mini-fridge, or cable didn't bother me. The rooms are tiny as well, but it was just me so that wasn't the end of the world.

The disconcerting incidents came when I learned that they regulate the air temperature and you can't adjust it. It was set at 77 in November which was very warm. The room did have a window, which I had to open for air flow, but then I heard the street noise all night.

The tipping point was when I called down for a taxi to the airport and the clerk said they charge a $25 fee to call a car. That and they charge 20% extra if you want to pay by credit card.

How ludicrous. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thirstytraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 October 2013

You know that when the hotel has earplugs with the hotelname on, ther is som noise in the room. All rooms front Canal street, which is noisy 24/7. Either sleep in the noise or bring/ask for earplugs.

The noisy street als means the location is interesting on the corner of Canal street/Broadway. Close to chinatown and little Italy and also walking dintance to downtown Manhatten and Soho. Metrostation is right outside the door.

The room was not spacious, but clean. Main problem was noise. Tha halls outside the room, need som maintanance.

Service was for the mort part very friendly. It's a small hotel, With only one in the reception most of the time. One of the 3-4 different People we met working at the reception, was not very friendly or helpful. A pity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rune S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Really nice hotel at a fair price for NYC. the location of the hotel is superb, you can get all over Manhatten and to Brooklyn and Williamsburg with the many subway lines that go from here. Within 3-4 minutes walk form the front of the hotel you are served by most of the main lines on manhattans Subway, great. Lots of great shopping just around the corner on Broadway, Prince Street, Mercer Street etc. Tribecas cool restaurants is just another 5 minutes walk in the other direction and little italy and little china just on your right when you leave the hotel. Loved the location!
Rooms were small, but hey, this is standard for a fair priced NYC hotel. They were modern, had a small coffee maker, big TV, lots of sockets to charge phones etc. It was clean and staff was friendly. ONLY downside, was the noise at night from Canal Street. We didn't know beforehand that Canal street is one of the main crossroads going from Holland tunnel to Brooklyn, which of course means lots of heavy traffic during the night. The new windows were unfortunately not soundproof, which made it a bit hard to sleep sometimes during the night. When this is said, I would still go back, because of the location and the prices versus quality. Next time I will bring my earplugs though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggybag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the more expensive corner King Room (apprx. $330 per night) - the facilities were good, nothing to complain about, BUT:

We were on the 3rd floor and at night the road noise from the outside was very loud. I've heard it's better if you stay higher up, so I specifically requested a room higher up when booking (months in advance!) but they told us it was unavailable when we arrived. Not cool. So don't count on that and bring your earplugs if you plan to stay here.

Location is good, close to metro and walking distance to major avenues and lower Manhattan, however the area itself is a bit shabby (Chinatown).

Overall not the best value for money but from what I understand it hardly gets better anywhere else in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, but don't count on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia_van_Bommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 473 in New York City
660 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#391 of 473 in New York City
35 reviews
The Ridge Hotel
#354 of 473 in New York City
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#399 of 473 in New York City
167 reviews
Chinatown
The Hotel 91
The Hotel 91
#332 of 473 in New York City
810 reviews
East Village
St. Marks Hotel
St. Marks Hotel
#416 of 473 in New York City
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Garden Hotel

Address: 276 Canal St, New York City, NY 10013-3517 (Formerly Tribeca Blu Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £79 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SoHo Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SoHo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing