We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, clean and good staff”
Review of SoHo Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SoHo Garden Hotel
Ranked #367 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Salerno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome location, clean and good staff”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I've been here last january. Location is very good - hey that's Broadway - rooms are quite big for NYC standards, and they were clean. Staff was very kind too - they helped us printing some stuff we needed and bathroom was simple but clean and quite big too.

The only downside is that Grand street is quite noisy so don't get here if you think you could wake up in the middle of the night because of some traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    177
    79
    35
    29
See reviews for
47
169
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The location is perfect in Chinatown with many nearby restaurants and the subway only steps away to take you anywhere in the City. Also, to Brooklyn, Queesn and the Bronx. The reception staff were very good. Cleaning service very good. Room 708 has a very comfortable bed, no noise from busy Canal Street with its heavy street traffic, trucks, cars and emergency vehicles. The room did not have a refrigerator and no control for the temperature. Two negatives. Without a control for the room's temperature it was very hot all the time. A refrigerator should be a must for hotel rooms so guests can purchase cold food and drinks from nearby grocery store and supermarket because Manhattan is very expensive to eat out all the time. The room and others without a refrigerator and control for the temperature need to be upgraded.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing Canal Street if you are a light sleeper or noise sensitive because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The room was tiny even by NYC standards. The thermostat was set on 79 and could not be changed. I spent all night opening the window to cool off and then closing it when it got too cold. The room was so small that to open and close the window, I had to stand on the bed. They had taken something off the wall and just left the torn up wallpaper in place. My room was supposedly a deluxe and the rate was $350/night, but you can do better in NYC especially in Tribeca. Anyway spend a little more and stay somewhere that's not a hovel. See my photos and consider whether you really want to spend $400 (after taxes) on this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank byryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We enjoyed our time at this hotel. The hotel is very easy to find. We used the details on there website and found it with no problem at all. The location was excellent we thought. Canal street tube station is on the hotels door step and this seems to be quite a main hub with many connections etc. good position between uptown and downtown, which made both accessible fairly quickly. We went to a Brooklyn nets game at the Barkley Center one night, on the way back we got the train as usual, we managed to pick a trail(luckily) that went direct to canal street and did not stop at any other stops on route! This was excellent service. Again, this back up why I think canal street must be a main hub for trains.

On arrival, the reception staff were very welcoming. We arrived early and weren't sure if our room would be available but it was so we were very pleased about that. The room was tiny as I'm sure you know from the rest of the reviews. The bedroom is very very small, it done ok though. There was nowhere to leave our bags etc so we were constantly living out of our suitcases and tripping over our stuff, which is quite annoying but hey, it's NYC!,the bathroom was adequate size- no complaints, it was small but had everything that you need and we could use everything comfortably. The room was very clean, no complaints at all.

The reception was manned 24 hrs and day and felt secure. We happily left our valuables in the hotel. We have been to other places before and would have a lot of trust in places. We stayed on the 3rd floor (I think) our room looked out on to canal street and there was not much notice heard from the street. We had excellent nights sleep.

Check out with the hotel went smoothly too, the staff were lovely. There were very nice and helped us out with maps / directions when we were leaving to go out each day.

The hotel is right beside china town - outside the hotel to the right about 500m. Soho is also a couple of blocks in front of the hotel which was ok for some shopping.

Hopefully, I return to NYC in the future and if I do I would most definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Yes canal street is noisy . I stayed on second floor and then fifth - higher definitely better. But with earplugs not a problem. The heating is strange and it's hot but we left our window open during the day and if the bathroom has a window that at night as well. We had a twin and there was a small wardrobe and we had two big cases open as well. Beds really comfy and bedding good. Perfect location to walk to soho , little Italy, Chinatown and financial district ( century 21 ). Seven 11 round corner for essentials and lots of other delis etc nearby. We asked re the airport and they were upfront re the car being more expensive but you get a local driver who avoids rush hour main routes . We got to jfk peak rush hour in under an hour. Overall we would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I can not believe this hotel has 3 stars. We had the smallest and most expensive hotel we have ever had in NY. There is no place for your clothes and no room on the floor for an open suitcase. How can that be called a deluxe room? The cleaning during our stay was non-existing. Only positive thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Pia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

TriBeCa Blu is a no-fuss hotel on Canal street. So not having room service, a mini-fridge, or cable didn't bother me. The rooms are tiny as well, but it was just me so that wasn't the end of the world.

The disconcerting incidents came when I learned that they regulate the air temperature and you can't adjust it. It was set at 77 in November which was very warm. The room did have a window, which I had to open for air flow, but then I heard the street noise all night.

The tipping point was when I called down for a taxi to the airport and the clerk said they charge a $25 fee to call a car. That and they charge 20% extra if you want to pay by credit card.

How ludicrous. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thirstytraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
#353 of 467 in New York City
111 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#424 of 467 in New York City
124 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#374 of 467 in New York City
267 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#413 of 467 in New York City
19 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoHo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Garden Hotel

Property: SoHo Garden Hotel
Address: 276 Canal St, New York City, NY 10013-3517 (Formerly Tribeca Blu Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SoHo Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SoHo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing