We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mosey on by”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Flaming Saddles

Flaming Saddles
Ranked #45 of 857 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mosey on by”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Met friends here for drinks on a Wednesday evening. Very mixed crowd, loud C&W music, pretty actors/bartenders dancing on the bar, $8. beers, no credits (really?!). With so many great gay bars from which to choose in NYC I think this place will be put down like a lame horse.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yeehaw!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

While traveling in NYC, went to about half a dozen gay bars and lounges. Flaming Saddles was one of the highlights. It is a low key country western bar in which the bartenders will do country dances on the bar. It makes for a fun atmosphere and the drinks are served on large mugs rather than small glasses. It was a lot of fun and had a good crowd and atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Straight group had lots of fun at a gay cowboy bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I mentioned to a friend that I was hitting the city this weekend with my wife, son and his girlfriend. December, so we wanted to hit the Christmas sites. He suggested stopping by the bar for a couple of drinks - he is one of the bartenders.

Always up for a good time and always willing to visit a local bar. We arrived at about 7, so it was not very crowded just yet, and we got seats up at the bar. Obviously, country/western music is playing throughout the night, and the bartenders get up on the bar quite often to do their boot stomping dances. Very fun stuff.

The bar started getting really crowded after a bit and it was a great place to people watch. All kinds of everyone there and it is a very friendly place. The bartenders are stopped by to talk to use and make us feel welcome.

We were full from dinner so did not try the frito pie, but I definitely will try it next time. They open the bag of fritos and add chili to it - you eat it right out of the bag. Sounds like fun!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_From_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for Locals and Visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I LOVE this place.....The Staff is super friendly and the drinks are strong and inexpensive. The JukeBox has a great selection of new and vintage C&W music.If you are looking for an unpretentious great bar in NYC...This is the place

PS. Have the Frito-Pie...You will be glad you did.........

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank davey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa ON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's Coyote Ugly for Gay men!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Uh... hard bodied young men doing line dances on the bar. Cheap beer. Fun times. Country music. What's not to like? It's like a bit o Vegas in NYC. Just go and have fun! You know you want to!

Helpful?
2 Thank kennetho9322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flaming Saddles also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Flaming Saddles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing