We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Irish Bar”

Nelly Spillane's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #4,353 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Phone number is 212-792-9673
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Irish Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stopped in Nelly's for breakfast and were immediately greated with "Hello Lads" from Mark, one of the proprietors of this fine establishment.
4 of us ordered our meals and were treated to a very friendly & accommodating staff not to mention an excellent breakfast at a resonable price.
The atmosphere was like the genuine article in Ireland and we WILL BE BACK!
Thanks Mark....we love your place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Solid!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have eaten here many times and ALWAYS have a pleasant experience. We sit in the back away from the bar crowd and it is wonderful to go to a pub and be able to hear yourself think. In the summer there are 2 tables near the street that are nice to sit at also. Servers are excellent, fast, efficient and friendly without trying to be your new best friend. Beer specials are very good - get there before 8 pm. I highly recommend the Chicken in Irish Curry Sauce - it's excellent! Restrooms are very clean and well maintained (thank you). A Yelp deal brought us here a while ago and we've been coming back ever since.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark_W_Griswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, good beer, great sports screens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I loved this place. We actually only knew about this place because of the Groupon voucher that we bought.. twice! We stayed in NYC 5 nights and had dinner here twice using the Groupon voucher. $25 for appetizer, two mains and a pitcher of beer. The atmosphere is relaxed but friendly. The food is really nice! The beer is good.. $16 for a pitcher of Bud Light. Can't go wrong!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThisUsernameIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big Mistake...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We ate their with a groupon that I purchased last month. I was looking forward to our meal & it certainly was not what I expected. The service was horrible--we sat there forever waiting to order, no drink refills until we were done with our meal, waiting on ketchup for my sons fries. We were done eating & sat waiting for our bill. I quickly gave my CC & sat & waited again.....I'm not sure if the service lacked since 18% gratuity is a given when using the Groupon. We certainly will not return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennyf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nelly Spillane's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nelly Spillane's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing