We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable, not terrible, but not great either”

YourStay MidTown Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
YourStay MidTown Apartments
Ranked #438 of 469 Hotels in New York City
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
16
Reviewed 25 June 2006

Check in was terrible. The front "deskman" was unprofessional and some other random person (who acted like he owned the hotel) was rude and quick tempered. We had to wait an hour for us to get our keys.

Also, when I complained about the late check in, the random guy quickly replied, "FINE, you want another hour to check out?" and that was that. How rude and ghetto, nothing seemed "official" I didn't sign anything...

The room was okay. Small, but good (it was just the 2 of us). Everything worked and was clean (I guess). Some problems getting towels... what's up with this hotel and their towel issues? Eventually, I just "stole" some from the dryers from the maids room/ janitors closet?

Another weird thing was that the hotel was a hotel/apartment. We encountered tenants on the ride up (elevator). And the pictures online didn't really justify the room... it was better than the room.

Overall, it would be okay if we got the same room. But reading the other reviews, I'm nervous. Oh, and it's a GREAT location.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2005

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Service was unavailable. The attitude when a question was asked was inappropriate.

There were not enough towels, soap, toilet paper or sheets. The pullout couch was so lumpy you could not sleep on it. The alarm clock and microwave did not work properly.

There was no dishsoap, sink in bathroom leaked. We never received a receipt to show what we paid and when we left the office was locked and there was no place to leave a key.

The phone number on the website is incorrect and when the office was told they were unable to locate the website to check this out.

The phone in the room kept getting calls for people other than us and they continued to leave messages.

If we had been able to get a refund we would have checked into another hotel where there were services.

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
18
Reviewed 14 September 2005

While this is a lovely location, beware of the nonexistent customer service. God forbid you ask for an extra towel or a clean sheet for your room--the front desk people will look as if they've never heard such a crazy request. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3 pm & we had to wait 1/2 an hour for it. Our kitchenette had roaches as well. To top it off, the blinds in the room weren't anchored & fell on my head! Needless to say, there was no sympathy for my bloodied head from the front desk or the national "customer care" number. Only the hardiest travelers should attempt this location . . .

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
14
Reviewed 27 August 2005

reading mixed reviews about this apartment/hotel, we were concerned about potential problems. When we arrived and saw the room, all was well. A large studio, modern decorations. Comfortable bed and pull out couch with comfortable and clean sheets and pillows. Basic but clean washroom and decent kitchen, also very clean with modern appliances. The studio room was very large and it easily accommodated us (3 good friends who were interested in shopping, gallery going etc. I think that it would be perfect for a family of four (but no larger). We may have lucked out and been assigned one of the better rooms (it was on the top floor of the apartment building). The check-in on the 2nd floor of the Herald Towers apartment building is a bit dodgy, but with the savings, if you're a relatively self sufficient person, that should not concern. The Herald Towers apartment building itself is quite decent and you feel like you're staying in a relatively upscale NYC apartment building (there is security at the entrance). All in all, a good experience. I would stay here in future but would still have reservations about getting a substandard room on another floor, (from reading the reviews).

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2005

Had some reservations about staying here from other reviews, however all such reservations evaporated the minute we entered the apartment. (19th floor) All clean and very acceptable, kitchenette with fridge, cooker and microwave, fully equipped. Lounge area great with tv/dvd. Seperate bathroom.We had two kids with us and got on just fine. Location unbeatable, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
California
16
Reviewed 6 July 2005

Before i left for my trip I didnt know what to expect by reading some of the reviews on here. I was actually rather scared. When we arrived we came across the fact that the check in desk isnt on the first floor its on some other floor. The hall ways were also stuffy. But when we got to our room it was nice and cool. We rented a one bedroom with living room and kitchen. It was nice. Its not a hotel but nice. It had dishes and silverware, a tv with dvd and vhs, and a radio. The bedroom bed was a bit hard but tolerable. But on the other hand the sofa bed was really uncomfortable. We even took out the matress and put it on the floor but the matress is uncomfortable. The locations is also very great! literally steps from the metro. I enjoyed to the place. Hope you do to!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
NY, NY
215
Reviewed 22 June 2005

We were forced to stay here during an emergency housing situation -- so we weren't tourists, and therefore thought we could put up with some of the items brought up in the lackluster reviews.

BIG MISTAKE

The place smelled of smoke, and everything had a slightly funky film on it. By the second night we were sleeping on top of the covers and using our own towels.

You know when you were 21 and didn't care where you passed out at 4AM? This is one of those places. Except here you are out $200 and you aren't heading back to the dorm the next day.

All of this would have been acceptable if the place was sold at "flop house pricing" -- but it isn't, and as its marketed, it's truly deceptive.

We ended leaving early and dropping another $250 a night for a CLEAN room. If we were here on a trip we would be incensed, but as we were locals we shrugged it off. Unless I was planning on jamming 5 frat brothers into a room and being blurry eyed all week (which from the looks of the other guests thats who stays here) I would avoid.

NOT WORTH IT. SMELLY AND UNKEMPT.

One good thing -- staff guys were pretty cool, and they kept and held our reservation as requested.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 469 in New York City
2,003 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,727 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
YOTEL New York
YOTEL New York
#133 of 469 in New York City
11,195 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
19,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YourStay MidTown Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YourStay MidTown Apartments

Address: 50 W 34th St, New York City, NY 10001-3097
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #438 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £75 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YourStay MidTown Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Yourstay Midtown Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing