We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POD PERFECTION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“POD PERFECTION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Returned to dreary Britain today after an incredible Thanksgiving week in New York City with friends.

This was my 5th visit to the city and I have previously stayed in some of the more 'historic' hotels that line the streets of Broadway and 7th Avenue, so for a change I decided to go for a slightly more modern and upbeat hotel. That is exactly what I got with the Pod 39.

Situated in the Upper East Side in the Murray Hill district, the Pod 39 is within walking distance to Grand Central Station (about 10 mintues), you can then hop onto the S train which runs backwards and forwards to Times Square, walking distance to 5th, 6th and Lexington Ave, which is fantastic as we where mainly there for the Black Friday sales and there are some fantastic diners and bars in the area, too. Not to mention the roof top terrace of the Pod itself. The bar wasn't open, but the terrace was lit up at night so it was nice to chill out at the end of a long day with a bottle of beer and watch the city. Views of the Empire State Building, Chrysler, East River and the rising Freedom Tower dominate the views.

I was in a party of 4 and we had two bunk rooms. One was slightly bigger than the other, but not by much. Alot of the reviews here state that the rooms are almost two small, I shared with a male friend and we're not the most tidy of people, but we still had space to move around (even with all of our shopping!).

The bathroom wasn't a problem, either. A glass sliding door with frosted glass in the middle, but dim the lights (using the dimmer) and you can't see a thing! It steamed up when the shower was on, anyway.

Bunk beds where comfy, had a great night sleep and each bed had it's own TV. There was also a unit with various input/outputs for AVI, USB, HDMI ect. I only made use of the USB to charge my camera/phone. There is also an electric safe in the room to store your important posessions.

Staff and house keeping where really friendly as was the entire concerige team. They booked us a car back to EWR at a cost of $77 which is cheaper than using the town car service provided by groundlink or the NYC Taxi service.

There's some slight building work going on downstairs, but it's out of the lobby and behind doors, so it wasn't a problem. Also a bar in the hotel, which I didn't make use of, but it looked really good. They also served breakfast, but we chose to dine at Scotty's Diner on Lexington which was one block away. If you eat here, get the French Toast, eggs, bacon and sausage. The enitre meal isn't on the menu, but ask for it. It's some of the best I've had during my time in NYC.

Overall, if you plan on travelling with friends or as a couple/solo, this hotel is perfect. I don't know if they have family rooms, I'd guess not, but don't be put off by what others are saying about room size/privacy ect. We had no problems at all. It's worth booking this hotel for the views from the top to be honest. Give it a go, you'll be back!

Room Tip: I've read reviews of noisy a/c units. I didn't notice it and we stayed on the 6th floor, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpsNYCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    1,451
    381
    72
    42
See reviews for
377
1,073
623
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

It was a nice hotel. Pod is an excellent name because the bunkrooms make you Peas in a pod. The bar was nice the spaces all seemed clean. Be good friends with anyone you travel with though because there isn't much privacy in the room. Did I mention a glass wall between the bathroom and the beds? The bathroom looks really nice but there wasn't any water pressure in the shower and you can't spread out your usual travel vanity items. If you don't plan to spend more than 6 hours at a time in the hotel sleeping and want something cheap for NYC, this is a great option.

Room Tip: It is fun that they have bunks if you have multiple singles sharing a room and not up to share a que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

My boyfriend and I were due to travel to New York and stay with friends, but due to Hurricane Sandy they were evacuated and we needed to arrange accommodation for 3 nights at very short notice. We booked a queen room, after reading reviews and were very pleased with our stay.

I think people need to ask themselves what they want from a hotel in NYC. We wanted somewhere safe for our belongings whilst were out all day sightseeing, somewhere close to the heart of the city, somewhere clean and comfortable to put our heads at night. And this is exactly what we got! Yes, the rooms are small, but they don't try to disguise this and all most people will use the room for is sleeping and showering, so how much space do you need in reality? We found Pod 39 to be clean, comfortable, nice furnishings, lovely bathroom. As we travelled out of season the roof top bar was closed but you could still go up there for amazing views.

This isn't the first hotel I've stayed in with a glass seperation instead of a door, it takes a bit of getting used to and will not be for everyone. Maybe not ideal for new couples, friends sharing, or those who need their privacy, but we laughed it off and got through it without too much embarrassment.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a late check in, and arrived a day late due to a cancelled flight due to bad weather in New York. We had booked the room for 3 nights but only ended up staying 2 due to missing the first night. We informed Pod 39 as soon as we were aware of this, and we were only charged for the 2 nigths we stayed, without even having to ask if this was possible. Every request we had (admitedly the usual requests such as pointing us in the direction of somewhere, stowing luggage after checking out) was met with a polite positive response and a smile. Very efficient and a pleasure to deal with, even when they were very busy.

The location is ideal, just a couple of blocks from Grand Central station and a short walk from the Empire State Building and other tourist sites.

I would recommend this hotel for individuals, couples, friends and business trips, but you probably only want to have a short stay. It might get a bit claustophobic if you stayed a week and like your space but it ticked all the boxes we had. I would definitely stay again and recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: If you have an unlimited budget and a choice of rooms available, go for the biggest you can get if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tools_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have traveled..a lot. I have been to Europe, third world countries, I have stayed at five star hotels and real dumps (upon necessity). These rooms are small! By any standard. Smaller than a cabin on a Russian river cruise boat. With that said, you will not find a hotel in midtown Manhattan with a private bathroom for a better price. So, if you want to save money on a hotel, this is the trade off. It's new, clean with friendly staff. The roof top bar is an amazing experience however the quality of drinks is better in the bar on the ground floor. Do check out the roof top bar anyway - it's worth the experience. The best part about this hotel is the location - close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here the week after Sandy for business for 2 nights. I am in NYC often and hate spending too much money for a room and not knowing what to expect. I booked here at $150 a night for 2 nights and knew what I was walking into. My room was small....but clean and had every amenity I would expect. Staff was friendly and the Bar downstairs was a nice spot for a beer. I was in Midtown so I was close to where I needed to be. I was by myself so the small size of the room was not a bother. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We needed a room in the city for a family member that was traveling out of JFK, I called just to make sure that there was a bathroom in the room and not a shared one. The deal seemed pretty good at $125.00 for two double beds but they definetly should of mentioned that the beds in the room were bunk beds! Luckily it was only for one night but I don't think many go to a hotel expecting bunk beds. We would of paid more for a different room or looked else where.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JoyceT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing