We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for short stay”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

staff were all very pleasant and helpful ...location is excellent this was my first time in New York so can't compare to other hotels etc.... after reading other reviews I was expecting a cramped room but was pleasantly surprised ... your holiday is what you make it will definately be staying here next time I visit

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra232414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,102 - 2,108 of 3,403 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

The first thing you notice is that the hotel is very anonymous. Which makes it difficult to notice. Perhaps that was due to scaffolding or something else but you need to keep your wits about you until you get your bearings. Entrance hall, great. Good reception area (with wifi) and excellent service from the receptionists. We were booked into a second floor room which proved (eventually) an ideal choice as we were there just after Hurricane Sandy and didn't have to worry about elevators (see other reviews). Didn't like the room at first as it had no views and was pretty hard to get our heads round the design - even though we had prepared ourselves for it after reading reviews here. Asked for a couple of alternative rooms but the place was very busy and we could either have a shoebox or something on the 17th(?) floor. Decided to keep the one we had. Nothing was too much trouble helping us decide.
Ok, as my wife told me on numerous occasions, the room could only have been designed by a MAN. Have to agree. (Except a man would have at least put the TV in the right place (see pics) - it was off centre and really annoying.) See the pic showing the room location for an idea of the overall design. Windows? Forget it, these were pretty much for show as we didn't particularly like looking up or down on others and at the back of another building. Keep those blinds closed - besides, they keep the heat in. Necessary when some idiot designed the A/C outlet to be right above the end of the bed you lay your head. What I mean by this is that unless the A/C is ON a small flow of cold air continually dribbles out and drops straight on to you. Nice in the summer maybe but not in winter. You can't have the A/C on all the time either as it's too noisy.
Moving on - BRING coathangers or better still a coat rail.- there are only two stupidly small pegs on the wall as you enter to hang stuff on. The idea is you live out of a suitcase but it just doesn't work if you intend staying more than a day. This aspect could be easily improved.
The bathroom area is special. You REALLY have to know who you're living with as there is absolutely no privacy - or soundproofing. No "first time together" holidays here - seriously. Glass sliding doors with big gaps??? Nah. No use. That will be a redesign sometime soon I bet. The sink was diabolical, there was not enough shelving to put toiletries on - a common hotel fault to be fair - and the toilet itself was designed for people with diminished stature (no offence intended). The drench shower was great, except when the electricity went out (thanks Sandy). And it leaked - no surprise there with the glasswork.

THE GOOD STUFF! - Love the Bar, the attention and the ambiance. The staff in general. Love the rooftop area - see photo taken from the Empire State Building(!) but they had closed the bar for the "season" - what is that about? What the heck is a season when the place is open for business???.
The location is just about perfect to get to anywhere, we walked New York. Plenty of bars, food and tourist stuff nearby. Highly recommend Docks Restaurant - reviewed with other stuff elsewhere.
Summary - if you can put up with the strangeness of it all and are looking for a reasonably priced, clean and fairly new hotel then go for it. You probably won't last long but that's not the deal in NYC.
(Stayed 11 Nov to 14 Nov 2012.)

Room Tip: See the picture of the floor plan.Single rooms are tiny rooms and cheap is not always good. Lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77akw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The rooms are cleverly designed and modern but there is no getting away from the fact that they are small. However as you are staying there to visit New York you are only in the room for overnight before up and out again to explore the City.
The reception staff were efficient and friendly. The rooms had free Wi Fi which was great. The only cause for concern was the frosted glass bathroom wall through which you could see everything, and I mean everything! The toilet must have been less than 5 feet from my bed! You cetrtainly need to know the person your sharing the room with! My wife and I laughed it off but I'm sure it might offend others.
The rooms were not that well insulated and we could hear the occupants of the adjoining room coming and going at all hours and talking.
The room was very clean and organised and the bathroom facilities were fine (except the galss wall).
The hotel location is brillaint just a five minute walk from Grand Central Station and even nearer to the express buses back to the airport!
All in all, the hotel is clean and basic but the rooms are cramped. I'm sure there are worse ones around. They kept our luggage free of charge after we checked out so that we could go out before we had to leave for the airport. Would go back again if staying for a short period.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts (elevators).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Clean but tiny room, pleasant staff who really came into their own when the hurricane knocked the power off for several days. Emergency generator wasn't man enough for the job (or was it that the fuel tank was too small) so the staff were stationed on the landings with little torches to guide you up and down stairs.

They did their best and, within the limits of the state of emergency, did a decent job.

Room Tip: Try and pick one with electricity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PontifexYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here on a recent 36-hr last minute business trip, so it was affordable and available. That being said, it was clean and the staff nice and accommodating. Otherwise, can't give it any stars for comfort or location. I usually stay in SOHO, so prefer that. And I like to have more room ... to put stuff and to move around! I know NYC is small, but even the largest room here was minuscule. And as another reviewer noted, it was very 'hostel-like' and could hear everything through the thin walls. I wouldn't stay here again, it was a last minute option and that's all.

Room Tip: IF you must stay here, get the LARGEST room possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had one of the bunk rooms which was perfect for two friends exploring the city. Yes the rooms are small, but they are very functional. We both are self proclaimed over packers and although we took up most of the floor space with our stuff we still had room to move around. The furnishings and bedding is wonderful, modern, and clean. The hotel really caters to Modern amenities people want, plug ins next to each bunk right next to a little shelf, individual tvs next to each bunk, rain style shower head- what more could you ask for in a little room in the city? Not to mention the staff was wonderful, very helpful and friendly. Only two tips: only stay with people your are comfortable with, the bathroom doors are made from frosted glass- not much of a sound barrier. Also, grab breakfast elsewhere the breakfast offerings are minimal and the breakfast burritos we ordered were very small. There is a wonderful bagel and egg shop just around the corner on Lexington.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Crista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I am writing this review from my perfect little room at Pod 39. I was very skeptical at first, but I am happy I chose this hotel and for the price it is of great value. The bed is comfortable and the room is super clean! I love it! It's small but all the space one needs for an over night stay. I love this hotel, its location, the customer service. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestenieDestenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,950 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#410 of 469 in New York City
551 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#71 of 469 in New York City
5,358 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £86 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing