We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for less money.”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #196 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Clean modern rooms. Free wifi availeble and usb connection for charging devices. Freindly service. Bit noisy because of construction. Nice view from roof terras. Airport transport can be booked at the hotel for only 25 dollars. If you go to New York book pod39.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFrederiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,160 - 2,166 of 3,504 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

I'd read ahead about the small room sizes at this hotel, and that expectation was met--but for the price, to be right in the city (I had a last-minute need for a room), this place was GREAT. I would stay here again, as a solo traveler. Clean, modern, nice, private (!) bathroom, wifi...those are my needs--and Pod 39 delivered on them.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaryllis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I checked in for a one night stay for exam purposes. Staff was very friendly.The room was very small but I guess thats why its called Pod. I had everything to my comfort and the room was very clean. Perfect for last minute reservations. Will definitely go back. New York's best kept secret Pod 39.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Small rooms make Pod earn its name but for the money, it's one of the coolest little boutiques going. What it lacks in size if makes up for with most of the essentials a wired traveler needing wireless needs.

Easy location to get to for our needs, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtlb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The single room was perfect for me: desk, wi-fi, bed, hangers, and an iron on request. There's room under the bed for a suitcase. Everything was clean, good shower water pressure. And central to the newark express bus and grand central. I've stayed in bigger rooms with less usability.

I slept well and worked well.

The one thing I would add is some sort of breakfast-in-box option. If they had a bagel, yogurt, and coffee to go, I would definitely have taken advantage of that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank anichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Since I reside in NYC, I needed a temporary place to crash due to some stuff done in my apartment. It was exactly the right amount that I budgeted for and I was not planning of spending my weekend staying in the room. I checked in on Sunday, 12/9 until 12/14. It was great for sleeping in and getting ready for work. I was already prepared that it will be a shoebox size BUT was pleasantly suprise on how new and clean the rooms were. The beds are comftable, sheets are clean (no bugs), shower is abundant and the room is cleaned, daily. Even if it was pod size, the ceilings were high and there is a window that can be opened (& shut) if one needs some breathing room or fresh air. It was a quick check in/check out process and the staff are friendly. My only comments were: WIFI is super slow especially on peak hours, and the lack of a full size mirror (which I really needed when getting ready for work, had to step in my bed to see if my shoes goes well with my oufit!). Otherwise, it was a good 5 night stay!

Room Tip: I didnt get to see the other rooms, but if you are travelling solo, still try to get a room for 2, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauikit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We checked in for a weekend trip to NYC. We've stayed in smaller format rooms before so the size of the room was not a problem. If you need alot of space to navigate, and don't want to bang your shins on the bed frame, you may want to find more spacious accomodations. The room was clean and tidy, and bathroom was a manageable size. The only complaint I would have is that the TV in the room didn't work and despite calling about asking to have the problem fixed, therew as no resolution before we checked out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#237 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#176 of 471 in New York City
828 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 471 in New York City
1,608 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 471 in New York City
4,491 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 471 in New York City
20,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £71 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient, and personalized accommodations for the stylish and savvy traveler. Located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Midtown Manhattan, we're close to all of the action but away from the hustle and bustle. Just steps from Grand Central Terminal, five subway lines will transport you all over New York City. There's a Pod for every person, and endless possibilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing