We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
yorktown virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This hotel is great--room was immaculate, full of amenities, and fresh--each room has individual hvac control--staff was wonderful and helpful.
Room was small which is what I expected--but arranged perfectly to maximize the space--flat screen tv, desk,and electronic access--room was well lighted--I didn't need more space--single traveler, so can't speak for couples or families-I spoke to a number of people in the elevators and everyone I spoke with stated they were pleased.
And you cannot beat the price by a long shot--best deal for the quality without a doubt in NYC. Some cheaper places are dingy, worn, inconvenient, and not worth the price--this place was all you would want for half again more.
free computer via ipads in lobby
GREAT location just a few blocks from Grand Central station--and many high and lower end restaurants close by
Lobby is attractive--and huge versatile rooms for communal get-togethers--nice restaurant with bar
I'm in the B&B business, so I'm very picky about lots of things about hotel amenities, cleanliness, etc--and this place lived up to all my expectations and was better than most.
I travel to NYC a couple of times a year, and this is my go-to place from now on.

Room Tip: I only saw my own room as a single--have no idea about the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    1,451
    381
    72
    42
See reviews for
378
1,073
623
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel does what it says on the tin. Staff were friendly and helpful, Rooms were clean tidy and safe. Everything we wanted in a hotel we got for a very reasonable price. Location was ideal as your only a couple of blocks from Grand Central Station and walking distance to Times Square. We didn't visit Salvation Taco (adjoined bar) till near the end of our stay which was a real shame because the food was great, margaritas were amazing and the bar staff went above and beyond for us. I would defiantly stay again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Because of this hotel's new albeit small rooms, excellent location, pleasant staff, and great price vale, I would strongly recommend it as a good place to stay, and plan on staying here again.

reasons why:
1. Excellent location: on 39th, 3 rows down from Grand Central, which is one stop from times square
2. Nice (but small) rooms: all have private bath, new beds, heater, free WiFi, TV, etc. Rooms are small but it's NYC!
3. Very understanding staff.
4. Eclectic set of customers: tourists, domestic and international, all ages, gender, etc.

5. GREAT rooftop bar view. and it's free!!

I got a bunk bed on 4th floor but they upgraded me to 17th floor. Higher is better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenPeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Can't beat £53 for a brand new modern room with double bed, flat screen tv, free in room wifi, hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, with en suite hot shower and toilet, and its in the heart of Manhattan! 3 blocks from Grand Central metro subway. Lights are on dimmers to add ambience. Room's thermostat kept room nice and cozy during an icy cold spell. Heater noise was so loud (was on 9th floor) had to put my aeroplane noise reduction headphones to sleep until I discovered I could stop the noise by turning the thermostat to auto so it would switch off once the room was warm.

And now for the negatives, no drawers to put clothes away, and the sheets are 60% cotton and 40% polyester. Go for the double bed as a single traveller. It was only $8 more than a single bed. Also the hanging space does not allow for long items as the luggage rack comes half way up. There is a large safe. No mini bar, no inroom tea or coffee.

Starbucks is on 41st and Lex and you can grab breakfast at Scotty's all day and night diner on 39th and Lexington. The hotel is between 3rd and Lexington on 39th street.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyphysician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Many of the complaints about Pod 39 center on size: small rooms, small flat screens, small tables, etc. OK, I guess, but seriously, who comes to New York to sit in a hotel room and watch television?
To more important matters. Mid-town location is great, minutes from the 42nd St. subway stop. Maybe ten minutes from Grand Central Station (A must see in its own right), a minute off Lexington.

Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Had trouble with my lock and the young woman at the desk had a man up to fix it immediately.

Bar (Salvation Taco?) was friendly and comfortable, if pricey.

As to cost, I was there during NY Hotel Week and I paid $309.00 for three nights.

Bottom line, I'd go back in . . . a New York minute. (I'm so sorry for that.)

Room Tip: I should think "higher the better."
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel for one or two people. The rooms are very small but have everything you need. This is a very unique hotel and it is close to many great restaurants. The beds are very firm. Irons and extras are available upon request for a low or no fee.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dxhinc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Great hotel, helpful, up to date, quiet, great price, great staff. Will stay there again when hoteling in NYC. The rooftop bar opened my last night there, loved it. Good drinks, beautiful sights. Small but when I'm in NYC, it's not to stay cuddle up in my bed. Go for it, I'll be back.

Room Tip: Utilize the rooftop bar, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kg1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing