We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short trips”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed at the Pod 51 last year in January and really liked it (I wrote a review here too). This time in NYC I decided to stay at this newly opened Pod 39 Hotel from 2/6 - 2/10/13. Seriously I was a bit worried about the rumored ultra-tiny room (aka a real pod room) but took a chance and booked the single twin bed room with private bath (in the Pod 39 ALL the rooms have private baths - no sharing bathrooms like the Pod 51!) I got an ***incredible*** deal booking a month in advance - it was literally a steal - for hotels in the area are twice, three times and more for their daily room rates! I booked directly thru the hotel website (very easy process).
Ok to make this review easier to read I'm dividing it into the positives, negatives then overall impressions.

Positives:
- Fantastic rates if you book early
- Room is TINY but fully functional, well planned and simply designed, I didn't feel claustrophobic
- Full private bath
- Very comfortable bed, great pillows too
- Good lighting
- Extremely clean room and hotel area
- All the staff were very friendly/helpful (unlike the indifferent arrogant staff of Pod 51)
- Since I went in the winter, the rooms heating worked great and is fully adjustable
- Hotel has lots of open lounge area around lobby for socializing and roof top lounge (saw it but it was too cold)
- Hotel has a Mexican Bar/food "restaurant" on premises called "Salvation Taco". It's more a bar with bar food. It's NOT a typical restaurant like Chiles, etc. No extensive menu, menu selection is very limited. Tacos are VERY small, you need 3 to fill you up. Also the food is not "typical Mexican" its a very creative Mexican food "based" menu, very "different" tastes (see for yourself). Breakfast is very limited too but - again - they use very creative flavors for muffins, loafs, butters ( all great by the way) In the evening - including the after work crowd - during the week, this place is hopping with people, very busy but luckily no music blasting super loud! It's a fun place to socialize.
- Grand Central Station is 3 blocks away, hotel next to Lexington Avenue
- A few little restaurants, pizzerias, burger places around hotel
- Concierge services on-site, in lobby
- Free Wi-Fi all over
- All age groups stayed here, its not for "hipsters" only

Negatives:
- The "rainfall" shower head in bathroom, while it feels great, it does a poor job rinsing you off - not enough pressure, non-adjustable. So if you have a lot of hair, you're going to be in there a long time!
- Location is far from all "major attractions" except Grand Central Station and Chrysler Building. Location is great for business travelers who are doing business in the Murray Hill area.
- Far from major "shopping areas" as well
- The non-conventional onsite "Mexican bar/restaurant" may turn off people because its not a full functioning restaurant with an extensive menu but its great for having drinks socializing
- Rooms have poor noise insulation, you can hear people taking/watching TV in their rooms - across the hall! You can hear people walking in the hallways, slamming doors, elevator 'bings", etc. ***My personal recommendation is to get a room away from elevators, also not directly above the lobby or directly below the roof terrace/lounge. I was away from elevators and still could hear the elevator "bings" - so if you're a light sleeper you might have some issues staying here.
Overall, its a fantastic value hotel.....Now I wish they open another Pod Hotel in the Greenwich Village/Soho/Chelsea/Hells' Kitchen area!

Room Tip: To get the best deal book at least 21 days earlier to arrival. DEFINITELY ask for a room away from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I was stuck in NYC because of the storm and needed to find a room for the night. POD 39. The staff were awesomely nice. The room reminded me of a cabin room on a cruise ship. I had a queen room. Neat, clean the space was small but very well utilized. Everything you would need was there. Very comfy. Slept great. Could open my windows. The bathroom/shower was unusually situated in the room but very cool. $115 tax included. Downstairs there were two bars, a lounge to read books by the fireplace and two rooms with ping pong tables. Up on the 17th floor was a beautiful rooftop lounge indoor/outdoor with plenty of seating. It was superb. I am staying there from now on. 5 minute walk from GCS and 10 to times square.

Room Tip: No tip really. Everything was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed here back in November with my girlfriend and pod 39 proved to be a good find. The location was perfect just a couple of minutes from grand central and easy walking distance to all the main attractions. We arrived early to find the room was ready, which was an added bonus. The room as over reviewers have commented was small but cosy - we did plenty of shopping (we stayed over Black Friday) but the room was just right to accommodate this. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Only one thing to note - again as other reviewers have commented there is just a glass sliding door (frosted at the bottom) separating the bedroom and bathroom so would recommend staying with someone you're particularly comfortable with!
On the last day we visited the adjoining bar which seemed pretty cool with friendly staff and a special mention also to one of the concierge who arranged transport back to the airport - would definitely recommend using the shuttle bus rather than private taxi, works out much cheaper.
All in all a great place to stay would definitely return.

Ps check out the roof terrace the view of the empire state has to be one of the best.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Cff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great find absolutely brilliant friendly and value for money.The rooms are small but great if all you want to do is sleep and explore. can not rate it enough, take your chance now as i am sure it will not be this value for money price soon.
No frills just very comfortable and affordable

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Clean small rooms in a nice location. Short walk to Grand Central. Hotel rooms were very quiet with great sleep quality. I wish they would change the comforters to something that is changed or cleaned with every guest. I would recommend upgrading to a full or double as it is worth the extra space.

Room Tip: Due to the cold weather, ask for a room with the headboard not under a window...new windows but stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night at this hotel and really loved how contemporary the design and decor were. The location is excellent, walking distance from major points in the city and also close to subways. The room is literally a pod, so if you are on a shopping free or have a lot of luggage, space might definitely be an issue. We got a double pod and the bed was really comfy, the bathroom was a little tight but more than fine for one night. Only thing we thought odd was that the bathroom door is a sliding opaque glass door, which kind of blocks out the view but still doesn't offer you total privacy should you need it. The staff was very friendly and had many maps, brochures and information available for tourists. All in all, it was a great find and definitely a hotel I'd go back to.

Room Tip: double pod is perfect for a couple with little luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 469 in New York City
4,944 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#408 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#70 of 469 in New York City
5,343 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £86 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing