We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth checking out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #186 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Definitely worth checking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Loved it here! It was way better than I expected. What a pleasant surprise! Yes, the room is small but it is immaculate. The room is adorable. Everything necessary is right there. Would definitely stay here again if the price is reasonable. The location is a little off center in the Murray Hill area. However, it only took about 12 minutes to walk to Times Sq. I felt completely safe here at all times. I was a woman alone & walked around at midnight in the winter. The staff was very pleasant. There are a few restaurants on the ground floor but I did not try them. No complaints at all just accolades.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy_R-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    1,426
    372
    68
    40
See reviews for
366
1,055
613
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

If you are not claustrophobic, this is the place for you. For $95 (in January) you get a 10x10 room, a double bed and a shower and bathroom seperated by glass walls from the rest of the room. There is also a small desk at the head of the bed. You had better not be shy if sharing the room. The partially frosted glass wall does not offer a lot of privacy. I have no idea where you would put a large suitcase if you were staying for any length of time. Location is good. You are about a 5 minute walk from Grand Central so you can get anywhere in the city pretty easily. Located on 39th between 3rd and Lexington. There are a few good restaurants withing a 2 minute walk. I will use this place again.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor when staying in New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amys_husband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I live in New York but stayed here on the night of my wedding because we had family staying at our place. All of our out-of-town guests stayed here too and everyone loved it.

Here are the pros:

Very affordable. There are not many places in Manhattan where you can get a good room for two for $100 a night. Book in advance, however! Prices can get higher especially on holidays and weekends.

Decent location. It's in midtown east which is a few blocks from Grand Central Station. It's also just across town from Penn Station and about a 15 minute walk to Times Square.

Clean. The place is clean and the staff is super cool.

Great bar and terrace lounge. The terrace on the 17th floor is awesome. The view is spectacular (though I did see that they are building a new skyscraper blocking a good portion of the view of the Empire State Building).

The Cons:
It's really small. Like, really small. I hit my shin three times on the corner of the bed. I marvel at how they actually managed to bring queen beds into the rooms because they just fit. The bed occupies about 80% of the room, not including the bathroom. But, hey, you come to New York to buzz around the city, not the hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellygobraugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here for three nights. When I checked in, they had me on the fourth floor on 39th street. I asked for a room change to get away from the street noise and they moved me to the tenth floor facing the back with a smile on their face. The room was clean, comfy and quiet. If you need a big room, go elsewhere but if you're just needing a cool, modern-functional place to sleep, stay here! Plenty of power ports for your devices and the shower is amazing! The bed was way better than my own and I just bought it. I won't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abstractdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Such a cool hotel in a good neighborhood and a reasonable price. Loved the ambiance and would definitely stay there again. Close to the NYC Library where I was doing research. The room is small but the bed is vey comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jclarkebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights (02/22 - 02/24). This place is SUPER cute and hip. Lots of energy at the bar area. Mostly polite staff, clean, new rooms (although they are VERY tiny). Loved the private baths in each room. My husband left his wedding ring in the room after we'd checked out and the staff at the hotel not only found the ring and returned it to us, they offered to mail it to us.

The only negatives are the overhead shower - don't forget your shower cap - and the lack of proper washcloths in the bathroom (they give you hand towels instead).


We didn't have any trouble getting a taxi right outside the front door - the trick is to wait until one is letting out passengers, then you just hop in. ;-) The ride to Times Square cost us between $7.50 - $8.50 one way.

This is really a gem of a hotel. I've stayed at the other pod in NY and this one is far better. I just hope they keep it clean and affordable. Already planning my next trip back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travel_allover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing