We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Budget or Single Traveler”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #201 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Totally new, great location on 39th, VERY clean with private baths and toilets, flat panel televisions and plenty of plugs -- if you are hitting NYC for the night and just need a place to crash and don't want to spend $500, this is your place, and will be my place. I've also stayed at the Jane in the Village, and I love the Jane too, but here you get a total modern place AND your own bathroom -- huge advantages! And you can walk to Times Square -- another HUGE bonus.

Room Tip: I got a free upgrade -- the single is a single, so if you want a double or bigger bed then make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalButFirstClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,006 - 2,012 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great hotel on a budget - in great location, rooms small but as expected, staff friendly and always on hand, busy bar in the evening with locals and represents. the only poor side was the rain showers, more like light drizzle shower. Nice roof terrace overlooking upper east side on floor 17. Would stay again - 2 or 3 night but something longer then get a larger room, great crash pad/pod

Room Tip: High floor room for better views of Empire States Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Clean room. Excellent service! Excellent location! It's close from everything you want to see in Manhattan : Times Square, Fifth Avenue, Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, etc. I really recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucberube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This is a terrific find in NYC.! The joint is jumping with young people. but not noisy. Restaurant and bar and lounge were very busy. Room is tiny, but SO efficident. There are TEN electric outlets and all the other electronic outlets you could want. You just have to be neat and organized to make it work, like a small ship. Very clean. Lovely staff. Terrific location--2 1/2 blocks from Grand Central. Definitely a bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for a window! My only complaint was no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrymom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Yes its small, yes there is not a lot of room, but who comes to NY to hang out in your room? I had heard the bunk rms were small so I asked for a larger one as we were there for 10 nights (which they were happy to oblige)! I found the staff really friendly, & we were helped a lot with dif tours, etc. Salvation taco downstairs had amazing food & great drink selection. They were even happy to accomodate my travelling partner & made her different food (as she is a picky eater AND a vegetarian)! Another friend stayed in the single bed rm - yes it was small, but it was safe, clean & available @ a reasonable price (she booked 3 days prior to staying).
All in all, this hotel is amazing, especially for what you pay for. I wish I was here in summer to really get the benefit of the 17th floor, but we still made it up there to take some great shots of the view (which is pretty special!).

Room Tip: If your in a bunk, ask for the larger bunk rms - they are near the elevators (ours was 1025), but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conniesouky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights. I originally booked for a single room and only slept in it for 1 night as I found it too small. I moved to a Queen for the rest of my stay which was much better. It was quiet at times but you can hear the other rooms opening and slamming their doors at all times. The whole layout was great. The pre authorizations on my card happened several times without letting me know the amounts and their system doesn't allow for the correct amount to be taken upon check in (they couldn't explain it) so they took out over $400 and after checking out on the 25/02/13 I still haven't got my money back. It seemed a bother when I would ask certain things to the front desk or concierge so I stopped asking and worked out things on my own. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Queen is better than single
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
39HotelMgr, General Manager at Pod 39 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Greetings Paula,
Apologies on any confusion regarding credit authorizations, please let us know if all credits have been returned so that we can contact your bank if everything is not resolved. More importantly the service you received is not indicative of the service we provide all of our guests. We pride ourselves in looking for talented staff in order to provide our guests with excellent service. If you would provide us specific feedback in order to address any short coming we would be grateful. Thanks for staying with us and we will make every effort to improve our service and systems based on your feedback.
Cheers,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Located on 39th Street, just around the corner of Park Avenue. You will reach almost any destination rather quickly. The rooms are very clean and the people here are all very nice. I for my part have nothing to complain about. The only thing that I have to say, if you are planing on spending a lot of time in your hotel room, the rooms are pretty small. At least the ones I've seen. Besides that probably one of the best hotels, especially for young people.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FearMyInnerSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,978 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
818 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#360 of 469 in New York City
4,428 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £82 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient, and personalized accommodations for the stylish and savvy traveler. Located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Midtown Manhattan, we're close to all of the action but away from the hustle and bustle. Just steps from Grand Central Terminal, five subway lines will transport you all over New York City. There's a Pod for every person, and endless possibilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing