We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to beat the price & location”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #201 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

New York is a hard city to find a decent hotel in a central location without breaking the bank. Look no further, I highly recommend Pod 39 to meet all these requirements!

Yes, it is a small room, but you only need to stay here to sleep and shower (essentially) as you are in NYC! We stayed at the Queen Pod, and the room was mainly taken up by the bed. There are drawers under the bed and enough storage space to hang your coats and store your bags. The bathroom is also very small, but it is well equipped with everything you need.

The location is fantastic, with very close walking distance to Times Square, Grand Central, etc. You will not find a decent, modern & clean hotel in this location at this price!! I looked!

Again, it is a small room but has everything you do need. I did nick my leg when walking past at the corner of the bed, so just remember that it is a small space, and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissXTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,797 - 1,803 of 3,433 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

It was the first time I'd stayed at this hotel. The room was on the small side (as expected) but was decently equipped with a TV, phone, safe (good size, enough room for most laptops). Everything was clean and in decent condition. The A/C was a bit too noisy. There were cupboards under the bed, but no wardrobe - instead of this there were some hangers and wall hooks which sort of worked. There was a small desk to work on and the free wifi worked ok.

At the front desk everyone was friendly and efficient, and there was a very special rooftop bar with panoramic views to the south towards the Freedom Tower and the Empire State building.

The location on 39th Street was excellent - less than 10 minutes' walk from Grand Central station and within walking distance of several midtown destinations. It doesn't really feel like a business hotel, but if visiting for work there's a FedEx and a Staples just around the corner on 3rd Avenue for printing and copying.

In summary, the room was nothing special, but the hotel offers a great location and roof terrace at a more reasonable price than many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I found room on Expedia for 145 a night called the mini bunk room. It sleeps 2 on bunk beds, both beds have separate HD tvs, glass shower and desk. It was perfect. The rooms are small but we basically wanted to sleep. The 17 floor roof bar was not only convenient but beautiful view. There's iPads in lobby to use free and Salvation Taco is in lobby and has a library and ping pong table, just blocks from grand central station and Times Square. I nightly recommend this hotel if you need place to crash and want to site see

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Love Pod 39! My nine year old daughter & I had a bunk room on the fourteenth floor, we were very cozy and found the room great! Modern & clean! Shower was awesome, love the rain head style shower, very soothing. Equally love the 26" tvs @ the foot of each bunk, great way to unwind after a long day of sightseeing & the air conditioning worked very well & kept our room very cool during the hot summer evenings. In room complimentary wifi was nice too.
I wasn't too impressed with their restaurant on the ground floor "Salvation Taco", nice place but mucho dollars for small amount of food.
Location of Pod 39 just off of Lexington was good, a short & easy three block walk to Grand Central Terminal to catch the MTA and sightsee throughout NYC.
If you find yourself short on clean clothes don't try Pod 39's laundry service ( minimum charge is $30 ) instead head up about four doors up 39th St towards Lexington Ave and there is a small laundry/dry cleaning service that will wash & fold same day service for a fraction of the price. I paid $8.50 for about a pound to two for my laundry.
Anyways, Pod 39 is great! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you don't like very small places then don't stay here! But then again, you only use a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepseadinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had the opportunity to visit New York City to attend a fund raiser with Christy Brinkley and Alec Baldwin MCing. POD 39 is located on the east side (E. 39th St) a couple blocks from Grand Central so I could public transit most anywhere. For a "micro-hotel" I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room which had a frig, flat screen TVs for each of two bunk beds, a desk and bathroom. Not bad at all for NY City prices. The hotel also has a rooftop bar which is a nice amenity in NY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YourDickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed at Pod 39 late July 2013 for 1 night. Had a bunk bed room which was fine for my son and I. It was efficiently laid out although the glass wall bathroom was narrow and required careful movement to avoid the walls. At $185 plus tax, it was the best "deal" for 2 beds given Manhattan prices for midtown on a weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf-area
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed in Pod 51 last year and, finding myself back in New York this summer, I decided to spend a little bit extra and try Pod 39. I am very glad I did. The rooms are slightly bigger than in Pod 51 (though still small, as the hotel itself says - don't expect anything else), but they also have ensuite shower facilities. I was in a solo pod so this was less of an issue, but if you are sharing then I would strongly suggest that it should be with someone who you know *very* well as the shower is separated from the room by a half-frosted glass wall. If staying with a friend, maybe you might want to leave the room while the other showers... The room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable and, far more importantly as I was there during another heatwave, the air con was brilliant (again better than Pod 51). There's a safe, TV, desk and free wi-fi which I had absolutely no problems with. It also had a nice touch with various connectors on the wall for you to plug your iPod etc into the TV sound system, or to view photos on there. The room was very comfortable but not huge, and the place is pretty basic, however you shouldn't visit New York to stay in your room.

One thing that was much, much better than Pod 51 was the fact it has its own restaurant and bar(s). I really liked the food at Salvation Taco downstairs, and got slightly addicted to the crispy pigs ears. The range of beer and drinks was also good, and nothing was outrageously expensive. As I was there in midsummer, I was also able to take advantage of the rooftop bar, which is a great place to spend the evening in the middle of Manhattan. I had a really nice Sonoran Old Fashioned which blew me away, and the bar staff (or at least the ones I encountered) are friendly and certainly know their stuff. One thing I would say is that, because of the rooftop bar being open to the public and both bars being open until early morning, the hotel may be better suited to a younger crowd.

Overall, great location (just south of Grand Central, easily walkable in a few minutes), excellent value and a very enjoyable stay in New York. I wouldn't hesitate going back there if I find myself in NYC again. The extra cost over Pod 51 is worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,978 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
818 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#360 of 469 in New York City
4,428 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £82 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient, and personalized accommodations for the stylish and savvy traveler. Located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Midtown Manhattan, we're close to all of the action but away from the hustle and bustle. Just steps from Grand Central Terminal, five subway lines will transport you all over New York City. There's a Pod for every person, and endless possibilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing