We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Good Value Hotel”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #190 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pinner, Middx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The room was small, just what it said. Clean, soft very comfortable bed and the service provided by EVERYONE, with a smile was excellent. I would give this hotel 9 and a half out of 10. The only drawback if one would say it is, is that it's location is on the East side of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    1,462
    386
    74
    42
See reviews for
380
1,080
634
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Wonderful stay at Pod39. Small, micro rooms but very clean, modern, affordable ($165 per night) and comfortable. My daughter and I stayed in a bunk room and were very comfortable. Quiet rooms. Excellent location close to all mid town attractions, grand central station, shopping, and good restaurants. Highly recommend. Only issue we had was some confusion on the hotel directed parking garage. We ended up in a Icon lot that was close to the hotel but not the icon lot that offers discounts if you stay at the pod. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. If you end up touring the city after checking out they offer secure luggage storage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmkrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I was a French tourist for the first time in NYC. The hotel is good in general, baggage service, parking, smiling agents... But the maid came knocking at 10am, while I had time to leave the room until noon. Moreover, it wasn't indicate that the breakfast wasn't included with the booking, in the contrary of France.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mathilde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A friend of mine and I booked this hotel because we wanted to stay in Manhattan during our trip and the price fit our budget. The location was absolutely perfect!! It's about 5 minutes walk from Grand Central which can get you anywhere you want to go via the MTA, there are a couple Duane Reade's (Walgreen's/Shoppers Drug Mart style pharmacy) within a few blocks and a Starbucks a block away. Lots of little restaurants within 2 blocks, highly recommend Zuckers bagel shop just a few blocks North at Lexington and 41st.

If you are looking for a hugely spacious extremely luxurious hotel room - look elsewhere, this is not what this hotel is all about. The name says it all - Pod. The rooms are compact, well planned out and well suited to a younger crowd.

I travelled with a girlfriend of mine and we had a Bunk Room (not a mini-bunk, these are two different room types). Despite 4 nights, 2 huge suitcases, a few carry on's each, and lots of shopping later - we had plenty of space to store our things and hang out in the room without feeling cramped or crowded. The bathroom is compact but not too small, just smaller than what I'm used to at home - there is no tub, just a shower. The bathroom is en-suite (for all rooms at Pod 39) and does have a glass door/wall, but they are frosted so you can't "see" anything - you can see shadows and that there is someone in there doing bathroom stuff but it's still private. Depending on your heigh you might be able to look over the top of the frosting if you go tippy toed.

This hotel has a very young vibe to it, it's almost hostel meets hotel, very cool! It was super comfortable, welcoming and friendly. Any of the staff we interacted with were very helpful, friendly and just all around nice. There is a rooftop bar with a great atmosphere and views, and there is a restaurant on site (mexican) - but also tonnes of stuff nearby. Times Square is about a 15 or so minute walk, Grand Central about 5.

Hotel has a concierge service available during certain hours to help you out and will also hold bags at check in/check out if you need them to.

There was noise from the elevator but not at obnoxious times of day, either just people using the elevator or the bells of it stopping, it never caused a problem getting to sleep or woke us up. There are no fridges available (front desk staff said they can store refrigerated medications if need be). If there was an ice machine I never found it (didn't look very hard)

We will definitely stay at this hotel again! Clean, quiet, friendly and awesome location!

The attached photo is taken from the door looking into the room. Bathroom is on the right but is cut off so you can't see it's size, on the left there is a storage area (open, not a closet) with some hangers and a shelf and an in room safe (free to use, just have to set a pass code on it). Just past the bathroom the wall recesses in and there are some hooks built into the wall and there is a desk w/phone. Both bunks had their own TV w/remote. There was a media plug in at the desk, I think you can plug iPod's in and play the music, but we never used it. Window opens for fresh air if desired. This was the "Bunk Room" (NOT mini-bunk)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'd stay there again, room 1222 was quiet for the city that never sleeps. The roof bar was mostly thirty somethings but being 5 floors above my room it did not impact my sleep too much. The lobby bar was jamm'n and you need your hotel key to get up to the roof bar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Upon our arrival we were upgraded to a queen bed room from a bunk room. The room was very utilitarian and provided what we needed for our stay in New York. The bathroom was of modern design with a partially frosted sliding glass door that offers little privacy. Try to get a room away from the elevators as you can hear them "dinging" incessantly in the morning. Also, our room had no do not disturb signs so the maid service kept coming to our room starting at 9 AM seeing if our room was ready to clean. The rooftop bar is a gem and is highly recommended to check out. The location is convenient to many city attractions and the area offers an eclectic mix of cuisine offerings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krazeyraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If I go back to NYC with a friend, I will probably go back to the Pod 39. It is quite cheap and clean. The rooftop bar is fantastic. Having a bunk bed is great (two separate beds). The location is very good since you are 3 blocks away from Grand Central Station.
My main criticism is the size of the room and the lack of intimacy. If you are not intimidated to go to the toilet in front of your friend, the pod 39 is your best choice. Otherwise, you'll have to make a schedule because the bathroom walls are actually made of partially tinted glass and don't shut completely. Also, there is no wardrobe.
Nonetheless, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JulieYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,780 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing