We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms (as advertised) but clean!”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent 7 nights here and, overall, we are pleased with our stay.

The room was incredibly tiny, which didn't come as a surprise as it is clearly stated on their website. The room and the hotel are very clean. We really liked the shower, which is better than the one we have at home :). Be aware, though, there is only a glass door that separates bedroom and bathroom, which means... tiny margin of privacy.

Staff is accommodating and kind.

The bar downstairs is busy with a nice character and we guess it's the same for the rooftop garden during summer.

Slightly negative points:
1) Cost-wise, it was the cheapest we found in midtown but we wouldn't call it "cheap accommodation", not even for NY standards.
2) Our room (5th floor, facing E39th) was noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skip98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Coming into the Pod was a very cool experience. Design and atmosphere with the mexican bar and restaurant is very cozy and warm. If I stayed in NYC this would definitely be a spot where I would come have a drink and a chat with friends.

Of course rooms are tiny. That being said, convenience and use of space is perfect. The smell of the room though was a little unpleasant and we had to open the windows to get some fresh november air. Unfortunately the terrace on the 17th floor had just closed for the winter when we arrived, that said we could walk on it and see the amazing view.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and I strongly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

i say perfect for youngsters because of the size and the amneties that are available.
first of all, the people who are complaining about the room and bed obviously shouldn't even choose this place to begin with. to me, the reason i chose to stay at this place was because of the price (everywhere in NYC is expensive so when you find one that suits your budget just get it without having to expect more than what you bargained for) and a room that was just nice to sleep after a long day out.

the room i got was just nice and had all the basic stuff a room had, a decent toilet, comfy bed, tv, WIFI. on the 17th floor there is a nice bar and i just loved the view with the empire state building from there as well.

the lobby is equipped with ipads available for guests to use and even print your documents as well. there is a tour table where a lady will be there to assist you on your NY travels. cute mexican taco bar as well (loved the interior).

a super plus about staying here is that grand central station is a merely 5 minutes walk. this station gets you anywhere you want to go (1 stop shuttle ride to TIMES SQUARE). you can book for airport shuttle with the bellboy as well only a few dollars difference from the one at grand central except this shuttle picks you up from the airport.

this hotel is good for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I chose Pod 39 through Trip Advisor, the first time I have chosen a hotel this way. It was exactly as I expected, but better- the place is ultra-modern and up-to-date- I particularly liked the wall of ipads in the lobby, for the use of guests. There is a pleasant taco bar on the ground floor, where refreshing drinks and little salads can be found. It was a bit of a nuisance to have to leave the hotel to get a bottle of water-they don't sell it in the bar(!) but there is a well-stocked corner shop nearby.And a good diner (Scotty's) and bus stops and masses of other eateries. Very convenient and all one needs when visiting New York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RissasAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My room at this hotel was probably the smallest I have ever stayed in, it was tiny but saying that it was comfortable, well laid out and everything was to a high standard. The bed was very comfortable and in a city like NYC that's all you really need, saying that is was a 3qtrs size bed and not a double as advertise (a double bed probably wouldn't have fit in the room!). They do have an odd late check out policy, you have to request it on the day your checking out while the whole reason I was asking in advance was because I wanted a lie-in before a long flight but to be fair that's the only grumble I had.

What they do have though is the best open roof top bar in Mid-Town on the 17th floor, do make sure you spend some time there, the setting & views are spectacular and it was never overly busy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It has all you need, best in location, super clean, minimalist yet class in style, super nice personnel and perfect breakfast place. All you need is there without extras which you would pay at super premium.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We've just got back from a 4-night stay at Pod 39. Yes, the rooms are small, but the clue is in the name, and surely you don't go to New York to sit it your room! The decor and the condition of the room and facilities was very good. Just about enough storage for 2 people for 4 nights; not much more than that. The only downside for me was the shower - nowhere near powerful enough, more like a weak dribble, very hard to rinse properly especially my hair! Oh, yes, and the opaque bathroom wall was a bit odd... all i will say is that you can still see 'outlines'...
We didn't have any problems with noise, although i had specifically requested a room away from the lifts, so that helped. Certainly couldn't hear noise from other rooms, as some reviewers have said. Some noise from the street but not too bad.
Very nice atmosphere, friendly and unpretentious, the reception staff were warm and welcoming without being in your face. I would recommend this for anyone young or young at heart - maybe not stuffy businessmen or your grandmother!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor (less noise from the street) unless it's summer and the rooftop b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 469 in New York City
4,945 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#408 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#70 of 469 in New York City
5,343 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £86 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing