We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great price, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #187 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great price, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you're like me and visiting New York is about seeing the sights and experiencing all the city has to offer, rather than loitering in your hotel room watching TV, this is the perfect place to stay.

The rooms are compact but efficiently designed with all the core amenities, including a lovely bathroom in the basic single room.

Staff are excellent, friendly and down to earth. The hotel restaurant and lounge is relaxing and surprisingly good food - even the vegetarian taco options!

Perfect location in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Up on the top levels is great for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    1,427
    372
    68
    40
See reviews for
366
1,056
613
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Let's start with the obvious...it's called POD for a reason. The rooms are tiny! But this is no secret so don't get upset if you check in and find tiny spaces. While the rooms can get a bit pricey (over $200/night), this is moderate for Manhattan prices. Most of the hotels that I found in Manhattan that were cheaper had shared bathrooms. YUCK! I was happy to pay a little extra for two nights and have some privacy. The room is great for a single traveler. I had a single POD.

Inside the room there is a twin size bed, a small desk, storage under the bed, a safe and a small open cove to hang clothes in. There is also a small flat screen TV & remote. The bathroom is reflectively exposed to the rest of the room (only some lightly frosted glass covers the toilet and shower)...which again is fine for a single traveler.

The room is relatively clean and well kept. I accidentally dropped the TV remote behind the bed and when I reached to retrieve it, I came across a condom. Pretty gross and obviously just not seen by housekeeping. But unless your digging behind the furniture, you wont notice any other grossness about the room. Clean toilet, fresh sheets, even the windowsills didn't have dust. Yes, there are two good sized windows, one above the bed and the other in the shower.

Lobby: There are two bars in the hotel just off the lobby that are open quite late. So there's a lot of noise, loud music and plenty of action in the lobby at all hours. This hotel certainly seems geared toward a younger crowd. This is nice if you are looking to get out of your POD at chill in an open area and have a drink. If not, this has no impact on the rooms...my POD was incredibly quiet and peaceful, not even street noise.

I didn't have much interaction with the front desk staff but they all seemed young and we're as kind as I expected...not more, not less.

The Neighborhood: Perfect. It's off a not too busy street but within walking distance of Grand Central Station which is great because from there you can get anywhere! Because of the bars located in the lobby, taxis are always stopping right in front of the hotel if you need one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have to say, this place really won me over. I would definitely stay here again and I feel I got great value for money and a great experience overall. Look, you've seen the photos, the rooms are very very small. I admit I took an extra breath when I first saw my room. But they are incredibly well designed to be efficient, stylish and comfortable. Could you be more comfortable with enough space to actually take steps around your room or a room big enough to house a coffee pot? sure. But it's called Pod Hotel and the prices reflect that. However, what sold me was the public spaces and the incredible gracious kind warm fun staff that made the public spaces feel like just an extra part of your little room. On the main floor there is the Salvation Taco Restaurant which has a sprawling space with many little conversation nooks and plenty of areas to either mingle with friends or sit on your own. it's all designed so artfully, with a real international flavor and a super colorful playful flair. Speaking of flavor, the menu is limited but the food is absolutely scrumptious!! On the roof, there is the most amazing terrace with a gorgeous view of the city. I wasn't able to go there when the bar was open and humming, but the space is open all day and I was able to sit up there and enjoy the view and the beautiful decor during the day and it was a splendid personal office. There is an adjoining room up there that is protected from the weather, and like Salvation Taco, exquisitely designed with colorful and international touches. It's a truly awesome space, for relaxing alone, and for meeting with colleagues and friends. I stayed in October 2013 with a group of international colleagues on a business trip. We were able to use these two public spaces to meet up and organize ourselves, and still enjoy each our own private rooms. The location is incredible, three blocks from Grand Central, yet in a quiet residential street. But in the end, what completely convinced me was the staff. This place is brimming with cool, (I won't mention all the celebrities I saw in Salvation Taco), but if the staff would have an an attitude of too-cool, the place would be completely insufferable. You'd feel like a chump for paying for a room the size of a closet. In fact, the staff, and I mean every single one of them, from the maintenance person you surprised in the stairwell to the front desk to the bartenders to the housekeeping to the amazingly cheerful porters shuttling luggage into and out of storage, to the people I corresponded with to make my reservations, every single person there was just unfailingly warm and cheerful. it's not about just offering a professional welcome. they made you feel like they really were sincerely happy to welcome you and make you comfortable, and for me that made all the difference. So, in short, the rooms are small, the public spaces are big, the spirit of the place is really huge. Would I go there for a romantic anniversary celebration? nope. Would I go with a baby, elderly parents? probably not. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

cheap - clean - good location - good service

since NY is not about staying inside...but all about indulging yourself outside... this hotel covers all what you need... a good clean stay and comfy bed...extra plus is that the rooms have a good noise reduction of city-life... the nice staff is the extra add-on!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bartmeyskens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Nice hotel, well located, near grand central. The rooms are really small, but the furniture gets the job done. The smell of the carpet can be an issue, believe me: we have been in two rooms and the smell factor was felt in both rooms. Other than that I highly recomend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tristan da Cunha
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent 7 nights here and, overall, we are pleased with our stay.

The room was incredibly tiny, which didn't come as a surprise as it is clearly stated on their website. The room and the hotel are very clean. We really liked the shower, which is better than the one we have at home :). Be aware, though, there is only a glass door that separates bedroom and bathroom, which means... tiny margin of privacy.

Staff is accommodating and kind.

The bar downstairs is busy with a nice character and we guess it's the same for the rooftop garden during summer.

Slightly negative points:
1) Cost-wise, it was the cheapest we found in midtown but we wouldn't call it "cheap accommodation", not even for NY standards.
2) Our room (5th floor, facing E39th) was noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skip98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Coming into the Pod was a very cool experience. Design and atmosphere with the mexican bar and restaurant is very cozy and warm. If I stayed in NYC this would definitely be a spot where I would come have a drink and a chat with friends.

Of course rooms are tiny. That being said, convenience and use of space is perfect. The smell of the room though was a little unpleasant and we had to open the windows to get some fresh november air. Unfortunately the terrace on the 17th floor had just closed for the winter when we arrived, that said we could walk on it and see the amazing view.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and I strongly recommend the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing