We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super chic for nighttime goers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #184 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super chic for nighttime goers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I planned a trip to NYC for the first time and the staff where very friendly and helpful to my needs. I may be writing a review almost a year later but I still remember this one girl not by name but we spoke about Canadian things and her recent(at the time) trip to Canada I would like to say her name is Ann Marie or she had a French kind of name. She was a doll and I would hope she still works there cause she always brought a smile to my face when I came down. She showed me where the gay nightlife was in NYC and recommended some great places for dinner.
Definitely a place and staff I will always remember.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garnishedingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    1,430
    372
    68
    40
See reviews for
367
1,058
615
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Friendly hotel with basic, functional, but very comfortable rooms. I originally booked Park Central but cancelled it because Pod 39 was $150 cheaper for two nights and had a taco restaurant... I haven't considered booking any other hotel in New York since.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
augusta ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had stayed at the pod 51 two years prior to this trip and loved the modern style of the hotel. I was excited this pod had a restaurant and rooftop bar! We arrived at 11 and couldn't check in early so they let us leave our bags. We came back much later and checked into our room. Tiny but comfy. We knew we wouldn't spend much time in the room so size didn't matter. The bathroom didn't have a door, just frosted glass....,,that was uncomfortable but since I was with my husband we dealt with the potentially awkward situation . (There are several bathrooms on the garage level) just a shower and if you took a long shower the water would flood the whole floor since there was no separation in the bathroom. Water pressure was great and hot! I loved that the windows opened without a screen, it helped the room size not feel claustrophobic .

The restaurant was closing by the time we got settled and were ready for a bite to eat. They let us sit and and have a beer until the kitchen opened back up, they serve a cider that is my new favourite!!, it's $10 but worth it!!! They are cool with you taking beverages back up to the rooftop so we did that often.

The rooftop bar was under construction but we still spent every evening up there. The view is great of the city and you can see a portion of the river really well.
We would stay here again due to the fact it was $100 cheaper than most other hotels and it's super cute and modern .

Room Tip: Stay at a higher level to Avoid city street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopeKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here as a group of 20+ as part of our University Course and the location was fantastic. you are 5-minute walk from Bryant Park and Grand Central station. Everything about the hotel is weird and wonderful (hence the title). For the price, you won't get much better in this area of Manhattan and although most of the rooms are small and minimalist, the beds are reasonable and it caters for all your basic needs. This hotel was an important part of a wonderful experience of an extraordinary city. There is nowhere quite like New York. The staff were very friendly and helpful whenever possible. Deborah who works reception is an absolute worldie :D

Room Tip: If you want price and quality, then just look at the reviews. This place is a gudden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MH_Holidayzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Listen, this hotel is not bad, but for the price per room, I probably should have just booked a normal hotel room for the additional $30 per night. The rooms are small, the website pics are a bit misleading, but I give the photographer props for a good job! LOL The glass bathroom door was not appreciated, but thanks to prior reviews, I knew that going into the booking. The biggest issue I actually had with the bathroom was the shower. The water was great but the shower curtain was too small and the entire bathroom was wet until I was through. Also on the plus side, the room was very clean, bed was fairly comfy for a twin size bunk. I had a little trouble keeping the room cool overnight, but it wasn't awful. Also, the staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
I'm rating only a 3 because for the tiny accomodations, the price was too large.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PG49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My fiance and I travelled to New York right after Christmas, returning before the New Year, and can I just say... "WOW!" I absolutely love this City! And Pod was just fantastic.

Pod is quite literally as the name suggests, a nice little 'Pod' in NYC. The rooms are quite small, but by no means is that a bad thing. We found ourselves only really sleeping here anyway! There is so much to do in New York that coming back to a little room where you can just take a lie down was perfect. The toilet and shower facilities were extremely nice and the room came with a safe for all of our valuables. The bed has a drawer beneath it for clothes and also a space for you to slot your luggage. There is also a rail to hang shirts and some coat pegs. The room also comes with a desk, perfect for planning your next exploration into the heart of the City.

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. We were able to leave our luggage upon arrival so that we could go straight out and explore as we waited for our room to be ready. The same can be said about leaving, the hotel was happy to take our luggage and store it so we could soak up the sights.

Location wise Pod is perfect. The Empire State is about 5 blocks down, Grand Central roughly 3 blocks up and the Chrysler Building is in the neighbourhood! We were 3 blocks away from 5th Avenue and with easy access to Grand Central, a little more than 'a stones throw' from the entire City on the subway, which by the way is extremely easy to use and we found the best way to get around.

It's safe to say you can expect to do a lot of walking around the City, but coming back to Pod was something we looked forward to for a little break and relaxation.

We will definitely be coming back to New York City, and Pod is going to be the hotel at the top of our list! We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmylieNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilia, SP
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Despite the bedroom size (really small) it is incredibly comfortable and clean. It has a bunk, so for those who want to sleep together, specially if you are in a honeymoon, that won't be possible. But for me and my fiancee that wasn't a problem at all (since we weren't in honeymoon). We really enjoyed the hotel. The staff is really friendly and very polite. They offer shuttle services for the airports (but you have to pay for it) and they have a tour agency. The location is good also, near subways and main attractions.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing