We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the heart of New York”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
St.Petersburg
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hotel in the heart of New York”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Located in the heart of Manhattan. To all the attractions on the doorstep. The hotel rooms are very small and as a bed. The rooms are quiet, with no extraneous noise. It has a rooftop bar. Price hotel rooms for New York is quite acceptable. The hotel is suitable for those who do not care the size of the room, but the proximity of important attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intern1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    1,509
    400
    77
    45
See reviews for
400
1,104
651
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgaw, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My 11yo daughter and I had a mother/daughter weekend for MLK weekend. Her 1st experience of NYC. We shared a double bed room. It was small and quiet but all we needed since we were out exploring from morning till night. We used hotel shuttle from LaGuardia an it was decent. We had a fabulous time and my daughter loves the decor. The concierge desk was amazing with their maps they gave us and recommendations where to go and what subways to take, etc. can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbeemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very small rooms, but very nice and clean.

Travellin with my girlfriend I have to choose a two bed room because when I saw the bed for two it scared me, it was like a single bed a little larger. Bathroom ok too.

Very well located, near Grand Central and not to far from times square. The bar on the looby seems very cool.

I could say that I would like to be ther again, but I´ll have to check the rates..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassioPasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

OK first off you must set expectations. This is a POD not a room so I didn't expect to stay there aside from bathing and sleeping and it is more than enough for that. Don't compare this to a hotel ROOM. I thought the place was young and energetic, the bathroom portion of the pod was decked out nicely and was great to wake up to. The hotel staff were friendly and engaging. I found the whole experience to be great cuz I wasn't in NYC to hang out in a hotel room (why would you?).

Definitely be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Rooms are way too small for one person let alone two. Bathroom privacy is minimal and small as well.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Roof top lounge was pretty awesome with breath taking views.

If you like postage stamp sized rooms, then this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedupwithitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

this is a very nice hotel, in the hart of mannhattan, just few steps away from the Grand Central satation. I think that the location is ecxellent, as well as the bar and the the rooftop terrace!
the only problem for me was the bathroom!!the room are really small and in front of our bed there was a glass the separete the bathroom....the glass is not totally seethrough...but you can still see too much in my opinion...so there is not much pivacy...
anothere problem was the very noisy heating but i'm a light sleeper so I guess that for other people wouldn't be a problem.
apart for this the hotel was very nice, modern, clean and with exellent service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlotta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I am very pleasantly surprised at the size of my pod at Pod 39! It is only slightly smaller than rooms in a number of the older, classic hotels in NYC. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming. I called house keeping to get an iron and ironing board and it was there in less than 5 minutes. The location is great! Very close to Grand Central and the Chrysler building and it's a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RecentTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 467 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,170 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing