We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pod 39”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pod 39”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we like boutique hotels. Very nice hotel rooms are very small even though we got a larger Queen size bed. If you are sharing make sure you are intimate with the person you are sharing with. Bathroom has a frosted glass front so you can see everything and also hear everything. Would still recommend. Hotel has a very busy bar mostly young people use it but is very quiet in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locations69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    1,451
    381
    72
    42
See reviews for
377
1,073
623
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I took my daughter for a weekend to NYC and this was the 'cheapest' place I could find w/o having to share a bathroom. Just over $200 a night we got a room with a bunk bed. The layout was perfect. Great concept: very (European) modern and everything you need. Due to the weather we were unable to check out the rooftop terrace. The restaurant had a great menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The rooms are of course small, but they are well designed and perfect if you intend to use them for sleeping in and not a whole lot else. The bar/restaurant on the ground floor was always busy, and the rooftop bar has great views. I actually saw it in a few lists of "best rooftop bars in NYC".

I didn't get the impression that the Murray Hill area was the most happening part of New York (the bars in the hotel seem to be the main attraction!) but it's within walking distance of Grand Central, the UN and even Central Park. And there was a great bagel place, Express Bagel, around the corner.

One specific complaint I had was that a previous guest had clearly been smoking in my room, and the smell really hung around. This should have been picked up beforehand and dealt with.

Overall, would definitely use again if looking for a cheap stay in New York.

Room Tip: Paying the little extra for a private bathroom definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a great time here great location ,rooms are small but very functional with free wifi and bed is very comfortable though restaurant is a little on the pricey side but nice all in all a great base for any trip

would def stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve10574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I live about 30 mins from NYC. I was attending a convention and wanted to be able to have a home base near the grand Hyatt for the weekend without taking the trains back and forth like a maniac or shelling out 400 bucks a night. Pod 39 offered a great price and I was pleasantly surprised at my accommodations. Yes,The rooms are small ..hence the term POD.. but they are designed with travel and efficiency in mind. Think Scandinavian design. Everything you need is provided with a bit of style and proper ergonomics :) Very minimalist chic! Very clean and comfortable. Honestly some of the apartments and more $$$$$ hotels in the city are about the same size. The staff was very friendly and I enjoyed the on site bar/restaurant that offered rooftop views and tacos! I mean how great! I was also in walking distance of many other restaurants, stores and Grand Central Station. I would highly recommend this spot if you are planning on visiting NYC and don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room. Really really great and even though I live considerable close if I had to do it again I would most definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalBee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The "full pod" room was small, as announced, but contained everything you need, and the bed big enough for two. It had a nice touch of quality to it. The hotel itself with roof-top bar (very popular), and ground floor restaurant, was equally nice, and the breakfast bagel and coffee very reasonably priced. All in all super value for the money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed for 2 nights recently during a short stay in New York and was delighted with this place in terms of the room and location. I stayed in a Queen Pod (small double bed) with a private bathroom which was very clean and had everything I needed including comfortable bed, free WiFi, safebox, storage space, Pharmacopia organic toiletries, hairdryer and lots of hot water for the shower! When I asked about hot water for drinks, this was available free of charge at the bar. Despite lots of activity in the lobby and bar area, my room (#511) was lovely and quiet (it was in a corner so that also helped). The hotel is literally less than 5 minutes walk from Grand Central station with lots of subway lines and the bus service to Newark airport. Reception staff were helpful and friendly.This place had a really nice feel to it and I'll be booking again next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CranberryFizzOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing