We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a great location”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #195 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was clean and accurate to their pictures. In a great location only 5-10mins walk from Grand Central Terminal, we were also able to walk to the Empire State Building and Rockefeller Plaza. The staff were welcoming and helpful too. The hotel also has free wifi which was fast enough to video call on. We stayed in a Queen Pod, which was snug and I wouldn't have liked anything smaller. Having said that it was a nice room, clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay again if I was in New York.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philipdunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 3,505 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The first time we got there when the hotel was still under construction. Nevertheless, my bestfriend and I felt at home. It's so easy to get there and the location is just perfect if a traveler needs a safe place to stay. Pod39 is for us. It's sleek, clean, eco-friendly, very efficient, and the interiors were cleverly designed.

Room Tip: Find a good deal on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWanderJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the queen bed suite. It was a good size for me and my fiancé. The bathroom ordeal is just fine fogged glass door slides to close the bathroom from the room and the shower has a curtain so I wouldn't worry much about that. Taco Salvation was cool very hip chips and salsa was tasty. Tons of great tequilas to choose from. Rooftop bar was really cool and great to check out after a night out for dinner. Although at 10PM their taps for beers ran out which I found odd for a bar in the city so early! Found it a bit over priced when compared to local hotels.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was traveling alone to meet some friends in NEW York and got a great deal on this pod hotel .
Every one was really friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. ( prob because they had just opened and the rec. told me I was the 2nd person in that room so far) They have ipads on the walls to use while you are waiting in the lobby .

And what an awesome location, 3 blocks from Grand Central station . a few more and your at New York Public library , Briant Park ( to play chess, ping pong or watch a show/play) and Timesquare , !!!

Wow the heart of it all !!!

Smaller rooms like those in the big apple for sure, but clean sleek and Location , Location , Location ..... All you need to visit anywhere in times square.

Scotty's diner is right around the corner , Open 24hrs and I lived there. grilled chicken with sauce

Hope you liked the review and happy travels..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabastians M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just hung up after trying to change/cancel a reservation. What a nightmare, most hotels (and I travel about 40%-50% of the time for work) have some sort of leniency when you call and I say "hey I had a really busy day, my plans changes and I won't be there or maybe I will." But not Pod 39, I called only 3 hours after the cancellation deadline and there was not listening to me. I had to call, let me point out, because when I attempted to cancel this reservation online earlier in the day I was unable to find the cancel reservation button, which is what most normal places have for cancelling reservations. But at Pod 39 the cancel reservation is hidden under another icon and another button so it's almost impossible to find. When I spoke with some sort of manager he said that I had all day to call, sorry I really don't. I have a job and taking the time to look up the number on a website that had navigational issues is time consuming. Some of us actually work 10-12 hr days and don't have the time to find the number and then call them, get transferred to two people to pretty much be told "this is your fault for not trying."

So buyer beware, this is not a place where they will treat you like at the Hilton. Horrible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Rooms are small, but has everything you'll need, including free wifi and HD cable. Make sure you're extremely comfortable with whoever you're sharing the room with as the bathroom doesn't have a fully closing door. Just a frosted sliding glass door with a hole on the side for a handle. You can here EVERYTHING on the other side of the door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SenorDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we like boutique hotels. Very nice hotel rooms are very small even though we got a larger Queen size bed. If you are sharing make sure you are intimate with the person you are sharing with. Bathroom has a frosted glass front so you can see everything and also hear everything. Would still recommend. Hotel has a very busy bar mostly young people use it but is very quiet in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locations69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 471 in New York City
5,034 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#173 of 471 in New York City
828 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#217 of 471 in New York City
1,608 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 471 in New York City
4,493 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 471 in New York City
20,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £70 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient, and personalized accommodations for the stylish and savvy traveler. Located in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Midtown Manhattan, we're close to all of the action but away from the hustle and bustle. Just steps from Grand Central Terminal, five subway lines will transport you all over New York City. There's a Pod for every person, and endless possibilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing