We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential New York experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quintessential New York experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We love Pod39's location in a relatively non-touristy neighborhood yet close to everything. The building itself is a handsome renovated 1920s Salvation Army hostel. The restaurant - Salvation Taco - is hip and popular among young New Yorkers in the evenings and doubles as a coffee stop in the mornings. The $3 coffee and pastry deal is perfect if you don't want a heavy breakfast. Check out the delightful roof garden.

The room we had was of course small like all NYC hotels but well-designed and efficient. We have everything we needed, including a room safe.

Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    1,451
    381
    70
    42
See reviews for
376
1,073
623
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

i stayed here in March with my boyfriend in a queen pod for 4 nights. the room was small but not as small as i thought it would be. the bathroom was nice and the shower was fantastic. they even provide complementary showergel, shampoo and conditioner! all of which smelled gorgeous. the bed was v big and so comfy. the room was so dark and quiet at night time that we slept sound every night. there was a bar/restaurant attached to the Pod which did gorgeous Mexican food so if you wanted to chill with some drinks and food after a long day this place was perfect. there was also plenty of cafes round where you could go for breakfast. the location was excellent, just round the corner from grand central.. you could walk to any of the big attractions. only fault was the bar staff where not v friendly but i would definitely stay here again if you are a couple. Great value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were searching for a cheap hotel in NYC so this was the only neat and cheap hotel we could find.
The good thing about this hotel that it was close to Grand Central Station and had a short walk to the Empire State Building. But the rooms were too small and the bathroom was see through so it wasn't comfortable peeing over there. I wouldn't suggest this hotel to people who are staying more than three days because again, I repeat, the rooms are too small. So, I suggest this hotel to people who are staying for one day and are leaving the next.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had lots of sexytime in pod!!!! Very new age n cool! See through bathroom kinda trippy. Might not wanna watch someone like your grandma poop! Liked the futuristic feeling though! I would recomend this hotel to friends who are travdling in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philfree808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Well let's be honest - this is Manhattan, so hotel rooms aren't going to be cheap, and they're not going to be big. The room we stayed in (Queen room) was clean and neat. It was sufficient for what we needed. There were no major problems with anything. Go ahead and stay here. But just be prepared for a few things:

We knew in theory the room would be very small, but the reality of how small the room was took us by surprise. I left with a range of different scrapes and bruises on my shin from bumping into the bed as I tried to walk around the room. I literally had to climb over luggage to get from my side of the bed to the bathroom.

Speaking of the bathroom, there was a "wall" of semi-frosted glass separating the bed from the toilet. I guess that's fine if you're on your own or travelling with someone you've been married to for some time, but if you want to maintain any semblance of romance be aware that this is not the place to do it. Especially if you've had a Chipotle burrito bowl for lunch.

The shower has one tap which controls both water pressure and heat. The result is that if you want a hot shower you have to be prepared to be blown into the next room (which, admittedly, is only about a foot away). It was actually painful to take a shower.

The towels and bedsheets were seriously undersized and of poor quality. I'm not sure why this was because I would assume good quality linens would be a solid investment for any hotel. The last thing I wanted to do after getting out of the tornado-shower was patch-dry myself with what was essentially a large hand towel.

Having said all of that, this was one of the cheapest hotel rooms we could find in Manhattan. The staff were friendly and helpful, and it was walking distance to a lot of great areas. Just be aware of what you are in for!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerriNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Pod39 Queen Bed room was a bit tight, with small shower area and little hanging or drawer space and small desk. However all was clean and modern, quiet, with all the basics you need and the double bed very comfortable. The room had an internal courtyard view , but there was no vis-a-vis. I was on the 7th floor - I suggest aiming for a high floor and external view. I certainly would not reserve a smaller pod even though this was pricey at 300 USD a night without breakfast, but this was manageable for a short stay when I was out in meetings mostly. The breakfast options were simple and good value. The advantages of this hotel might still bring be back though, if there was a better deal by booking in advance: walking distance to the UN HQ and to Times Square etc; beautiful terrace with rooftop bar overlooking Manhattan, decent food, lively and dynamic feel, excellent location etc. And the Mexican resto bar on the ground floor was colourful, good music, good sophisticated Mexican food and always lively (in the eves a bit loud, but only in the public areas).

Room Tip: Higher floor with external view better. Stay in one of the bigger pods - especially if you are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARIM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and accurate to their pictures. In a great location only 5-10mins walk from Grand Central Terminal, we were also able to walk to the Empire State Building and Rockefeller Plaza. The staff were welcoming and helpful too. The hotel also has free wifi which was fast enough to video call on. We stayed in a Queen Pod, which was snug and I wouldn't have liked anything smaller. Having said that it was a nice room, clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay again if I was in New York.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank philipdunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing