We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in a tiny package”
Review of Pod 39 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pod 39 Hotel
Ranked #193 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfection in a tiny package”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have stayed in a number of inexpensive hotels in Manhattan and all had problems of some kind, but I thoroughly enjoyed Pod 39. Some highlights:
1. Super location, convenient to Grand Central Station, lot of restaurants, easy access to subway.
2. Great room design! I had a single pod and it was so efficient. I can't comment on what it would like to share a room here, it might be too small. For the single traveler it was sufficient and smart. I was visiting the city with a friend and this allowed us to have private space for an affordable price.
3. Clean and safe - everything was clean, the lobby, the room, etc. I would have felt safe walking in this neighborhood alone at night.
4. The roof top deck was gorgeous - I had a room on the 17th floor across from the roof top bar entrance. I could actually see the bar from my window. Yet, surprisingly, no issues with noise! The rooms are separated by a door so the drunk kids waiting for the bathroom weren't hanging around outside my room.
5. Friendly and efficient staff - checkin/out was fast plus they helped me with other questions during my stay very quickly.

All in all, this is my favorite NYC hotel so far. I've tried several locations, chains, private hotels, etc. This is the first one that I would go back to happily.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodLovrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    1,489
    398
    77
    44
See reviews for
391
1,095
645
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Not the best, not the worst. It's great. At least for solo travelers. The rooms are small but if you're a traveler who is planning to see NY and spend most of your time outside, then this hotel is a great fit. You'll find most of the necessary items inside the room including a safe to keep your valuables inside during your trip. Location-wise, it is three blocks away from Grand Central Station and has a number of decent dine-in options if you're planning to eat on a budget. The staff are friendly and professional and will respond to any request or problem instantaneously. The place is somewhat close enough to the main sights of NY like the Chrysler Building, Empire State Building, Grand Central, and Top of the Rock. Taxis and other private transportation means can be arranged here.

Cons: As said, the rooms are small so it could be problematic if you have more than one luggage. The views from your room aren't always good unless you pay more for a better room. The hotel doesn't have complimentary breakfast or a place in your room to make your own food, so you're gonna have to eat out all the time. There's usually construction outside causing raucous during a certain time of the day.

I would recommend this hotel for solo travelers staying less than a week. The price--already within the realms of hostel pricing--is very reasonable and of great value. I don't mind staying here again during my next visit.

Room Tip: Always choose a room on the lower floor. The elevators tend to take time before reaching your floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank interxavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights, booked this due to location & price. Top marks to staff for their friendliness & helpfulness, they went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay, and we did. The rooftop bar was ok, quite crowded and we didn't try the restaurant downstairs so can't comment on it. Wifi was good, plenty information on attractions available near reception. 10 minute walk to Times Square. Stayed here with my partner so didn't have issues with the bathroom door - it gives enough privacy with the frosted glass and it's not like you're going to deliberately look at it if someone is in there. Shower in our room caused bathroom to flood each time but dries fairly quick. Overall a great place for young couples or friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The rooms are compact, but the shower/bathroom was spacious. All areas were immaculately clean. The location was central to all we wanted to do in NYC, and the staff were more than helpful. The rooftop bar is a wonderful place to visit for late night relaxation and views. Even though our room was just across from the elevator, we slept soundly and were not disturbed by noise from any direction. Worth every penny. A big thank you to the staff for all their help and advice in getting around even upon our return to the states.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

this hotel has reasonable price considering NY average,but actually rooms are too tiny. If you are travelling alone, they are perfect, but if you're with somebody, i would recommend another place either a big room (I was in a regular one). Though the roof is wonderfull and you get a fantastic view, especially if you visit ny in summertime. there is free internet WIFI, the breakfast is good and it is located near to the fifth avenue, so you can walk to that maistreet either to the empire state build. or you can take the tube that i 200m far away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitabbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was exactly as advertised. The rooms are fairly small, but very well decorated - the beds are comfortable, it looks modern and there are TVs for every bed. The bathroom/shower were good, and the location in Midtown is unbeatable. Highly recommended as long as you're not looking for a luxury hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rohan_mehta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went there three times this year. The rooms are small but very clean and nicely designed. The area is nice and the rooftop terrasse is lovely. There is a few nice restaurants (Cafe Piccolo, Cafe China) in the area and the close by Grand Central make it a very good location. A good value for NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMichele84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 466 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 466 in New York City
5,095 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#400 of 466 in New York City
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 39 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 39 Hotel

Property: Pod 39 Hotel
Address: 145 E 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 39 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a Pod for every person, and an endless range of possibilities. The Pod 39 Hotel offers hip, convenient and personalized accommodations for the stylish and spend thrifty traveler. The Hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan and is New York’s number one choice for visitors on a budget. Each Pod is individually climate controlled and equipped with efficient, stylish furniture that’s designed to maximize your comfort and your living space. Guests can plug into the Pod community before arriving on our Pod Culture Forum. Swap stories, trade itineraries and ideas and get to know your fellow Pod mates.It’s your Pod. Make the most of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pod 39 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing