We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised with quality of the food.”

New York Beer Company
Reserve with OpenTable
New York Beer Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #716 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 44th Street (between 8th Ave & 9th Ave)
Transit: 42nd Street Times Square Subway 1,2,3,A,C,E, N,Q, & 7 Trains
Description: The New York Beer Company is an exciting new Bar & Grill located at the historic New York Observer Building, in mid-town Manhattan. Close to Times Square, the theater district and the vibrant Hell’s Kitchen neighborhood. With occupancy for nearly 300 there is comfort for groups and parties of all sizes as well as regular bar patrons, theater goers & folks that live & work in the area. Open for breakfast daily at 7am, terrific lunch specials, pre fixed dinner menus and a vibrant late night scene, The New York Beer Company has something for everyone!
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised with quality of the food.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A good beer selection. I enjoyed doing a flights of IPA's for side by side comparison. I say good beer selection, as most are widely available. I didn't see any hard to find gems.

The food was the biggest surprise. Very reasonable prices for NYC and the food was very good. We had a pizza and BLT and both were delicious.

I noticed on the way out that you can get a burger, fries, and a pint weekday lunch times, which is a great deal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BadgerConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi there,

Much gratitude for reviewing our establishment here after your most recent visit with us at the New York Beer Company. We're glad that you enjoyed our chef's BLT and pizzas, and beverage specials. We generally change our beer taps every week so feel free to ask a server or manager next time you come. You could also look at our website to see what we have available for the week: http://www.nybeercompany.com/bar/ Good or bad, each of our TripAdvisor reviews are taken into consideration to help us better our business. So your opinion is very important to us! We look forward to having you join us again!

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The New York Beer Company
212.245.2377
Email - Patrick@nybeercompany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    116
    36
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place to meet for drinks and a bite to eat before a show”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I frequently use The New York Beer Company as the meeting place when heading into the city for a show. It is conveniently located, within walking distance to the theaters. It is bigger inside than it would appear with high ceilings and a well designed floor plan with tables not sitting on top of one another. I like their beer cocktails. They were no longer in the menu today but the waitress was familiar with some of the more popular ones and despite that, the bartender was still able to make them for us. We like the hazy skyline..a combination of blue moon, absolut raspberry and chambord.
The food is good. They have the usual fare of sandwiches and burgers as well as brunch Items.
Would definitely recommend them as a pit stop before or after your Times Square jaunt. Great meeting point.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenandcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for frequenting our establishment here at The New York Beer Company for leaving some feedback here for fellow diners on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you found the our service attentive, and our drink specials and cocktails to your liking!

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff here know of your comments!

Thank you again. We look forward to you & your guests hopefully joining us again in the future!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
581 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good beer and burgers”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went for a mid-afternoon lunch. They have really good $10 burger and pint specials from 11am to 4pm. Also really long HH hours as well.

The Maxed Out burger was really good. I was a little worried it was going to be so tall to be tough to eat as a regular burger but it was just right. Beef burger, pulled pork, cheese and bacon served with fries.

Full selection of draft and bottled beers available with a bunch of gimmick beer nights / self-serve beer keg table, etc.

I would return to try some other items on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Jon,

Thank you very much for reviewing our establishment here after your most recent lunch at the New York Beer Company. We're glad that you enjoyed our chef's "Maxed Out" Burger, and beverage specials. Good or bad, each of our TripAdvisor reviews are taken into consideration to help us better our business. So your opinion is very important to us, Jon! We look forward to having you join us again!

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The New York Beer Company
212.245.2377
Email - Patrick@nybeercompany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beers, good food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick bite before going to the theatre. Excellent food and lovely selection of drinks, although felt a little pushed through - the waiting staff appeared to be overworked. However, quick service and lovely waitress, and would definitely suggest a visit if you were heading to broadway and fancied a beer!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Amy,

Thank you very much for reviewing our establishment here after your most recent visit to the New York Beer Company. We're glad that you enjoyed the food, and beverage selection. I apologize that you felt rushed through your experience with us. This will be addressed right away. We appreciate your notes on our attentive service as we take great pride in hiring the best staff. Good or bad, each of our TripAdvisor reviews are taken into consideration to help us better our business. So your opinion is very significant to us, Amy! We hope that you are able to join us again, and that you enjoyed your show!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The New York Beer Company
212.245.2377
Email - Patrick@nybeercompany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The last time we visited it was 2pm on a weekday back in April 2012. We had a fantastic experience back then and another one this time around too!

We arrived on Saturday afternoon about 4pm and the restaurant was reasonably busy. We were greeted by Amanda our waitress and given a great seat near the front. She helped us out with some awesome beer selections and we ordered a couple of pizzas. They came out promptly and were delicious. By the time we left the pub it was pretty full and had a great atmosphere. I would live to have stayed and sampled some more of the beers but we had a city lights cruise to catch! We truly love this place and its great to see that it is still going strong. Well done!

See you again in another two years! AAAA++++

Helpful?
Thank Gormo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hey there,

Thank you for visiting us for a second time! We are glad to have you back again all the way from Australia. I am so happy to hear that Amanda's guidance and attentiveness helped you to have a pleasurable experience with us. I will absolutely rely your compliments to her, which I'm sure she will appreciate. Good or bad, each review we receive on TripAdvisor is put into consideration, as they help us to improve upon our business. Much gratitude for the repeat visit, and we hope that you will visit us again!

Wishing you safe travels from here in midtown New York to back Down Under!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The New York Beer Company
212.245.2377
Email - Patrick@nybeercompany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Beer Company also viewed

 

Been to New York Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing