We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat, drink and relax!”

New York Beer Company
Reserve with OpenTable
New York Beer Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #616 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 44th Street (between 8th Ave & 9th Ave)
Transit: 42nd Street Times Square Subway 1,2,3,A,C,E, N,Q, & 7 Trains
Description: The New York Beer Company is an exciting new Bar & Grill located at the historic New York Observer Building, in mid-town Manhattan. Close to Times Square, the theater district and the vibrant Hell’s Kitchen neighborhood. With occupancy for nearly 300 there is comfort for groups and parties of all sizes as well as regular bar patrons, theater goers & folks that live & work in the area. Open for breakfast daily at 7am, terrific lunch specials, pre fixed dinner menus and a vibrant late night scene, The New York Beer Company has something for everyone!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A good place to eat, drink and relax!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This bar is close to Times Square and the theatres. There is an extensive list of beers and the service is good. The food is really good for the price considering it is NY and there is a relaxed atmosphere with TVs providing sports coverage. We visited as a family for a meal and something to drink and I would definitely return and pass the word on to friends to visit if staying over in NY.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi there Ian!

Thank you very much for visiting us at The New York Beer Company all the way from the UK, and for leaving a positive review on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to know that you appreciated our wide beer selection and food. I will be sure to rely your compliments to our staff and chefs!

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow and better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink and service. We understand there are always ways to improve! So, your opinion is very important to us!

Thank you again, please feel free to join us again, whenever you're in New York!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    120
    36
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“This place is amazing!!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I found this place on trip advisor as we were looking for somewhere that did good pizza. We walked to this place, which is away from all the hustle and bustle of Times Square, albeit a 5 minute walk away and it really is a little gem.

The staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and above all else, efficient. We were waited on by a waitress named Sydney, who was amazing! We were seated in no time and handed drinks and food menus. Their selection of local, national and international beers, wines and ciders in exhaustive - there really is something for everyone. Personal favourite - Brooklyn Beer!

We ordered 2 x 16" pizzas between 4 of us and Sydney even asked the chefs if they would do half and half on the pizzas, so we got to try different ones - they duly obliged. The pizzas were amazing - fresh, tasty and filling. What more could you want?

The atmosphere in this place is great (although a little dark) with numerous different sports being played on the umpteen large TV screens!

This place is a must and so are their pizzas!

Thanks to Sydney and the rest of the staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank 0908267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you very much for visiting us at The New York Beer Company all the way from London, and for leaving a kind review on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our pizzas and attentive staff. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to Sydney and our chefs!
Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! So, your opinion is very important to us!

Thank you again, please visit us anytime you're in New York!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a beer and to watch part of a game before heading out to Shea on the Subway. Great beer selection with over 50 beers on tap and more bottles, mostly from various breweries on New York State. Friendly bartender let us sample a couple drafts we were contemplating. We didn't try the food but they have a great weekday lunch special with a burger, fries & pint for $10. Also, enough down 44th (between 8th & 9th) to get away from the bustle of Times Square. Great place to get off your feet.

Helpful?
Thank tlt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello there!

Thank you very much for visiting us at The New York Beer Company and for leaving a kind review on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our wide beer selection and that you found our staff to be attentive. Also much gratitude for mentioning our lunch special, hopefully you can come and enjoy it next time!

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff here know of your comments!

Thank you again. We look forward to you joining us again in the future!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New York Beer Company”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great selection of beers on tap! And terrific lunch specials. We had a BLT on multigrain. Very well done with fries. Can't beat the selection and service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Patricia!

Thank you very much for visiting us at The New York Beer Company and for leaving a kind review on our TripAdvisor page. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our BLT, beer selection, and attentive service.

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff here know of your comments!

Thank you again. We look forward to you & your guests hopefully joining us again in the future!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
Manager - New York Beer Co.
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised with quality of the food.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A good beer selection. I enjoyed doing a flights of IPA's for side by side comparison. I say good beer selection, as most are widely available. I didn't see any hard to find gems.

The food was the biggest surprise. Very reasonable prices for NYC and the food was very good. We had a pizza and BLT and both were delicious.

I noticed on the way out that you can get a burger, fries, and a pint weekday lunch times, which is a great deal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BadgerConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, Manager at New York Beer Company, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi there,

Much gratitude for reviewing our establishment here after your most recent visit with us at the New York Beer Company. We're glad that you enjoyed our chef's BLT and pizzas, and beverage specials. We generally change our beer taps every week so feel free to ask a server or manager next time you come. You could also look at our website to see what we have available for the week: http://www.nybeercompany.com/bar/ Good or bad, each of our TripAdvisor reviews are taken into consideration to help us better our business. So your opinion is very important to us! We look forward to having you join us again!

Enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The New York Beer Company
212.245.2377
Email - Patrick@nybeercompany.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Beer Company also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to New York Beer Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing