We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the right thing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbasso Wine Bar

Barbasso Wine Bar
Ranked #5,153 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
lanex
Level Contributor
372 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Just the right thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were undecided about what to do after a big late lunch. We were delighted to find a place with tapas and friendly helpful service. We wound up having a few glasses of prosecco and a sampling of tapes which were delicious. Although most of the people where drinking wine don't let that fool you the food is wonderful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 894robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stumbled across this place as we were looking for a meal after a show at Carnegie Hall. We went in there when the restaurant we were looking for next door was full. Lucky for us because the food and service were both excellent. The menu had a big selection of meats, fish and pasta, and there were a good number of daily specials. Great selection of wine also.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We found this bar late at night after a hard day shopping. Nice décor, good service, and Italian-style nibbles (antipasto, etc). Certainly worth a stop if in the vicinity.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myrgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fab bar with lovely atmosphere and cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I had a few drinks here as we were early for a dinner reservation at Basso 56 across the road. I had a caramel espresso martini and my husband the pinot noir. My cocktail was gorgeous (and very strong) the lady at the bar also kept the extra and 'topped' up my glass after a while. The lady at the bar (who was german) was lovely and friendly and we had a lovely hour or so sat at the bar and having a chat with her. I would strongly recommend this bar (and the restaurant opposite!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem_smith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Drinks and Bar Scene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The service and drinks are amazing. The vibe inside is casual yet elegant. Great spot to meet before or after dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJLNY4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbasso Wine Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Barbasso Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing