We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee near Madison Square Park”
Review of Birch Coffee

Birch Coffee
Ranked #26 of 461 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee near Madison Square Park”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed down the street from Birch Coffee and decided to pick up a couple of cups. I drink my coffee black and I really enjoyed the natural and quality taste of the coffee. Would go back to this place for coffee if I was in the area. Customer service was also really good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank thatjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    43
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good breakfast & good service”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

There was really friendly service at this small and quaint spot, and clearly lost of people stop there for coffee. We were there for breakfast and both tried different coffees; although we drink it black anyway we both found the two types we ordered incredibly bitter. But the food was good - I had the breakfast sandwich and my boyfriend had the fruit & ricotta, although he ordered the oatmeal. There wasn't really a chance to say he got the wrong order since it was really busy and left at our table quite quickly so our server could get back to the counter. We weren't able to get anyone's attention. A small thing but the washroom in this place is right next to one or two of the tables (and I mean RIGHT next to it, if the table is full you'd have to ask to get in and out of the door) and I almost knocked over a pregnant woman who was trying to get seated at the table as I exited the washroom. Facilities could be better but for those who are already big fans, could be part of its charm. Also they have a cute way of getting tip $$ here - they take a survey and you put your cash into the box with the 'answer' you think is the right one. All in all a good breakfast near our hotel (Carlton Autograph). The price was right and the coffee and facilities could use a bit of work.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l0ves2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simple but amazing”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The food was good quality, healthy, satisfactory and delicious! The staff were very pleasant and welcoming!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Yummy salads and sandwiches and good coffee and beer! Always buzzing with people. Very handy to have next to your hotel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HannahL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the oatmeal is awesome”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We went here the morning we were leaving the Gershwin Hotel to have breakfast. The oatmeal was super tasty and so was the coffee.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lweisman224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birch Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Birch Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing