We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool spot. A must visit.”
Review of Amor y Amargo

Amor y Amargo
Ranked #3,659 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Neighbourhood: East Village
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: East Village
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very cool spot. A must visit.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I love the concept here. We actually discovered it just by walking by and seeing the bitters and barware in the window. After peeking in, we decided we had to give it a try. It is very, very tiny. So it was quite crowded when we arrived. Still the single bartender was able to immediately able to give us a menu set and welcome us. All the drinks are craft cocktails using a plethora of different bitters. Don't come here to order something stupid or basic. Look over the menu, ask for the advice of the bartender and try something new. She let us taste whatever bitters we were interested in and we ended up buying some from the vast array that was available. She was very knowledgeable of cocktails and made some great drinks. It was fairly pricey, but worth it for that much attention, selection, and care put into each drink. There were several "regulars" who appeared to just let her make whatever she thought they would enjoy. I love places like this and would definitely recommend popping in for a drink or several when in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for interesting cocktails”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Tiiiiiiny bar (maybe a dozen seats and standing room for about a half dozen more) with an amazing amaro and aperitif-based cocktail program. The drinks are well balanced and executed well with quality ingredients (nothing too obscure, but all the usual amaros, quinquinas, and many many bitters make an appearance). Prices are comparable to others playing the advanced cocktail game.

This particular neighborhood is busy with craft cocktails, but the focus here is sufficiently unique that it's well worth a visit. Also no tedious door or reservation runarounds like some others. (But be prepared to drink standing when they get crowded)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gewurztraminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Double buzz coffee pourover cocktails? Yes, please.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Go for their "Double Buzz" earlier in the day - I went this past Saturday with a friend who's a regular, and man alive. Natalie, the bartender, was awesome - super friendly and made us some amazing drinks. I had the Purple Drank (which included lavender bitters and mezcal, YUM) but tried others and they were equally as delicious. Awesome way to spend a Saturday afternoon. I think they do Double Buzz from 12-4 but don't quote me on that, either way, check it out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Girl_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply amazing cocktails”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A tiny little bar with a phenomenal cocktail list and charming, friendly, helpful bar staff. Definitely worth a trip - their take on a g&t was one of the best cocktails I've ever drunk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen_223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sweet bitter moments in EV!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This tiny bar in EV is the best choice you have in Manhattan if you want to have a good "amaro" and experience some brand new liquor tastes. You can choose among one of the widest list of amari in the city and do not hesitate to ask to the bartender which one would suits you best! Highly recommended to go with no more than 2 friends tho.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgiom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amor y Amargo also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Amor y Amargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing