We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Way to much good to report here. wonderful staff. I have stayed at the newest boutique hotels in nyc every summer for the past seven years, and this is the only one to which I would give five stars. Chirsh was right..there are design flaws with the closets and bathrooms. And the noise in rooms with windows facing the empire state building is not for the meek. The view from the front door not as nice as the Andaz or the Giraffe... but for the price, an unbelieveable experience. Furnishings are amazing. Art gallery throughout the hotel, Coffee in the lobby every morning. Wine reception in the lobby at 5pm, Perfect gym. Housekeeping strives to please..if not a bit overzealous. too much too wonderful to say, here...

Room Tip: Staff is very receptive to children. but no activities, of course. it's ny! close to nypl
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Katdog2--we are so proud that you would consider your visit a perfect stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,762
    765
    191
    45
    22
See reviews for
907
1,366
147
671
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't seem to understand that a Queen bed is 60" x 80".
In their literature and on their website, they promise rooms with two Queen beds, that are in fact, only double beds.
When this was broached with management, they said they would change the descriptions of their rooms to accurately reflect the true size.
Since it's a new hotel, I gave them a month to follow through, but they haven't and I don't want other travellers to make the mistake we did by booking this hotel.
Two out of the three managers we had to deal with were pleasant and reasonable, they apologized for the error and gave us a discount on the room, the other one, however, was ridiculous, rude, abrasive, and ignorant, insisting that hotels have the right to call beds whatever size they choose and that there isn't a North American standard for beds (there is).
Otherwise, this hotel has potential. The location is excellent, but the rooms have serious design flaws. Bathrooms with translucent doors; little space to open a bag; no hooks or shelves in the bathroom; poorly designed closet space; and a ludicrous amount of available space devoted to full size bottles of alcohol, busy gathering dust.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I apologize for any abrasiveness you may have experienced in your encounters with our management team, chirsh, and thank you for your feedback. Your concern regarding our bed sizes is understandable and we are sorry for any confusion, but are so happy that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Romana, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I travel every single week for travel. I stay in the top of the line hotels for $1000 + a night all over the world, but Refinery was an amazing game changer for me. The price is perfect the amenities are top of the line and the staff is very well trained.

Do not think about this twice. Book it!

Edward De Valle II

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Edward D--so glad we could be a game changer for you. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

stayed at Refinery for 4 days and I was totally impressed with the service the staff had to offer. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, the gentleman (I believe his name is Aziz) who guided us to our room the first day remembered my name for the rest of my trip and greeted me every time. Room was very spacious! I never expected such a huge and nice room in Manhattan. The hotel even sent a fridge up to my room since their mini bar was full and I had to store some food. Overall a very pleasant stay and i would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
I am so glad that we could exceed your expectations, Hazel C, and that we could accommodate a fridge during your stay--we look forward to your visiting us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Cannot rate this hotel enough. The rooms are very clean, very comfortable with high end quality bed linen and chic fixtures and fittings. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The only down side is getting entry to their rooftop terrace. Formal clothes required and older teens not allowed, so go prepared. Would we come here again, absolutely YES.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuba family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
And we look forward to your return--thank you for your post Kuba family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a quick trip to NYC to help move my daughter out of her apartment. We stayed at the Refinery Hotel, right near Penn Station and Harold Square. The hotel is a boutique and not anything like the chain hotels. The decor and rooms are outstanding. The staff is very friendly. We enjoyed 4:30 pm Happy Hour at the Roof Top Restaurant with a clear view of the Empire State Building. This spot is not to be missed! I would definitely stay at the Refinery Hotel again. The other activities we did, all walking distance from the hotel are: 5th Ave shops, Central Park, Broadway Show, Dinner at Osteria al Doge, visited Eatly, walked the High Line, breakfast at the Cafeteria in Chelsea.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the front street. It could have been noise from the roof top bar, or it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for posting, vacation22--we hope you will visit NYC and Refinery Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I really wanted to give this hotel a good rating but there were too many issues to rate a higher score. First the good news; the staff was great, extremely nice and hit the sweet spot between too pushy and not interested. The location, while not perfect is close to a lot and easy to get to. The hotel restaurant, while pricey was good and service fine. The bed was comfortable and the TV large considering the small size of the room. Now my issues. The rooms a little small for the price. I actually like to sit and read while my wife gets ready to go out and while there was a small desk chair, you are really left with sitting on the bed propped up on pillows which was a little uncomfortable. The carpet is very thin offering no real comfort and appeared to be more for show. The lighting is just awful; either too dim or too bight and harsh. Very poor lighting options. The sound proofing is not great. We were on the third floor and could hear what people were saying on the street. The sound from the rooftop bar was slightly audible and I can only guess how loud it must be on the upper floors. A fire alarm went off at 11PM; and 12:30; and 1:00AM. When I inquired about the condition of the fire alarm system, I was told they figured out what was wrong at 11PM but didn't explain why it went off again and again. My experience has been most hotels take off a modest amount for the awful nights sleep we had. Refinery sent a note and a few tiny cupcakes (too sweet to eat but that's me). They might want to rethink that policy. You go to a hotel primarily to sleep there. If the hotel wakes you up over and over, it would seem appropriate to knock off 10% (or more?). You can get a room at the NY Palace if you pay in advance for almost the same price. The rooms are bigger, prettier and quieter. Not a bad experience at the Refinery but not good enough to return with so many other options.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here after my generally negative review, book a non-street side room. The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
GoIndians, our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to our fire alarms. We are delighted that you enjoyed interacting with the staff and hope you will consider another visit to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing