We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel and Staff!”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #27 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel and Staff!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

When planning our family trip to NYC, we were looking for something in midtown so most things would be in walking distance. The location of the Refinery is great. The hotel right by the subway.
We were able to find a room for a good price at this hotel so we decided to try it. I am so happy we did! The staff is so friendly (greeted us by name when we came and left the hotel, thorough (had a hand written card and cup cakes in our room on our anniversary date), accommodating, and professional. It is apparent the Refinery has trained their staff extremely well because every person is professional and friendly. The concierge spent over an hour with us planning our itinerary and giving us restaurant recommendations. She even made our dinner reservations.
The rooms are so clean and roomy (not common in NYC), and the beds are comfortable.
I would strongly suggest this hotel for anyone! It is perfect for families, couples, people traveling for business, etc.
We are planning on returning to NYC in October. I checked the pricing for a room and it is a lot more expensive than what we paid for our room. I am going to see if I can find a more reasonable rate because we really want to stay at the Refinery again!!

Room Tip: We were in the Deluxe Double (Room 808) and it is large and roomy. No view but it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barker5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Your recommendations mean so much to us, Barker5family, thank you--we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,917
    798
    197
    47
    25
See reviews for
961
1,416
156
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

They just opened couple month ago, and they are absolutely lovely!
Location is the best - you are in the middle of the fashion district, just a step away from attraction as Broadway Theaters, Times Square, etc. It is 3 minutes walk to a subway station.
Modern stylish look with heritage elements (it was a hat factory before here). Rooms are spacious, modern in style with some really cute details which remind you of history of this place. Curtains, lights, bed, pillows are comfortable, functional and stylish. Shower make you feel like you are in a spa! I was bit confused at first when I found that shower head and turn on/off handle are on the opposite walls. But it was really nice touch, since you can adjust water temperature before stepping in, no need to run away and wait until water settles for the right temperature.
The only tiny misstep is bathrobe hook location. If you put bathrobe on the hook it will be on way of door and it won't close completely, you have to close door first and then put bathrobe on the hook.
Hotel has a nice rooftop bar and restaurant at the first floor, not the cheapest choices around but food and drinks are good there.
If they going to keep up like that it would one the best hotel in Manhattan!

Room Tip: Higher floor will probably get you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuliya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review, Yuliya P, and for noting our fantastic location and amenities. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have zero complaints about this hotel. I stayed here with my husband and 5-week old baby. All of the staff (including the restaurant staff) were all so incredibly attentive and nice. They even remembered our names from one day to the next. The rooms are unique and boutiquey. As a previous New Yorker, I know how hard it can be to find a quality hotel in a good location. This is centrally located to most of the NY hotspots and is exceedingly clean. We ate dinner at the restaurant and really liked it. Most of the dishes are reasonable priced and it's not typical hotel food. We didn't go to the bar area, but it looked really fun. It's actually a restaurant I could see frequenting even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. The hotel is working out some kinks with lights and the elevators (they're just a bit slow), but neither dampened our trip. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We are so proud to hear you had a near perfect stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon, em952.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We visited the new Refinery Hotel in NYC the first few days of June. The hotel is wonderful - great rooms (ours was very quiet), modern, ample closet space, large bathroom and shower. It was only a short walk to Times Square, Broadway theaters, and many other places I, as a first-time visitor to the City, was dying to visit (MOMA, Rock Center, Empire State Building, shops and shops). Among the most outstanding features of the hotel is the impeccable service - front desk, concierge (found great seats to Kinky Boots for us on short notice), doormen, bellman. While we visited there before all the Refinery restaurants were open, I am dying to return to sample the rooftop bar. Incidentally, because all the restaurants were not yet open, the hotel provided us with a scrumptious complimentary buffet every morning. Oh, and when we returned form each day's trek, we were also treated to a complimentary glass or two of wine in the lobby. This is a boutique hotel with none of the institutional feel of the larger places. it just felt good to be there. The owners management of this hotel certainly are anxious to stake out a an outstanding reputation in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joplin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your post, Joplin1--so glad that you enjoyed your stay back in June. We hope you will be visiting us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I recently stayed at this property as it just opened. I must say it was a very good stay and the service was very good too. The location is deal as its between downtown and midtown, making everything walking distance. I will definitely stay here again. However, as a SLH Club Member I didn’t receive or was informed of my amenities (such as upgrade and breakfast). This was a major let down; I will give this hotel another try next time and see if they will do the same mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
AFA86, glad you enjoyed your stay and our services—we greatly anticipate your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Refinery hotel provided the perfect accommodations for our NYC trip. It is well located with an easy walk to Broadway, Times Square and shops. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered; they are very well trained. The rooms were spacious for New York, especially the suite. They were clean,quiet and and well appointed with all the amenities. I would definitely stay again should we return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thanks for your review, etnmom. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location, staff, rooms. Worth the 7 hour flight from London for the weekend. Only gripe would be small double beds and overpriced drinks at the bar although beautifully mixed. Didn't need o eat here too much choice in this city do cant comment on restaurant quality. Overall I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
And we can't wait for your next visit! Glad you had a pleasant stay, Tallishgirl, thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#68 of 467 in New York City
1,966 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing