We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was the first time our family traveled to New York City. My wife did a lot of research as to where to stay in Manhattan as we wanted to be close to time square. The Refinery Hotel was one which intrigue her. My wife decided to call to make the reservations. The person who answered by a warm and very pleasant Yolandy who went out of her way to assist in booking our room. Yolandy was very prompt in sending the emails that confirmed our reservations as promised,

On our arrival to the Hotel, we were met by a very courteous and welcoming bell boy by the name of Raymond. When we told her our name, she quickly pointed out that she was the one who made the reservations on the phone. When we arrived, in speaking with Yolandy, our daughter, who will be graduating next spring, said in passing that she would be shopping for a prom dress. After checking in and leaving to walk around downtown as you are close to everything, Time Square, Bryant Park etc..... Yolandy had gone on the internet and found places close to our hotel where we could shop for " Prom dresses". This was very impressive and shows how she listened to us.

To our surprise, the room was bigger than what we had expected after reading the normal size room New York Hotel have. The room was very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a nice walking glass shower. Did enjoy the hardwood floors, the 12 foot ceilings and the decor.

We then met, Albert, who manages the Hotel and was very friendly and easy to talk to. He made sure that we were well taken care of. We also met Baka who along with Raymond who was always there to meet us as we walked in and left during our stay with a warm " Hello" and " Have a nice" along with providing helpful and genuine tips and hints as to what to do or stay away from.

Our entire 7 day stay at this Hotel was the best experience that I have ever had, as I do travel extensively for my work and never seen a team work so hard to ensure that our needs were met. The people, who work at this Hotel, are very easy to speak with and really care about visit without prying into our private life.

I do have to mention the roof top bar which is extremely well decorated. Although I just did go up and visit, it was very relaxing as you look at the Empire State building while not feeling in being downtown New York.

I cannot say enough about how great our experience at this Hotel was during our visit to New York and will not stay anywhere else on our next. visit.

Yolandy, Raymond, Baka, Albert along with the rest of the staff, job well done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words, Chsusa. We are so happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,506 - 3,512 of 4,153 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is definitely very trendy and busy building a reputation for its rooftop terrace, hotel bar and restaurant. The young trendy staff are exceptionally helpful and make the stay enjoyable. We were allocated a room on the third floor which was quite roomy and modern but faced 38th street so was very very noisy and after a night with little sleep we asked to be moved. This request was accommodated and we were then given a room on a higher floor with no view but at least a bit of peace and quiet albeit this room was much smaller. There is not much storage and hanging space so anyone staying a while needs to be aware of this. we had a problem with the safe which was speedily resolved although a thorough room check before we were given the room would have picked that up so maybe still a few teething problems here.
The location is great for getting to most places and nice to be close to Bryant Park too. A Pret down the street too was useful for picking up a drink or snack on the way back to the hotel .
Our main criticism of the hotel is that because the public areas are all being promoted and becoming popular with non residents there is nowhere for guests to sit and chill quietly other than their room and we missed that but it would not put us off staying here again for the right deal.

Room Tip: the higher the quieter and not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliewynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We look forward to your return, JulieStaffordshireUK--thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was in New York on business with my family in tow. As a bus-man's hotel it has a very cool atmosphere with a roof top bar boasting an excellent skyline and a lovely restaurant-come-bar/nightclub on the ground floor. Parked in the middle of Midtown (not on an avenue, but close enough), right next to Bryant Park - an excellent location.
What really shone out for me was the staff. With a small baby travel can be really a complicated thing, but from arrival the staff went out of their way to make life easy. New York at that time of year has a stifling heat and people can easily lose their tempers, the staff were always top quality and helpful from fixing up a microwave in the room for baby food to providing bits and pieces for the baby to get us started while we unpacked.
The rooms are 'modern', but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom well appointed and stocked.
If I can, I will use this as my base in NYC for years to come.

Room Tip: Use the roof top bar! Generally in NYC I would pick a lower room, the higher ones always seem to su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, pasm69--thank you for posting, we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is everything it claims. It is a great, trendy boutique very centralized in the city. The rooms have GREAT energy, as does the entire hotel. They seem to have though of that very much- the type of energy they want to create and how to perfectly pull it off. This is not a five star hotel with tremendous accouterment, they do not have a robust room service menu, and the staff is not high-end (though VERY friendly and helpful.) But, this hotel strikes a perfect vibe for a hip, cool, yet still quiet home base in Manhattan. If, like me, you enjoy this vibe, this is a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for posting, Jonathan1776--we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned from this hotel after 7 fantastic nights. The whole experience from start to finish could not be faulted. We enjoyed a warm and friendly reception from staff and Ray the doorman who gave us a great introduction to the hotel and room's amenities. We knew right away that this was going to be a special hotel. The location was perfect for getting around. It is very central and only 4 blocks from Macy's. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, Parker & Quinn, a couple of times during our stay and this was probably one our best meals in NYC. Staff were extremely helpful and attentive. The rooftop bar has one of the best views of the Empire State and is a very nice place to enjoy a drink. It has lovely seating areas and there is a great vibe. The rooms are also very nice and the beds are extremely comfortable. All the doormen (especially Basha and Ray) were very helpful and welcoming whenever we left or returned to the hotel. We would highly recommend The Refinery.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Smith_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Your recommendation means a lot to us, S_Smith_71. Thank you for posting--we will look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel last week for 3 nights and I have to say the staff were fantastic so helpful and friendly. I've never seen someone work so hard to get us a taxi, everyone seemed so passionate about their job. Also loved the staff uniforms, so different. The bouncers on the lift to the roof top bar were also very friendly guys.The rooftop bar has the best view and the drinks are great. After reading reviews on here about it being too busy to accommodate hotel guests I decided to email prior to our trip and booked a table. This was such a good idea and I would definitely say worth doing if you want to sit down. Of course it's going to be busy it's an amazing bar on a rooftop looking on to the Empire State so to be expected.We had a good sized room which was lovely. The bed was so comfortable. I have read a few comments on here about the standard of finish to some rooms and the only thing I noticed was the front of the tap being broken this did not affect our stay in anyway although I could imagine that some people may like to moan about such a minor detail so think it would worth taking the five minutes to repair things like this to prevent these comments affecting the reviews as this hotel really deserves great credit. I will definitely be staying here when I return in march. Our friends were also in New York with us and stayed at the w which they loved but also said that next time they will be staying at the refinery as they loved it. AMAZING keep up the good work

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review and for noting our passion here at Refinery Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit, Lisa A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The industrial style is right up my alley and just from the pictures I knew it was going to be great.
Beautifully done, great atmosphere, but what stops me from giving it 5 stars is having to ask 3 times for a fold away bed to be put into our room (which was discussed and organised via email long before we arrived). That and the fact that it was FREEZING in our room and took a very long time to come down to a reasonable temperature (about 4 hours). We had to sit under the bed covers and get the maintenance staff to adjust it as it just wasn't getting warmer. But from what I hear this is pretty much the norm for NYC hotels; take note NYC - it doesn't have to be arctic to be comfortable!! Especially when it's pretty mild outside. In fact our bell boy mentioned many customers complain of the cold rooms.
Apart from my minor grumbles the staff were great, a special mention for a cleaner in the foyer who asked my son if he was a rockstar when he stepped out of the elevator in his cap and dark sunglasses. It totally made his day when the cleaner went on to ask for an autograph!
Location can't be beat, when you want a cheap meal grab a slice of pizza around the corner and head up to Bryant Park and watch the world go by. Amazingly the sound of NYC was barely heard at night, the occasional horn but that's pretty normal for a big city.

Room Tip: If you can get an Atelier do it, the extra space in a place like NYC is hard to come by but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tange76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review, tange76. We look forward to your visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,079 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
3,704 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 469 in New York City
2,866 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 469 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £208 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing