We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare combination of stylish and friendly”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rare combination of stylish and friendly”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting NY for years and stayed in most of the fashionable hotels. They generally have small rooms and staff with something of an attitude. The Refinery staff are sincerely warm, fun, helpful and made our stay here delightful. The rooms are brighter than average for a NY room, and the bathrooms big enough to swing a cat, for a change. A real asset is the lovely rooftop bar with a terrace looking right at the Empire State Building. Would recommend it and would stay here again. Unlike the Paramount, Hudson, Royalton, Library, most of the Ws, the Gansevoort, Bryant Park. Andaz on 5th comes quite close......

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Daryl F--we all greatly appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,912
    797
    197
    46
    25
See reviews for
959
1,415
156
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night only prior to our flight back to the UK after seeing favourable reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. After seeing a great deal on the internet for this 5 Star Hotel we decided to book due to its location and were not disappointed. The room was a queen studio and was a great size with very contemporary decor (reminiscent of the All Saints shops) and an extremely comfortable bed, large bed and double shower.

We did not eat in the hotel but drank at both bars. On first night we met a friend for drinks and prior to his arrival had a little altercation, although easily sorted with the security staff in the roof bar. We entered a lift on our floor to go down to the express lift for the bar but it went up so got out and at were stopped by the security just pointing at the lift to go back down. I said I was a resident and he eventually let us in....not great service but didn't really spoil our night. Maybe something for the hotel to watch as why let all lifts go up to the roof bar in the first place. We also ordered "Old Fashioned's" at the roof bar and the barman obviously did not know how to make it. It was just not up to the standard of those served in hotels in London or presented as expected. but again the view from the roof top made up for it.

Overall a great stay, staff in the reception, valet and concierge were great and thank you to all for a great stay. Good solid boutique hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN_CCROXFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your post, KEVIN_CCROXFORD. We hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights about a week ago for a romantic getaway. We booked an executive suite, but I wouldn't say it's worth the price. I've stayed at other four and five-star hotels where I've felt much more pampered. First, the pros: the location is fantastic, the bed is very comfortable, and we enjoyed the modern flair. Unfortunately, I have to agree with a lot of the negative reviews that the hotel suffers from having placed an emphasis on form over function. The closet space was terrible, and that small space was taken up by a small chest of drawers. They offered to remove the chest, but then there would be no place to put any folded clothes other than a couple drawers that were part of a bench along the wall. Since this is their largest room, I would have thought storage would have been better. As I looked around, I did wonder about the durability of the rooms--I already saw scuffs and dents on some of the furniture--it didn't look high quality. In another year, I really wonder how some of the furniture will hold up. The bathroom was spacious, but when we arrived I noticed water spots on the counter of the sink that looked permanent. Due to the wood floors, we heard a lot of noise from other rooms, and we heard a great deal of street noise through our windows. The garbage collection woke us each night. The bar was pretty, but I felt like it targeted a different (younger) clientele than the average hotel guest. This wouldn't have bothered us but for the fact that there was nowhere to have a quiet drink. The downstairs bar is packed at night as well.

The staff was friendly and helpful, though there was a tendency for them to stand around and socialize with each other rather than staying at the desks. Since it's a small lobby with extra people there manning the elevator to the bar, it was more noticeable than anywhere else I've been. It made me a bit hesitant to approach them when they were deep in conversations with each other. The one problem I had was that housekeeping came into our room one night when the "do not disturb" sign was lit. Due to the acoustics, I hadn't realized that the knock I heard was on our door, and she walked in when I didn't answer. It's not a huge deal, but it did scare me to death when she walked in.

So, if great location, friendly staff, and a comfy bed are the only things you value in a hotel, then this place may hit the mark. But, if you're wanting something a little more luxurious and quiet where every detail is near perfect, then I'd keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback, MGOBLUE2003. We appreciate your taking the time to post and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to improve our services and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

From initially changing our reservation to a double - with a smile!, we knew right away this was a place to stay.

The night staff is a tons of fun and professionally attentive to boot; with international connections (if you need a certificate for a Polish restaurant, ask Paula for help- we did!), Keon's jovial jabs, and William's ever-able assistance, we felt uber-comfortable in this former factory.

The room is small-ish (standard size for Manhattan), but somehow different. Love the desk chair on wheels (not the ho-hum Aeron).

Check it out; you wont regret.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your post, Colin J. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and time with our team. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Taking advantage of the opening specials I booked in here for 7 nights rather than use the official conference hotel. The hotel is brilliantly located in a quieter part of mid-town but walking distance to theatre and most mid-Manhattan tourist sites. It is located just off a main avenue so there is not much traffic noise (for New York) but it is still convenient to hail a cab or catch public transport if you need it. The hotel is well appointed with an industrial chic theme to go with the building's history. However, the best thing about this place is the staff. Without exception they were wonderful hosts, friendly and helpful. The evening wine in the lobby was a pleasant way to end a busy work day. If you stay here (and I intend to go back asap) make sure you ask about opening hours of the restaurant and roof bar so you don't miss out on two must-do feature of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RothesayFamily0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your post, RothesayFamily0630. We are happy that you found us and hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As others have noted, this hotel is in a great location. It is located in the Garment District and if you're a fan of Project Runway, Mood is just around the corner (we visited and it is huge). It is an easy walk (unless you don't like walking) to Bryant Park, Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, the Empire State Building, etc.

We were upgraded to a deluxe double queen on the 10th floor and the room was huge, certainly the largest room I've had in NYC. We even had a view of the Empire State Building. What I really liked about the room was the wood floors with just an area rug where the beds are located. There is an extensive mini bar, nice toiletries and great quality linens. The beds are very comfortable.

The hotel had a few other nice features. The gym is well equipped with several new treadmills, ellipticals and a bike. There is a complete set of free weights, a cable station and weighted balls. Water and green apples are provided.

The hotel provides complimentary tea and coffee in the morning in the lobby which was great. There are numerous cafes and delis nearby if you need a quick breakfast. We ate in the hotel restaurant one morning and it was very nice and not outrageously priced.

The hotel also provides free internet throughout the hotel (rooms, lobby, etc.) and we had no problems with connections. There is no business center available for use but the in room literature directs you to the front desk if you need any assistance.

All staff were courteous and helpful, particularly the doormen and porters.

I would love to stay here again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocAHolic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review, ChocAHolic10. We are glad that we could accommodate the upgrade and that you enjoyed your entire stay. We look forward to your returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay, then look no further. This was our first time in NYC and the Refinery Hotel made it memorable. Friendly staff, great accomodations, and a cool vibe really made this an experience we would recommend to anyone. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Your recommendation is greatly valued, Gary B. Thank you, we hope you will be making a return trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,913 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#68 of 467 in New York City
1,954 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing