We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay there again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay there again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from a 5 day, 4 nigh vacation in NYC. The Refinery Hotel got excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, so I booked. The hotel is in a great location, just a block from Bryant Park and two from Times Square - but far enough from the craziness and traffic of the main streets. For NY, the rooms were nicely appointed, with clean and stylish decor. The shower and bathroom were very nice and roomy. The rooftop bar is really great, with an amazing view of the Empire State Bldg. The restaurant had very good food, and was reasonable priced. We ate there for breakfast, lunch and dinner on our trip, and were not disappointed. The staff were attentive and professional. If I could recommend one thing, I wish they would provide decent toilet tissue. Maybe that sounds petty, but I really hate going to a nice hotel and getting cheap one-ply paper. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: higher floors tend to be less noisy from construction and street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxannsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We hope you will be returning for that second visit soon, Jaxannsmiths! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,775
    767
    191
    45
    22
See reviews for
908
1,367
147
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I travel a lot for business and Refinery Hotel is one of the best and most reliable I stay in. It's midtown location is close by our office with easy access for uptown and downtown appointments. . The reception I receive from the staff on the door and and from Alice and Albert in the reception is first class.The design , ambience and atmosphere truly caters to all guests and provides a memorable experience every time . You are amazing ! Thank you .

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room and the bigger ones are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for posting, Peter L. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Found this new hotel on tripadvisor. Turned out to be real find. Thoroughly enjoyable experience. Offered a very nice glass of wine at check-in and everything from that point was terrific. Large room nicely appointed; nicely sized shower and bathroom. Food excellent and reasonably priced for New York. Staff we'll trained and friendly; no New York "attitude". good location if you want to be in the middle of the city near Times Square and the theatre district.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are glad you and your family enjoyed a terrific visit, Fred G. Thank you for your post and we hope you all will be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel I've stayed in for work or pleasure, since the Upper House in Hong Kong. There are more luxurious hotels with a greater range of facilities, however, like the Upper House, the Refinery is small enough to feel personal and large enough to cover all bases (when traveling on business). Highlights included a great room, super powerful shower and excellent service (from finding a local Crossfit Club that would let me drop in and train to storing a delivery). Where could the hotel improve? The free mini bar at the Upper House is a nice touch the Refinery could think about (plus an in room kettle would help) and the otherwise excellent on site restaurant Parker & Quinn is let down by ropey coffee (fortunately Cafe Culture over the road is cracking). Otherwise, don't change a thing - thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenguinandSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are always proud to be called the best, PenguinandSpecial. Thank you for your review--we look forward to your staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here for several reasons. Although the rooms is small, the bathroom was quite large. The location was perfect, and we were able to walk to dinner every night. We were also close to the train, when we needed to use it.The staff was so friendly and attentive. We got a call to check in on how we were doing. We had room service one morning. Pricey, but best bagel ever. Free coffee is offered in the lobby.
Overall, good experience and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank radiogirlsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Your recommendation means a lot to us, radiogirlsteph, thank you. We hope you will be returning for a second visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed in the hotel this week. The staff are courteous and the rooms are good but the other facilities are completely unsuitable for travellers from out of town who are on business or vacation and want to eat or drink in the hotel. The small downstairs bar which is the main guest area was packed with a local after work crowd on both nights I was there - not even standing room. On the second night it was closed completely for a private function. The bar on the 13th floor was even more crowded with literally no where to sit and music so loud it was impossible to hold a conversation. The restaurant was the same. Standing room and zero service. I resorted to room service on both nights. This arrives delivered cold in plastic cartons and a paper bag with plastic cutlery. Food stone cold. If you're jet lagged and fancy a quiet cocktail and a meal stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: My room on the 9th floor was fine and I slept well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We appreciate your feedback, Jack H and thank you for your post. While we are sorry that your experience of some facilities was not up to our standard of excellence, we are happy that you enjoyed the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We chose the Refinery Hotel on location alone, and spent five great days in New York walking just about everywhere. The street is fairly quiet for Manhattan, and our room at the back was very serene. We liked the cleanliness, small but well-equipped bathroom (we had a full tub), and clever design touches. Front desk staff were very helpful with restaurant reservations, taxis, and a wonderful welcoming glass of wine while we checked in!
The bar scene on the roof is strange - on weekend evenings, the elevator door is manned by a fellow whose role was not made clear...but we chose to go elsewhere for a drink. We did go up on our last night (a Sunday, so it was nice and quiet) and enjoyed the outdoor seating area and view of the Empire State Building as we drank a glass of wine (not cheap!)
The restaurant Parker & Quinn was fine for breakfast (again, not cheap), but too dark and loud to enjoy a nice dinner. And there is free coffee in the lobby in the morning as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for posting, SophiagoestoItaly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing